We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mouthwatering Arepas!”

El Arepazo Latin Grill
Ranked #115 of 2,230 Restaurants in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mouthwatering Arepas!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Give it a chance as you will not be disappointed! The stuffed arepas are to die for, specially with their extra delicious cilantro sauce!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    14
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gahanna, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gracias!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

What a relief to have Venezuelan and Colombian food as an oasis in the middle of a Subway desert. Downtown Columbus has turned into a sandwich and pizza bazaar, it seems. Thank goodness for El Arepazo's arrival a few years ago: it kept the city's lunchtime cuisine from turning into a bland nightmare and, I think, propped the door open for arrivals like the Plantain Cafe, Zen Cha, J Gumbo, and the like.

Be sure to get there early. I can't emphasize this enough. They fill up quickly, and for good reason. It's local and small, so they can - and sometimes do! - run out of space and ingredients. They rely on garlic, onions, peppers, and cilantro for seasoning, so if you dislike any of the above, you may be SOL. Flour isn't the starch of choice; rather, cornmeal is the base for fried patties of varied sizes called arepas, arepitas, and empanadas. You'll see banana varieties called plantains used as side dishes and as part of main courses. You'll get a full offering of proteins - chicken, beef, beans, pork, and even fish - in many presentations ranging from tacos to burritos, enchiladas to sandwiches (depending on the day).

Make sure to try both types of the cilantro sauce, spicy and mild. Extra servings are cheap. Oh, and try some of the fruit juice if they are making any - I've had the blackberry, which is really unusual and exquisite as an offsetting agent to the rich tastes of the food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jodithebold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexley, Ohio
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't miss out!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This place is awesome. Worth the wait. Completely worth every penny! Love the steak, black bean, and avacado salad. Doesn't feel like cheating on my diet and tastes amazing. I have yet to have anything that hasn't been amazing. Very small inside so either get there early, or get takeout.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank muelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Penang
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“perfect venezuelan lunch”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Authentic south american food with strong Venezuelan influences. Only opens for lunch and serves very good empanadas. Also don't miss out on the patacons, they are very good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexKua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing taste, never disappoints”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I've only been to the restaurant in Gahanna and absolutely love it. I've been there twice now and both times I can't wait to get back. My fav apps are the empanaditas, and croquetas. I've tried their Bandeja Paisa, Pabellon, and one of their beef dishes I forget their name. Amazing flavors all around, nice portions. Their tres leches dessert is incredible. The place is small, but gives it character. I would recommend this place any day.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Arepazo Latin Grill also viewed

 

Been to El Arepazo Latin Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing