We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites - Columbus / Clara St
Ranked #75 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Middletown, Delaware
1 review
“Amazing rooms!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

I came to Columbus for the Red, white, and boom event, and booked a room at comfort suites on Clara st. All I can say is WOW!!!! The room was amazing!!!! The room was very spacious, the bathroom was extremely clean, and bed was soft and comfy.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank br00ksturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    72
    26
    12
    19
See reviews for
71
26
11
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Potsdam, New York
Level Contributor
337 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

My wife and I decided to stay here after searching for a hotel near Interstate 71 during a cross country road trip. We did not check Tripadvisor, but we had such good luck with Comfort Suites we made the reservation on line. The rooms looked nice on line and the price was right.

When we arrived we were a little concerned. The neighborhood did not look the greatest. There was no real restaurant we could walk to, and the desk person told us we would have to drive downtown to find a restaurant. Not really good for us because we have been traveling 8 hours per day driving, and the last thing we wanted to do was drive dowtown and drive back. I noticed that they had a menu in the room that you could have food delivered to your room. Thought about it, but headed downtown, got a pizza at Domino's and killed a half a bottle of wine in our room. After I read about the break-ins in vehicles here from fellow Tripadvisors I made sure there was nothing in the car to tempt anyone. Still I was uncomfortable. Good news was that all was well the next day when we left.

Okay, that was the bad part. The good part was that our room was absolutely great! Super large! Hey, I could live here! Refrig, microwave, table to eat at, couch, king sized bed, wide screen tv, and lots of elbow room. I don't ever remember having such a large suite/room at any hotel that I have stayed at. We took advantage of the guest laundry on the second floor. Hey, they even have a tv and couch outside the laundry room, so you can sit and watch your soaps (no pun inteded) while you wait!

The breakfast was better than most. The ever present waffle machine was there as well as fruits, yogurt, assorted breads, rolls, muffins, etc. Also eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy! Wow!

We didn't use the pool or fitness center, but overall this place is really nice.

Okay. The big question is would I stay here again. Well, security concerns are real concerns, but it is close to Ohio State University, the fair grounds (and also the police station). As ominous as it looks in the neighborhood we did not experience any problems. Probably if I did I would be negative on this place. But the price was right, and we had a great experience. I guess you will have to decide yourself, but I thoroughly enjoyed this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank BenGruda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

I usually go to Choice Hotels; Comfort Inn & Suites is one of their brand. I have a rewards card with them.
This hotel is totally non-smoking which is good. Most Comfort Inns are. The room had a fridge and microwave and coffee maker.
The room was clean and comfortable. Good free breakfast selection.
The hotel is next to the fairgrounds so it is a little out of the way but close to highway exits.
About the service: My wife's earring fell off in the pool. She didn't notice until later in the evening. She saw it in the pool and told the desk. They sent a man to the pool who put on a swim suit and jumped in and retrieved the earring. Talk about service!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

I stayed here because it is just a block from the Historical Museum. The room was fine - a basic Choice Hotel property. Service was polite, room clean, bed comfortable. I had a frig and micro; wi-fi was decent and there was a plethora of outlets for tech devices: one near the desk and an expanded one near the bed with both normal plugs and usb ports. So many hotels have a desk and no accessible outlets or only one across the room near no beds or chairs. Breakfast was much more than other Choice Hotels I have stayed at: the requisite coffee/tea/juices/continental offerings, plus waffles, mini-omelets, sausage patties, biscuits and gravy. The only negative was that the dining option was limited to a McDonald's on the same block, unless you got in the car and navigated some one-way and dead end streets to hunt down a meal.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goddessgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
254 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

Hotel was more than adequate with nice, clean rooms and spacious common areas but security was a concern. We missed the right-hand turn on to Clara St. and travels a few blocks around the fair grounds. All the houses we saw were boarded up and a bit scary looking. We found our way back to the hotel and noticed signs at check in cautioning us against leaving any thing of value in our vehicle. At dinner with local friends that night, they cut the dinner short to ensure we were back at the hotel before dark and cautioned us not to venture out of the hotel until daybreak.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

We were traveling from AZ to NY. Upon arrival the staff was friendly and polite. The room was clean and spacious. The bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed our one night stay very much and will return to this hotel when we are in Columbus again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Porear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenton, Ohio
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

Rooms and public areas are neat and clean. Breakfast is adequate. I told the man at check in that we would not be using the safe and could he take off the charge for that. He said they can do it when you check out. This morning the man at the desk said that is not true. Everyone is charged for the safe if you use it or not. However, he did remove the charges. Would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohio1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ex I-71/ Oh. State Fair/Expo Center
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#91 of 143 in Columbus
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
2.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus OSU
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU
2.4 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites - Columbus / Clara St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites - Columbus / Clara St

Property: Comfort Suites - Columbus / Clara St
Address: 1690 Clara St, I-71, Exit 111, Columbus, OH 43211-2628
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites - Columbus / Clara St 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites - Columbus / Clara St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites - Columbus / Clara St Hotel Columbus
Columbus Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites - Columbus / Clara St Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing