We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would Like to Rate Higher” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Otani Restaurant & Sushi Bar - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Otani Restaurant & Sushi Bar
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
469 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Would Like to Rate Higher”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Food was good (sushi platter and a beef dish for my wife and I). The service was very friendly. However, do not expect a quick meal here. We had an event to attend at 7 and barely made it though we were in the restarant before 6 pm on a slow night (Tuesday). Our waitress was good and was available. I think the chef was not fast and I do not think we ordered a complex meal. Sushi was fresh and tasty. They are in a transition from the old ownership to the son of the original owner. It's a nice, inviting setting. We will try to come back as there are not as many good places in our neighborhood as their used to be. But the cooking needs to be faster. We were greeted by the owner after our meal and he was very pleasant. Hope this places makes it. Transitions are never easy. But this was the original Japanese place in town.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kgilbert78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    5
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
127 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Disappointing visit”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Have been to Otani several times for decent sushi. At last visit, we were one of four tables with three servers. We left after waiting 15 minutes without acknowledgment or water. Disappointing. Will not be back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kiddoc1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great corporate event”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Been there few times for food, but not with Karaoke. Decided that I would hold a small corporate event there. They have a Karaoke stage, a small karaoke dining room, and a large corporate style karaoke room. We rented the large room with lots of room to spare. What I did was I arranged so when we got there, all of our appetizers would come out within 15 min. Worked out great, since most of us wanted to sing....right? Good time. President had a blast. Will go back for sure.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank japanesestallion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Karaoke Great- Service Horrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013 via mobile

We reserved the party room for dinner and karaoke. The waitress came and took drink orders. Then it was a constant game of "seek the waitress". She took our dinner order but it took over 1 1/2 hours to get our food. I had to go find forks since she only brought 6 for a party of 20! They did not show us how to run the karaoke machine. Had to again hunt someone down to show us how to use it. Next time we will just reserve tables in dining room and have plenty of $1.00 bills since they charge you to sing a song!

Helpful?
Thank cpd176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Eclectic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012 via mobile

If you're in a hurry then you'd best look elswhere. Other than that, staff is very friendly and the food (miso soup especially) is very good. Rolls are a little bit on the conservative side but the prices make up for that. Hope they're around for another 28+ years.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Otani Restaurant & Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing