We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ohio state hotel”
Review of The Blackwell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Blackwell
Ranked #4 of 145 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

very nice hotel on campus at ohio state university
great help at the front desk
large rooms very clean with lots of light
there is a driver to take you around within a 5 mile radius of the campus
they had good advice for what to do and where to eat
great value

Room Tip: nice to stay on campus while visiting
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnschulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

My first stay at the Blackwell,could not have been happier.the room was large with all the amenities.You are right in the middle of campus,bus service at your door,parking right across street.Staff very helpful.If you have business or other on OSU campus,this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms 228,229,&231 are next to exercise room,which is used very early in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stay here whenever we have meetings at OSU. The rooms are nice and clean. The service is friendly and the food is fine. They have a nice shuttle service that will take you to various locations on the OSU campus and pick you up so it's not necessary to rent a car if you're just staying on campus. They will also arrange a van to take you to the airport. The hotel is attached to a conference center which makes holding meetings very convenient.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ywnyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I stayed at The Blackwell for a four-night stay in March, 2014. I was attending a conference on OSU's campus, and this hotel seemed the obvious choice because of its proximity to campus. It turned out to be much more than close to campus! This is a really nice hotel! The rooms are clean and comfortable, and they provide more than the basics as far as amenities: shampoo and conditioner, obviously, but also a little shoe-polishing cloth, makeup remover, Q-Tips and cotton balls, a good hairdryer, much of the stuff you've got handy in your own bathroom. There was a nice Keurig coffee maker in the room. (I typically never use hotel coffee makers, because they're usually filthy, but this one was clean.) The beds are comfortable and plushy.

The service was excellent too. Our room was attended to multiple times a day, for cleaning in the a.m., then for a turn-down service at night. There is a shuttle that will take guests to and from the airport, but also to locations at a reasonable distance in town from the hotel. Not having to pay for multiple cabs was a nice surprise. Everyone on the staff (at least everyone I encountered) was courteous and helpful.

These may seem like little things, but all these little conveniences add up to a great experience. It was more than I was expecting, because this hotel is reasonably priced. (I'm a jaded Northeasterner and used to exorbitant hotel prices.)

I'd absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmyDiBattista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

One of the best staffed hotels I've ever stayed at.The food was great with a wide verity to choose from.Parking was a breeze. Shuttle service made it easy to get around. Everyone who worked there would help you out , where to go what to do.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brown0316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The Blackwell is a very well run, clean hotel. The room was very large and comfortable for a family of four. The bathroom had nice amenities and was spotless, the beds very comfy after a long car trip. The valets were helpful and the complimentary car service to the Union for our tour was great…no need to worry about parking. The only improvement would be the turndown service which we had requested in our reservation. They only left one chocolate for the whole family and no extra towels!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank njbchluvr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here on the night of our wedding. The staff was great and I had no problem checking in early and dropping off all of our luggage. The valet service was quick and the room was very comfortable, while still remaining high quality. If you are doing anything at OSU, this hotel is a great choice as it is in the heart of campus.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blake S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
2.5 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#6 of 145 in Columbus
1,711 reviews
2.2 mi away
Le Meridien Columbus, The Joseph
10.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus / Polaris, OH
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
#10 of 145 in Columbus
588 reviews
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/OSU
3.0 mi away
Hotel LeVeque, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blackwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackwell

Address: 2110 Tuttle Park Pl, Columbus, OH 43210-1137
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Columbus
#1 Business Hotel in Columbus
#1 Family Hotel in Columbus
#5 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
Price Range: £99 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blackwell 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Blackwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blackwell Hotel Columbus
Blackwell Hotel Columbus
The Blackwell Columbus, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing