We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel Stay Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn-Columbus/West
Ranked #122 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Bed felt very cheap and was very uncomfortable...if you have a bad back I would not stay here...my back was hurting a lot after my stay there...the continental breakfast didn't include bread/toast...no fruit...cheap donuts...had pee droppings on the bathroom floor...worst hotel experience ever...hotel is near major highway...you will hear a lot of noise...a lot of truckers stay here...you heard trucks starting all hours of the night...hotel looked like it was less than half full on a Saturday night....where nearby hotels were sold out....which says a lot right there...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbusiness248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed here for one night during a long drive. The room was clean and quiet. Quite a few other restaurants in this area. The $4.99 buffet at Cici's Pizza nearby was hard to beat. A very good choice to rest along the highway.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank qpwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bvicolwest, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Columbus/West, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Thanks a lot for sharing your comments with other travelers. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Pool closed, room was dirty, carpet was filthy. I tried to get new pillows because of the stains but they brought worse pillows. First motel I have ever had to cover the toilet seat with paper. C Breakfast was a joke. I can't beleive ABVI would allow this motel in their chain. Apparently ABVI has no quality control.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JJS H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed over in Columbus at exit 91 on our way back home from Erie. We had 2 rooms and both were pretty clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The beds and pillows were very comfy, slept good.

Room Tip: Comfy beds and quiet place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vij L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bvicolwest, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Columbus/West, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are very pleased that you were happy with your stay. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Check-in okay but room was awful. Dirty sheets. Black spots may have been just stains but pet hair on sheets. Got new sheets to change beds but didn't bother once we saw how much hair was on the mateess pads. Other hotels booked or out if our price range so we asked for another room. Second room was better but still kind of grossed out because of evidence in lack of cleanlines: 1) smelly jeans left in drawer 2) animal fees right outside door 3 days. 3) water bottle left by dresser. Bathroom/sink area "okay". I also don't like how they used shopping carts that sat out overnight to bring sheets around, not so sanitary.

They did offer breakfast but didn't eat just because I don't know how food was handled.

One amenity I liked was the wi-fi but don't forget a razor or deodorant because you'll be making a trip to the gas station.

As for staff, no one was rude to us. The front desk gal was actually pretty friendly. :-)

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hvcol323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bvicolwest, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Columbus/West, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

We are very sorry to hear about the issues during your stay. We would like you to know that we have addressed these concerns with our staff so we can avoid them in the future. Again, we apologize and hope you will give us another chance when you are back in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights and the service was excellent. The staff members are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are nice, clean, and comfortable. It's located at a very quite corner of a very resourceful area. There are tons of restaurants near by and plenty of stores. There is also a movie theater within walking distance if you get bored. Whenever I go back to Columbus I would definitely choose to stay at the America's BEST VALUE Inn!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Harry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

I have been coming down to Columbus, Ohio in early August for about 10 years, to attend the Ohio State Fair
For the last 6 years, this is where I have stayed.
As well as the reasons mentioned in the title, I have next to no complaints about any of my previous stays at this location.
It is close to everything!
The interstate is easily accessable. Plenty of restaurants close by. Movie theater, Wal Mart, Meijer, Kroger within an easy drive.
Any minor concerns that I have had, have always been quickly addressed!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BJ51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Columbus West
Motel 6 Columbus West
#75 of 143 in Columbus
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Columbus-Hilliard
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbus West - Hilliard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbus West Hilliard
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus West
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbus West
Hampton Inn Columbus West
#29 of 143 in Columbus
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn-Columbus/West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn-Columbus/West

Address: 1313 W Saint James Lutheran Ln, Columbus, OH 43228-9759
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range: £56 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn-Columbus/West 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn West is located 9 miles west of downtown Columbus, 14 miles from Port Columbus International Airport, 5 miles from Hollywood Casino, 4 miles from Hilliard, 7 miles from Cooper Stadium, 9 miles from Dublin, 14 miles from Columbus Zoo and Zoombezi Bay water parks.The property's amenities include drive-thru check-in and check-out, Guest laundry facility, 24 hours coffee, free Continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi internet Access, and free local calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn-Columbus/West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn-Columbus/West Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing