We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“YUM”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Brown Bag Deli

Brown Bag Deli
Ranked #62 of 2,225 Restaurants in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“YUM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I love love love this place. Local and very delicious. Try the Village addiction, or I love the jalepeno popper sandwich too!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank blithe24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    18
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect little deli for any type of appetite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stopped here on a visit of Columbus on a warm sunny day and it was just what we needed. My husband and I are both vegetarians, and it's often difficult to find good vegetarian options when traveling. We were so lucky to find this place and were so pleased with the menu items. DELICIOUS!! They have something for everyone and prices are great. Stop here if you're not in the mood for German food :)

Pay with cash if there is a long line...

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bikiniblonde2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Won't be disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Busy place always. A bit pricey sandwiches but worth it. Had the jalapeño popper and it was like a grilled cheese on steroids. Amazing. Paired it with a small green antipasto. Very good too. Large selection of cold salads and lots of vegan and gluten free options

Helpful?
Thank rodrigug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
296 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Rueben sandwich is a specialty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

No frills, but great lunch sandwiches. A true neighborhood place where everyone is "a local." Expect to get your Coke in a can, and love your. Lunch.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ohiomitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
215 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches German Village!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

As I wandered German Village hungry for a good lunch, I found Brown Bag deli and boy was I glad I stopped in! Parking is a problem since you have to basically find it on the street. I couldn't find a spot, so I threw my blinkers on and dashed in to order. Since it was my first time, I wasn't sure what to order and ultimately went with a vegetarian suggestion offered by the cashier. It was the #3…gosh I wish I remembered the name! I can still remember the taste of the delicious sandwich with the creamy spread of jalapeño cream cheese. The restaurant itself is small (like most delis), but nicely done up with a cozy feel. Wish I found a parking spot because I would have loved to hang around to enjoy my sandwich. I patiently watched my car and soon my order was ready. I was tempted by the variety of cookies, brownies, and fresh pasta salads too but decided to just finish the large sandwich I ordered. For about $7 you can enjoy a decent sized sandwich from there. Be sure to get your brown bag deli card stamped…because after so many orders you get one free! Wish I lived in the area because I'm sure I would fill it up fast! Will def. go back next time I'm in the area!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4GTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brown Bag Deli also viewed

 

Been to Brown Bag Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing