We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Columbus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
German Village Guest House
Ranked #2 of 20 Columbus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fairlawn, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing weekend retreat”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Our stay at the Guest House was wonderful. It was a very snowy weekend, so German Village looked like a winter wonderland. The accommodations were lovely and clean. We enjoyed coming down to a welcoming continental breakfast, eating in the dining room as we browsed the newspaper and planned our days. The location was terrific for visiting the North Market, the Art Museum, the Franklin Conservatory, the Bookloft, and the Shadowbox Theatre. The rooms were comfortable, the Hershey kisses a special treat, and the fresh flowers in the midst of winter a true luxury. We will most certainly become repeat visitors!

Green Features: Loved that the German Village Guest House asks if you need fresh sheets and towels, rather than wasting the water and energy for the "fresh every day" normal hotel practice.
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    27
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
53
190
10
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My dog and I arrived in Columbus and our housing arrangements fell through. In a frenzy, I called the German Guest Village. From the moment they picked up the phone to the moment I checked out I was treated like royalty. They made a very stressful situation turn into a rich, delightful experience almost instantaneously. One of the best bed and breakfasts I have ever stayed at. Me and my dog Brewer are eternally grateful.

Room Tip: Try the yogurt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 97Yahoodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We return the same weekend every year and we can't help but feel like we have found the best place in the Columbus Ohio area. We always feel cared for from the moment we step in from the porch. All we have to do is pack a change of clothes because everything else has been thought of. Thank you for the comfortable bed, lush robes, wonderful shower and the delicious treats. There isn't anywhere like it! We are so happy we found you! See you next year!

Room Tip: Whittier Suites are more like little apartment get aways! Love them!!!!!
See more room tips
Green Features: It is nice to be encouraged to recycle and to see the use of appliances that are environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jky7040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We had a wonderful weekend getaway at the guest house. The accommodations were great - comfortable, clean and modern.The guesthouse greets you with fresh cookies and great music, and the atmosphere is warm and welcoming. Bedroom was bright and spacious, bath modern. Best of all is the location - walking distance to great restaurants and a neighborhood bar. Will definitely come back in warmer weather to enjoy the beautiful garden and patio.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I frequently stay at GVG because of the high quality nature of the accommodations and the service provided by the proprietor. They have always maintained the highest standards of quality. Its a pleasure to stay at their facilities.

Room Tip: They offer an exercise facility that I choose not to use, they are a high quality operation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

On our way to a family reunion for Thanksgiving, my wife and I spent one night at this guest house. What a pleasant surprise. We have previously enjoyed German Village but never spent the night in the area. Was fun to be in the middle of the neighborhood, walk the sidewalks and here the community functioning around us. They had a very nice outdoor garden/patio area in the rear, which we would have enjoyed if it was not raining so hard.
This B&B operated without any person meeting/greeting us. We made our reservation via the phone, gained access to the house via email with a door code, had breakfast waiting for us upon waking...I believe that the owners live next door but we had a very peaceful night and morning.
Will definitely return. Even received a hand written thank you note when we returned home--unheard of in today's electronic age.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I stayed at the German Village Guest Houses this week in the Whittier Suite 2 and it was great! I had a super comfortable bed, a large living area, beautiflly appointed kitchen and a very nice restroom with tub. The refrigerator was stocked with waters, juice, yogurt, fruit, milk for cereal and there was plenty more on the counter. I especially loved the chocolate chip cookies when I got back from a long day of meetings. I really appreciated that everything was there for me, a good iron and ironing board, plenty of plugs for computers, IPads and flat irons, good counter space and two flat screens, with DVD players and a selection of movies - wish I had more time to stay! When I read the signature book, I noticed that some people had made use of a local gym that they gave access to which is a nice bonus. The location was great, too. A new restaruant that is all the rage just opened up around the corner. I am definitely coming back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
1.8 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#6 of 143 in Columbus
1,662 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#85 of 143 in Columbus
195 reviews
0.5 mi away
German Village Inn
German Village Inn
#105 of 143 in Columbus
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
0.8 mi away
The Westin Columbus
The Westin Columbus
#61 of 143 in Columbus
630 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Blackwell
The Blackwell
#4 of 143 in Columbus
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to German Village Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about German Village Guest House

Property: German Village Guest House
Address: 748 Jaeger St, Columbus, OH 43206-2271
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — German Village Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
German Village Guest House is a popular alternative to downtown Columbus hotels in an acclaimed historic neighborhood. Modern design, cleanliness and luxury details distinguish this innovative hotel. The German Village Guest House is a AAA Three-Diamond Hotel and recently achieved 'TripAdvisor Ranking #1 of B&Bs/Inns in Columbus Ohio.'Our Guest check-in and -out is automated 24/7 ~ fast, convenient and secure. Lots of unrestricted on-street parking. Fresh, delicious continental breakfast buffet, broadband wireless, cable TV, DVD player, snacks, refreshments, fresh flowers and lots more all included in rate. Enjoy a charming National Historic District neighborhood that features the best parks, restaurants, shops, galleries and pubs in the Midwest. All German Village Guest House hotel buildings are nonsmoking, with outdoor smoking areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
German Village Guest House Hotel Columbus
German Village Guest House Columbus, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing