We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The food is always great. The service is always less than great.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of On the Border Mexican Cafe

On the Border Mexican Cafe
Ranked #334 of 2,214 Restaurants in Columbus
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
254 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“The food is always great. The service is always less than great.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

My husband and I love this restaurant for the food, but not for the service. We have been on our own, and with our mothers in tow. We've been there for lunch and for dinner. It doesn't seem to matter what time of day, or day of the week, the service is always lacking! The servers are always nice, but refills on drinks almost always come without ice. And waiting for the check can be agony. Indeed, come eat at this restaurant, but do not come when you are in a hurry,

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    15
    15
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Annual visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We stop here every year on annual trip home for the holidays. The restaurant is warm and cozy during the cold days. Service and food have been consistently good over the years. This year was no exception. Server was great, food was fast and fresh and margaritas were delicious.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank JT B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Popped in for a bite and decided to sit in the bar. Bartender (Josh) was quick, friendly, and made a fantastic margarita. Manager stopped by and was friendly and sincere; even brought some ibuprofen for my wife's headache (the margarita helped it work!) Great people. The food isn't anything to write home about (about average for a Mexican chain) but this time I was very happy with the visit (the free sopapillas they offered with my foursquare check-on didn't hurt either!)

Helpful?
Thank dveech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clendenin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wanted some Mexican food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Decided to try some Mexican food before we came home. This was on the outskirts of Easton Shopping Mall. We didn't have to wait when we got there, and was seated and served the chips and salsa. The waiter was very friendly and the food was prepared very well. Sometimes, it is too spicy for me, but I asked about that before ordering. The waiter was helpful. It was very good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Neither good or bad.Just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Visited this restaurant in the middle of the week.Ordered the ultimate Fajita with the grilled steak,shrimp,chicken and veggies.without pulled pork .Our next order was Create your own combo -the soup and empanadas. The fajita was good .Our combo was average.For the quality of the food and the atmosphere of the place I would give it 3 stars

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pri m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed On the Border Mexican Cafe also viewed

 

Been to On the Border Mexican Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing