We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip May 5th, 2014”
Review of Varsity Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Varsity Inn
Ranked #108 of 145 Hotels in Columbus
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have stayed in this hotel before but will not do so again. The room was not clean, the toilet was not anchored to the floor very well, the towel holders were broken and the air conditioner made such a racket all night I could not sleep.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel, there are plenty more in tghe area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mlb52060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

I can't say enough about how thankful we are for Varsity Inn South! Being able to stay in a clean, safe place while our son is in the hospital means so much! Thanks to each and every person who helped make this possible. You're the best!

Room Tip: All rooms we have had so far are equally good. We chose no smoking, ground level rooms. The rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saundra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The staff behind the desk were extremely rude; they accused my confirmation email/"proof of booking" paper, of being fake, gave me a receipt for a random amount, which was more than my email/booking confirmation said I owed. They also argued that the room I booked was unavailable, meanwhile I booked it a month in advance over the telephone (I booked through the hotel directly, not a secondary source such as hotels.com/tripadvisor.com). The room I ended up with was disgusting and dirty, neighbors were banging on the wall, beds were disgusting and overall, the room was filthy. I will never recommend this hotel to anybody; I was completely dissatisfied and appalled by the horrible service.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lyndsietyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Varsity Inn North and South is so wonderful to help people traveling into Columbus for cancer treatments and appointments. Nice staff! Wonderful service!It is so nice to know that there are places out there willing to help people make their journey a little more comfortable. Thank you Varsity Inn for your generousity.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Louise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Everything worked great in the room. Fast internet; cable television channels. Beside Bob Evans. Staff was exceptional and professional. The parking was easy and close to the room. And when I arrived to the room was greeted with a warm room as the heat had been turned on in plenty of time to heat the room. Nice. Check In and Check Out were quick and easy.

Room Tip: Went for Very Good for location with regard to the restaurant beside the hotel. It was actually an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We have used Varsity Inn South for 7 years for our Holiday Accommodations for our Company Christmas Party. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Kyle was great! He setup all the rooms for us, I submitted a name list and when our guest arrived they were all set! The rooms were wonderful! They were very clean and welcoming. The beds are very comfortable. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pricen_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Jeffrey Lockshaw made this experience for my husband's surgery at OSU a much more pleasant one. Thanks to Jeff, we wll always stay at Varsity Inn when we are in Columbus. He was incredibly kind and helped us escape a bill double what we paid after online poor advice and stay in these clean, comfortable accommodations with less sress.

Room Tip: Rooms are clean with luxurious bedding but not real roomy for a long stay. No breakfast, but always...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gram-uhoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
1.9 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites - Columbus / Clara St
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Motel 6 Columbus - OSU
Motel 6 Columbus - OSU
#119 of 145 in Columbus
86 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus OSU
3.6 mi away
German Village Inn
German Village Inn
#106 of 145 in Columbus
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varsity Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varsity Inn

Address: 1445 Olentangy River Rd, Columbus, OH 43212-1449
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 145 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range: £43 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Varsity Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Varsity Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varsity Hotel Columbus
Varsity Inn Columbus, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing