We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the (if not THE) Best Restaurants in Columbus!”
Review of Basi Italia

Basi Italia
Ranked #47 of 2,245 Restaurants in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Buttles Ave. and Highland St.
Transit: Within one city block
Columbus, OH
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the (if not THE) Best Restaurants in Columbus!”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I LOVE this restaurant. It's like eating at a quaint restaurant in New York or on a roof top in San Fran. The patio has a great atmosphere and just the right amount of energy. It is first come, first served and there is a bar with seating as well. But the best part about this gem of a restaurant is the food.

Our party of four enjoyed the Sicilian Flatbread, the Charcuterie Plate, the Beet Salad and the Zucchini appetizers to start. All had great flavor combinations. The zucchini app was probably the best one. It consisted of zucchini sticks sautéed in herbs/spices and covered with thin slices of pecorino cheese - absolutely fantastic!

All four main courses were delicious as well. I had the lamb meatballs. They were tender and juicy and covered in delicious red sauce and mascarpone cheese. The flavor these meatballs had was out of this world.

Also highly recommended is their sangria. It's a white wine sangria that includes a large basil leaf for depth in the flavor.

If you want a great restaurant experience and some of the best Italian food in the city, you have got to eat here!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jch01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    36
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worthington, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Intimate, hard to find but WOW!”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Never know who's who from C-bus will be dining with you as the tables are close enough together to say you were. A hidden gem sure to be a pleasing dining experience.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank RetiredTeacher15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good spot, creative menu, kinda odd location”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Good place to eat creative Italian if you can get a reservation. Small with only a few tables, we had to sit by the rest rooms, but wasn't a problem. Service was fairly attentive. Only downside - not a lot to choose from on the menu, and very little for vegetarians.

We had a desert that was to die for - like a butterscotch-ish creme brulee-ish. very yummy. They said it had pistachios, but I couldn't taste nor find any

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It was not impressive”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We were really looking forward to having a wonderful experience at this place, but from the beginning, it gave us a little skeptical feeling. Nice outside patio, kind of cheapy tables and chairs, however, it was packed and all seemed enjoying their food. Our server had a typical Short North attitude, not attentive or helpful.

We started with Grilled Cesar Salad, which was not easy to eat, uncut romaine lettuce – tasted okay but nothing special. The entrée we choose was a combination of scallops and fresh strawberries, small portion, it was more suitable as an appetizer than being an entrée. Nice try but to no avail.

Although the name has “Italia”, the menu was not giving any impression of an Italian Restaurant. No spaghetti, no baked dishes, no real tomato sauce based items, only couple of Pomodoro sauce dishes, we tried one, nothing stood out.

In general, Columbus restaurants charge much more than a similar place in Manhattan, and the food quality is usually a half and getting a good server seems like a gamble. Even though we like to support local businesses, this one was not the one we would repeat visiting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Babka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Cbus hidden gem”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

This little place in the Victorian Village section of Columbus is phenomenal! The menu offers enough choices for both appetizers and entrees and does them all well. It is not a huge place and gives the feel of a New York neighborhood type establishment. The patio is awesome during the spring through the fall. Get there early to get a seat as they do not take patio reservations. Columbus is a truly underated restaurant city and this is a place that receives high marks.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimmojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Basi Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing