We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for dinner”
Review of Polaris Grill

Polaris Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Polaris Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 2,235 Restaurants in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: I-71 and Polaris Parkway
Transit: COTA bus stop within 50 yards of restaurant.
Dublin,
Level Contributor
94 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice place for dinner”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

A very nice place for dinner. Prices are reasonable if not great but the food, atmosphere and drinks are all good. The staff were nice and welcoming too.
Good steaks!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Derek013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    71
    25
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Dissapointment”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We were traveling through Ohio and overnighted at the Hilton Polaris (excellent hotel – see our review under that heading). We consulted tripadvisor to select a restaurant for dinner and deemed the Polaris Grill (NOT affiliated with the hotel!) and Eddie Merlot’s a toss-up. Based on the reviews and menus, we selected the Polaris Grill, which was only a couple of blocks from the hotel. The experience started off OK. The service person was pleasant and the décor OK. We each ordered salads, the “55” house. That was pretty good, but some of the ingredients were a bit wilted. For entrees, we did salmon and lobster and shrimp ravioli. Both were disappointing. The salmon did not taste fresh and was a bit tough. The lobster and shrimp ravioli likewise seemed tough and not very fresh. Also, the wine list offered few selections of quality. We do not like giving poor reviews. However, for the prices charged (our bill for two with tip was $125.00) we wished that we had made another restaurant choice.

In defense of the restaurant, we came on a Monday night, which are usually “down” or “off” nights for restaurants, since they often have not yet restocked and food from the weekend is served. Ultimately, we wished we had selected Eddie Merlot’s. We did go there for dessert and port, which did not disappoint.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JTMWashington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Service is outstanding!”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

and the food isn't bad either. First time at Polaris Grille but have been there in the past for cocktails. It was very good! Went with a group and the bar area was standing room only. The bartenders were wonderful! Fast, accommodating and friendly! I had the salmon and it was delicious!! Def visit again!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortlandt Manor
Level Contributor
400 reviews
287 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Nice Find in the Polaris Area”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Had a much better dinner than other reviewers. Would return.

Polaris Grill was recommended by the staff of the Executive Lounge, Hilton Hotel nearby.

Ordered the special Pecan Crusted Sea Bass...perfectly cooked. Side salad called "55" House Salad, was also very good. Lots of Blue Cheese. Pics uploaded

Other friends ordered the Maryland Crab Cake appetizer, noteably good.

Tip: Check out the seafood specials

Tip II: Much better than average choice of draft beers. I chose the Brooklyn Indian Pale Ale, simply delicious.

Small Gripe: Cheap drinkware unsuitable for this restaurant.

Solid 4 Circles

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AisleSeat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearland, Texas
Level Contributor
145 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“What a Great Find!”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Just passing through Columbus on our way north and exited the freeway to find this great little restaurant (was really tired of the chain restaurants). We decided to take the recommendation of TJ, our waiter, for the Aztec Chowder and Blackened Chicken and were wowed by both. The Aztec Chowder is white beans, chicken, chilies and pepperjack cheese and full of flavor with just the right of amount of spice. The blackened chicken was prepared with tasso ham, sautéed mushrooms painted with bernaise sauce and accompanied by a souffled cheddar cheese grits cake and a medley of yummy vegetables--what a party in your mouth! The herbed butter and fresh bread were the icing on the cake. Great friendly place. Upscale dining, but we were dressed very casual and felt quite comfortable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 17NancyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Polaris Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing