We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home- a comfortable joint.”
Review of Mac's Cafe

Mac's Cafe
Ranked #490 of 2,228 Restaurants in Columbus
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
“A home away from home- a comfortable joint.”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Living next to this fine establishment, I may sound partial, but they won my love. A Scottish egg and a Bloody Mary will always set you straight. The staff is friendly and the food is great. A patio would only enhance the experience but, alas, such is life.
Next time you're in the area, stop by! You won't regret it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LCatalogna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    23
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springboro, Ohio
Level Contributor
109 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“40th Birthday Bash”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

A great place to have a few cocktails with friends and celebrate a monumental 40th birthday. The ambiance and service was spectacular.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank OrrG411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerville, Oh
Level Contributor
100 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Aye, a wee bit o' heaven!”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Went here with my daughter for a late lunch on the Prestige Dining Club card. Started with the Scotch Egg...could've knocked off a few of those! Then had the chili which was also good. Daughter, who is a light eater, had a child's portion of fish & chips and shared a wedge salad. I had the turkey reuben with a side of mac & cheese which I couldn't finish as the stomach needle went to FULL especially after 2 drafts from a nice beer selection. The service was excellent possibly because there were few other diners at the time. The food appeared fresh and tasty and I would definitely go back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Prickamongus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Sad Salads!”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Our last night out on the Short North, so we headed for Mac's Cafe on N High Street - good food at a reasonable price. Despite the name and the logo, it is more British than Scottish. National flags of Scotland, Wales and Ireland hang above the bar with a Union Jack in the middle, so no English flag per se, which is a good sign. To a booth at the back to order drinks and food - two cod and French fries with accompanying salads, one biggish burger and a Club sandwich, the latter two with sides of tater tots. The two salads had obviously been waiting out back somewhere for takers for some time, they looked sad, some of the lettuce had gone brown. Not an encouraging start. The fish and chips were declared to be above par, the burger was eaten in double quick time but I struggled with the Club sandwich - why so much ham packed? Understatement clearly isn't the American way. We finished and headed out of the air conditioning in the bar area into the very warm evening air of High Street. Things were just beginning to heat up at the bar. The tab was picked up by our daughter-in-law so I have no idea what the total damage was, but it must have been in double figures for each of us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dr Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis Center, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“website or facebook page?”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I love this place! What happened to their website and or facebook page? They have the best shortnorth happy hour and I am trying to get in touch by way of website or facebook page. Oh I hope they figure out that there isnt one!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gotchk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mac's Cafe also viewed

 
Columbus, OH
 

Been to Mac's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing