We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat little side trip !”

American Whistle Corp.
Ranked #10 of 21 Tours in Columbus
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: America's last remaining whistle factory.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Neat little side trip !”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Kids liked it much more than I thought ! Easy in, inexpensive ($4) relatively quick (30 minutes), and a free whistle at the end. Plus, the owner of the company, who gives the tour with a speaker, has some really interesting, and really funny lines. Adults learned, kids had fun !

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Cruiser187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    4
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cheapest and Most Kid-Friendly Entrepreneurialism Lesson Ever”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Brief tour - 45 mins or so; the owner who did it gave a tour that managed to be fun for kids AND extremely informative (if you're listening carefully) about a wide range of business topics - competitive advantage, price differentiation, economies of scale, avoidance of outsourcing, automation, branding, marketing, and so on. Yes, he was an unabashed capitalist, but he also seems to have saved the company from ruin so I actually do think he's got something to be proud of. For what it's worth, seeing one of the other reviewer comments - our whistles worked perfectly; they took them right out of a new box for us so it's not a defect pile or anything (I'd have to believe those on a tour would be the absolute dumbest ones to give faulty whistles to on purpose, and the owner is no dummy). I do agree that <8 years old may be too young.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank pghdadoftwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“For older kids”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Somewhat interesting but those children under 8 seemed to get very bored. The whistle given at the end of the tour was a nice memento.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SandiRide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groveport, Ohio
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Waste of $4”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Today I took my summer camp to tour the Whistle Factory. The owner himself gave the tour and spent most of the time bragging about himself and the company instead of telling us how whistles are made. Pretty sure the "free whistle" you get at then end of the tour are all defect whistles as several of my campers whistles were beginning to fall apart by the end of the day. Save yourself the $4 and watch the How It's Made episode on them instead.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Years ago tour”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

My daughter's school toured here years ago and found it interesting and fun. They make whistles for important events and have some in their museum part. You can also tour the factor, or could back then. Their whistles were top notch and a good safety feature for women walking alone.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed American Whistle Corp. also viewed

 

Been to American Whistle Corp.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing