We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't wait to be seated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Ranked #5 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don't wait to be seated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed for three nights in June 2014.

I agree with all the positive points made about this hotel from other reviewers. However, the service at breakfast is inexcusable. You "wait to be seated" and nobody arrives to seat you. One day we waited 15 minutes and finally walked to the back area to get someone---only to be seated on a hard wood seat, when lots of upholstered seats were available. Only four patrons in the restaurant. Additionally, the eggs were cold. In addition, the beds are very lumpy and the pillows are beyond overstuffed. We stayed for three nights, have gold status, and am still recovering from the stiff neck due to the pillows.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1CaptainG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I sincerely apologize for your experience at breakfast; certainly, this is not the level of service for which we are striving. I have shared your comments with the team so that we can address the matter. I also regret that you did not enjoy the Hilton Serenity Bed, which usually receives rave reviews, featuring our exclusive Suite Dreams mattress, mattress pad and down-filled comforter. The bed also includes both soft and firm jumbo-size down pillows and a hypo-allergenic option is stashed in the closet along with an extra blanket. I am sorry we did not have an opportunity to make you more comfortable during your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,077
    356
    91
    25
    14
See reviews for
274
293
58
775
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Va
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Brand new hotel in the Arena District, near the Short North. Very clean and modern, nice people although I think most of the people I meet in Columbus are nice. Good bar and restaurant. Great location if you need to be downtown. I have stayed at some other downtown hotels which are older and need sprucing up. This one does not. So i like this better.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JenandTomandMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your comments and are glad you enjoyed the hotel and surrounding area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I have stayed at this hotel many times. My favorite hotel in Columbus downtown. Period. The staff are amazingly professional. Kudos on my most recent visit to Ryan Moon -- superb service!! I feel so so so welcome at this location. Close to perfection.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank dyford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your sharing your experience! We’re glad you enjoy staying here and appreciate your repeat business. I’ve submitted your note about Ryan in our team member recognition program. He’s a true professional! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Although our suite hotel room wasn't ready when needed for an evening wedding on the day of arrival (and a difficult front desk person who kept stating the less than satisfactory options in a high-pitched voice), our regular room was a pleasant surprise.
I hear this is a new design for Hilton, a chain that we don't stay at very often. The design team did a very good job: I really liked:
--sliding glass door to the bathroom, the bathroom lights are able to be dimmed, as well a nice toe-kick night light, and the shelf above the sink for 2 people's bathroom stuff. And there's a quite auto fan that keeps the bathroom breathable.
--full-length mirror in the hallway at which I sat on the floor and put on my evening make-up.
--beds were comfortable and looked clean and fresh.
--the desk was nice with enough outlets around.
--the extra head-height mirror across from the window had an outlet nearby for the hairdryer when the bathroom was being used.
--I accidentally left an outfit in the room, which security had safely stowed when I called. They were great and thorough in making sure that I got my items back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Scotnack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for your review! It seems you generally enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the compliments on the hotel design and service you received from the security department. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Beautiful and large lobby. Front desk staff was friendly and accommodating. Our room had an overwhelming cherry-floral scent. I called the front desk and they were apologetic and helpful. They quickly moved us to a new room. The room was very clean, comfortable and updated. The bathroom was spacious and extremely clean. Internet was not included. Daily valet/self-park was not included and pricey. Location was walking distance to many great local restaurants and bars. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoccoRoccoLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback! I’m glad you generally enjoyed your stay and appreciate your comments on the hotel’s amenities and service you received from the team. We’re fortunate to be located near a lot of original great local restaurants and entertainment venues. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The rooms are great but you will pay extra for parking and internet in addition to the higher priced room. The location is great for downtown and plenty of restaurants in the area. I stayed there due to business and the host hotel was booked so the Hilton was the next closest hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Luvwinentravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. In order to keep our room rates as competitive as possible, optional fees such as parking, breakfast and internet are not included in the rate as not everyone partakes of these amenities. As opposed to increasing the base fee, you only pay for those you utilize. Parking charges for a downtown urban location are standard in all major cities due to the cost of real estate to house a garage as opposed to a suburban open lot. We do offer complimentary wifi access throughout the public areas as well as a fully equipped connectivity station, though there is a charge for the convenience of in-room access. Though I understand that you were not happy with some of the charges, I do trust that were fully aware of the these fees before your arrival and did enjoy your stay. We do recognize there are many hotel options during your travels, but hope our great location, superior product and attentive service provide a great overall value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
200 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is a very new hotel so quality was great. Directly across from the Convention Center which was wonderful. Prices seem quite high for food given all the amazing food in walking distance from this hotel. Also, Service doesn't seem to understand how to handle people surges in breakfast, lunch, etc based on conference schedules - food service is very slow.

Coffee shop could be bigger and have longer hours. Big plus - they sell Jeni's ice cream. Amazing ice cream sold by the scoop at the nearby market.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian C, General Manager at Hilton Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank for sharing your feedback. I am glad you generally enjoyed your stay and apologize for any delays you experienced in the restaurant. Despite our best planning and staffing contingencies, it certainly can be a challenge when a large convention breaks and hits the restaurant simultaneously. I too wish our coffee shop was bigger!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#15 of 143 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Columbus, The Joseph
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center
2.5 mi away
The Blackwell
The Blackwell
#3 of 143 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Columbus Downtown

Property: Hilton Columbus Downtown
Address: 401 N High St, Columbus, OH 43215-2005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Columbus
#2 Business Hotel in Columbus
#2 Luxury Hotel in Columbus
#7 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Columbus Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Columbus Downtown offers a contemporary presence in the eclectic urban hub of Columbus, reflecting the spirit and energy of the area and is within walking distance to over 300 dining and entertainment venues. The hotel features a stunning art collection comprised of over 150 original pieces by Central Ohio artists. The artwork is displayed in function space, guest rooms and public areas of the hotel—it sparks the imagination while enhancing a distinctive cultural experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Columbus Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing