We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Columbus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
German Village Guest House
Ranked #3 of 20 Columbus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We love the German Village Guest House and stay there whenever we visit our son, who lives in German Village. It is charmingly decorated, they try very hard to make a comfortable and comforting environment. It is kept spotlessly clean, and management is totally responsive to any need. One of those -- I don't want to give it away because then I won't be able to get our room -- kind of places!
Enjoy!

Room Tip: The Whittier Suite is great if you want your own apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lapaztrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

Can't say enough about this gem! Stayed here for business in early March and hosted a business meeting in the living room of one of the suites. Everything was set up beautifully and the staff were so helpful in getting our meal coordinated and having everything ready for us.

I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeccaApfelstadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This was a very comfortable stay at a very nice property. The breakfast was also quite good. Clean, convenient, cheerful and well appointed. The hotel and the room was very clean and the staff was quite helpful as well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tobias F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This was our first stay at a Bed and Breakfast. The room was very clean and nicely appointed. The bathroom was much nicer than ours at home. The breakfast served was just perfect. We had the downstairs bedroom. It could not have been more to our liking. Should we return to Columbus we would like to return to German Village Guest House. We had some concerns when we learned that we were going to have to park on the street. Worked out perfectly. The furthest we had to park from the B & B was one house away.

Janics & John Eblen

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank john e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Beautiful room. Very well-appointed. Great selection for breakfast. Dog-friendly. Convenient to so many great restaurants and shops. Would absolutely recommend German Village Guest House to anyone visiting the Columbus area.

Room Tip: We had our dog with us, so we chose the Suites. Would choose the same room again even if we didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ms261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at German Village Guest House on a cold weekend while visiting our kids that live in Columbus, Ohio. The suite we found upon arrival exceeded our expectations on just about every level. The thoughtful snacks, fresh fruit, a 6-pack of craft beer and all of it free for the taking just about blew us away....who does that! More hotels should cause it really impressed us. Huge comfy bed, perfect WiFi, and a great location makes this quaint little place our new home in Columbus...why stay anywhere else?

Room Tip: We loved the first floor suite in the Whittier building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanHeimbrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This place is so unassuming that you'll almost miss it while driving down the charming cobblestone streets of German Village, but once you step foot in the GVGH you'll immediately feel the allure of the property. It is incredibly well maintained and intimately private. The rooms are immaculate and the continental breakfast and subtle ammenities (freshly brewed iced-tea, selection of teas and coffees, snacks & fresh cookies daily) were all well appreciated. It was a bit cold for the snow, but my wife and I observed the beauty of the courtyard from the warmth of the downstairs living area while listening to a selection of nice music provided by the innkeeper. This was our first visit to Columbus and this B&B made our stay incredibly special.

Room Tip: We checked them all out and they are all very nice, but 3 and 4 are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
1.8 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#6 of 143 in Columbus
1,698 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#83 of 143 in Columbus
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center
0.5 mi away
German Village Inn
German Village Inn
#104 of 143 in Columbus
83 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le Meridien Columbus, The Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to German Village Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about German Village Guest House

Address: 748 Jaeger St, Columbus, OH 43206-2271
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Columbus
Price Range: £132 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — German Village Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
German Village Guest House is a popular alternative to downtown Columbus hotels in an acclaimed historic neighborhood. Modern design, cleanliness and luxury details distinguish this innovative hotel. The German Village Guest House is a AAA Three-Diamond Hotel and recently achieved 'TripAdvisor Ranking #1 of B&Bs/Inns in Columbus Ohio.'Our Guest check-in and -out is automated 24/7 ~ fast, convenient and secure. Lots of unrestricted on-street parking. Fresh, delicious continental breakfast buffet, broadband wireless, cable TV, DVD player, snacks, refreshments, fresh flowers and lots more all included in rate. Enjoy a charming National Historic District neighborhood that features the best parks, restaurants, shops, galleries and pubs in the Midwest. All German Village Guest House hotel buildings are nonsmoking, with outdoor smoking areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
German Village Guest House Hotel Columbus
German Village Guest House Columbus, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing