We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute place in German Village” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of German Village Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Columbus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
German Village Guest House
Ranked #1 of 19 Columbus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
2 reviews
“Cute place in German Village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Very cute B&B in German Village. Lovely courtyard-even in winter. Great breakfast spread, nice design, extremely clean. HIghly recommend.
My husband forgot his cuff links and they went way out of their way to find a solution.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    25
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
166
8
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

We set up an out of town client here for a few days. The owner, John was very easy to work with, the suite was secure and felt like home to the client. They made it feel like home by providing the client with freshly baked treats and iced tea before he arrived. The fridge was stocked with snacks and the bathroom was luxurious.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melyssa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, oh
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

Not only are the facilities and atmosphere of the German Village Guesthouse absolutely superb, but the helpfulness and service provided by their staff are among the best I've ever seen.

I reserved the Whittaker Suite at the Guesthouse for two nights for my girlfriend and myself, as a romantic anniversary getaway. The suite is out of this world: Gorgeous bedroom, living room, kitchen and bath, with all of the amenities one could want for a weekend to remember.

Unfortunately, I discovered just as we were heading to the guesthouse that I had mistakenly reserved room #2 rather than Suite #2 when I signed up online. The guesthouse owner was incredibly helpful at helping make the best of things: The suite wasn't available Friday night, but they had it free on Saturday. She even offered to help move our luggage from one to the other while we were out Saturday, and gave us a late checkout on Sunday morning to help make up for the disappointing mistake.

There was champagne and strawberries waiting in the suite when we arrived. It was even more wonderful than I had remembered. And a few days after I got home, a package arrived from the guesthouse containing a necklace and iphone plug that I had left in the suite--they had sent it back to me without even asking.

One can find other top-of-the-line, beautiful B&Bs with great amenities several places around the country, in the middle of delightful neighborhoods filled with shops and beautiful buildings...but service like the German Village Guesthouse's is very hard to come by. This place stands out in every way. Come and visit--I guarantee you won't regret it!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

fantastic - great location - great eating places w/in walking distance

Room Tip: rms 2 & 3 on 2nd floor - rm 1 on first floor - might be noisier PS: no swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zoeorion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

As far as Bed and Breakfasts go- this one is a joy, not just from the accommodations, but the neighborhood keeps getting better. So many fun places within walking distance that are outstanding. Katzingers for a deli, Lindy's, Barcelona, Thurman Cafe etc for dinner-
There is the book loft- for disappearing in stacks of books-
the patisserie - Pistacia Vera is awesome.
But- the GVGH is still the star. The rooms are quiet, well fitted, the communal spaces wonderful, and the garden (which we've never had time to enjoy) is very nice.
You don't see much of the hosts- but, they've left you a book on the community, complete with a DVD about the neighborhood.
Great place to escape the bustle and just hunker down to relax.

Room Tip: We've stayed in 2 of the three rooms- both in the front. Prefer downstairs 1- to upstairs (I thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MondoCool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

Amazingly relaxing! When I told my boyfriend we were staying at a B&B he shuddered at the thoughts of rose bush-print duvets and lace curtains. Not here! Modern, crisp, comfortable. He's a huge fan and has already recommended to others. Also, dreamy beds. We plan on writing the owner to get the make and model.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ERHODES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

GV guest house has a nice common area with a gas fireplace, cozy couches and lengthy dining table for breakfast. The selection of food is also good with fresh cookies available for an evening snack and plenty of juice and water in the fridge. The room itself was nicely appointed with a comfortable bed and spacious tiled bath. Ideally the TV could have been bigger and the tree out front would not have splattered the car with gummy droppings that were difficult to clean.

Room Tip: the bath in Room 1 is apparently the most spacious. It is also the only room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
2.0 mi away
Le Meridien Columbus, The Joseph
4.2 mi away
The Blackwell
The Blackwell
#3 of 143 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#5 of 143 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#90 of 143 in Columbus
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.5 mi away
German Village Inn
German Village Inn
#103 of 143 in Columbus
3.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to German Village Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about German Village Guest House

Property: German Village Guest House
Address: 748 Jaeger St, Columbus, OH 43206-2271
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — German Village Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
German Village Guest House is a popular alternative to downtown Columbus hotels in an acclaimed historic neighborhood. Modern design, cleanliness and luxury details distinguish this innovative hotel. The German Village Guest House is a AAA Three-Diamond Hotel and recently achieved 'TripAdvisor Ranking #1 of B&Bs/Inns in Columbus Ohio.'Our Guest check-in and -out is automated 24/7 ~ fast, convenient and secure. Lots of unrestricted on-street parking. Fresh, delicious continental breakfast buffet, broadband wireless, cable TV, DVD player, snacks, refreshments, fresh flowers and lots more all included in rate. Enjoy a charming National Historic District neighborhood that features the best parks, restaurants, shops, galleries and pubs in the Midwest. All German Village Guest House hotel buildings are nonsmoking, with outdoor smoking areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
German Village Guest House Hotel Columbus
German Village Guest House Columbus, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing