We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“History, venue space, and great customer service!”

Kelton House Museum & Garden
Ranked #38 of 147 things to do in Columbus
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience urban life and the decorative arts, as they existed in the second half of the 19th century, through the collection of the Sophia and Fernando Cortez Kelton family.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“History, venue space, and great customer service!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We met at the Kelton house to record an interview, and I was blown away by how friendly the staff were in accommodating our needs. Afterwards they gave us an impromptu tour that was fascinating. An excellent peek into historical Columbus that is aided by the excellently maintained grounds.

Helpful?
3 Thank Cwinterb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    12
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sauk Rapids, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We were in Columbus for New Years and love to tour historic houses. This one didn't disappoint. There was a lot of information and we learned new things. We dragged out 2 kids with (ages 10 and 13) and even they found it interesting. The staff were friendly and I would recommend a visit if you are in town.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank christine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“come enjoy christmas at the kelton house”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I really enjoyed the tour here. the guide was very informative and interesting. he did a fantastic job and was dressed in Victorian clothing. in December they have it decorated for the time.
The home has a lot of furniture pieces that are original to the Keltons. Much care has been
given to the small details from setting the dining room table to the brushes combs and personal
items placed in each room. it is a great piece of history. Even the gift shop is nice and very
reasonably priced. I purchased a large reproduction porcelain doll for only $30. The tour is $6
for adults and $2 for children. the underground railroad museum in the basement was self guided tour. Think about combining it with the state house tour before xmas.
Mr kelton was a pallbearer for President Lincolns body when placed in the ohio statehouse
for people to come and pay their respects. Also stop by the xmas corner nativity display
on broad steet a large walk thru display lit up at night with free choir recitals at night.
Merry Christmas all.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank dawn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tour”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We toured the house to get an idea of life as part of the Underground Railroad. It was interesting and we learned a lot but we would have preferred a tour guide to the handsets we carried. You only get a docent on special occasions and Sundays.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Dakota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Inspiring”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This is a great place to visit if you are into American history. I like the fact that the tour was self-guided so we could go at our own, leisurely pace. The audio provided a thorough background on the Kelton family and also described the Victorian-era decor and daily life. The staff were extremely helpful and knowledgeable. I also want to thank Chuck for the recommendation to go to Schmidt's Restaurant und Sausage Haus after our tour.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank USSoccerFan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kelton House Museum & Garden also viewed

 

Been to Kelton House Museum & Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing