We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just right”

Hunan Lion Gourmet Chinese
Ranked #398 of 2,245 Restaurants in Columbus
Price range: US$20 - US$35
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Reservations
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“just right”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

So this is why this restaurant is so popular! Such great service! What a pleasure it was to eat here for the first time. The experience with the service alone was fantastic. Just 10 out of 10! The waiters wore waistcoat suits for uniform. I guess it’s to look professional, but professional they most certainly were! Attentive, polite, quick, gave suggestions and were friendly without the superficiality of the grind. The food was of very fresh ingredients, and I was told 'authentic'. It was really tasty and the portions were just right. The atmosphere is different to most Chinese restaurants. The place is very upmarket-looking inside (see pictures), with swish furniture and just so organized! The only strange thing is that there were no chopsticks on offer at the table/when we got our food…interesting.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    11
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hilliard
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely and quiet Chinese restaurant”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

In this day and age of restaurants blasting loud music this is a welcome respite. An elegant and quiet restaurant with white tablecloths and excellent service. The Crab Rangoon was excellent as was my Asparagus Chicken. And they make a good Manhattan. Prices were reasonable. On a rainy and cold week night it was fairly busy. Most of all I liked the tasteful decor and subdued lighting. Overall,,,an excellent experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ellen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthington, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“How, how”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This has to be one the top Asian cuisine restaurants in town. The decor is beautiful and inviting. It is not noisy and great for family meals or just chatting with friends. My wife and I have been coming here for 25 years and it is CONSISTENTLY good. That counts a lot with me. Diverse menu and cooked fresh. Take out is great too. Owner Jason and his wife know how to please. It gets the Bernard 5 Star.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bernard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Best Chinese in Columbus”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Prices have gone up and quality has gone down a bit, but still the best around. Go for general tsos and dumplings. The duck is good too.

Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Family Favorite for Chinese in C-bus”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We get take out and eat on Hunan Lion on a regular basis. Their food is extremely fresh, including the seafood, very flavorful, and the portion sizes are quite nice - you get a lot for the money.

We tend to eat vegetarian quite a bit and the MaLa String Beans and General Tso's Tofu are AWESOME.

Highly suggest this Chinese restaurant for both take out and eat in. It says Gourmet in their name and it isn't a joke. We've eaten at this restaurant for 20 years and it is consistently one of our favorites.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bisulfite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hunan Lion Gourmet Chinese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing