We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't Get Much Better”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Columbus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harrison House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 19 Columbus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Lynn has hit a homerun with the Harrison House! The location was convenient, the accomodations extremely comfortable and affordable, and the atmosphere delightful. This place ranks right up there with the Texas White House (Dallas/Ft. Worth), and The Meeting Place (Frankfurt Ky); both registering within my personal elite Top B&Bs in the USA. When staying in the greater Columbus area the Harrison House should be your lodging destination without a second thought.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard-Cookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2012

This b & b is located near Ohio State campus, in the Victorian Village section of Columbus. Our hostess, Lynn, was friendly and helpful, and we thoroughly enjoyed the company of other guests at breakfast. Lynn also gave us directions for a walking tour of the neighborhood that we enjoyed greatly. Our room (#1) was large and well equipped with great linens and towels. A family member stayed in room #2 and it was lovely as well. I would rate this b & b higher except for two things: 1) Traffic noise. Room #1 faces a busy street and we dealt with traffic noise and sometimes sirens at night. Harrison House is in an urban area, so this type of noise is not unexpected. 2) Clutter - not in the guest rooms - they were very clean and nicely decorated. But the common rooms/kitchen/office area were quite cluttered. I know that doesn't bother most people - just a personal preference for me. So if a bit of disorganization does not bother you, don't let my comment deter you from staying at Harrison House. All in all, our stay was a positive experience. If you stay here, I recommend that you request a room toward the back of the house to avoid the traffic noise. (Or, if you can handle the walk up, request the quaint room at the top of the stairs on the 3rd floor!)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B-and-B-Explorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We recently returned to Harrison House Bed and Breakfast in Columbus Ohio, to the warm welcome of owner Lynn Varney. Not only is the house a gorgeous Victorian (on the national register), but Lynn is exceedingly gracious and helpful. She had great suggestions for things to see and do in the area and I never felt awkward showing up in her kitchen to ask a question. In contrast to houses where I felt afraid to touch anything, she created a very comfortable and home-like atmosphere. And the other reviewers' comments about the breakfasts are all true.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alwayslatenorthernNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrisonhouseohio, Owner at Harrison House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

I always enjoy return visits by guests...time to catch up on past events...enjoy a cup of tea or glass of wine together...looking forward to your next visit...warmest regards, Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Lynn is genetically engineered to run a B&B. Warm, welcoming, funny, engaging, but not intrusive. The location is terrfic, the place is very well kept.

But the reason I'll go back is the bacon. Wow. great bacon. Waking to coffee and bacon is the ultimate luxury.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrisonhouseohio, Owner at Harrison House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

hahahaha! Bob I KNOW you loved the bacon and I enjoyed having you and your lovely wife as guests! Hope to see you again after I have gone for my 25,000mile automaton tuneup! Hugs to you both, Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Lynn, the owner, is a wonderful hostess and you can tell she loves her work. She created a breakfast left you completely satisfied, fruit is tasty and fresh cooked eggs and meaty bacon. I recommend this BnB if you are staying in Columbus. It's clean, comfortable and I felt completely at home while there.

The house has a great history, is centrally located near the university with a few bars and restaurants within walking distance too.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taylor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrisonhouseohio, Owner at Harrison House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

Awesome meeting you and chatting...looking forward to a future visit. Thanks!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Recently stayed at the b&b when visiting Columbus for a conference. Nice location, very close to downtown and all the nice restaurants. The stay was very comfortable and the room was very spacious. The breakfast was great. Lynn made all the breakfast herself and made sure all the dietary requirements were met. She also gave great suggestions for restaurants. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanotechusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrisonhouseohio, Owner at Harrison House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

Harrison House is a relaxing place to stay for business...glad that you found us! Thanks!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

The house is beautiful, the room was comfortable, breakfast was outstanding (so were Lynn's cookies!) and Lynn is warm and friendly and funny.
I'll be back!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
2.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University
1.5 mi away
The Lofts Hotel
The Lofts Hotel
#82 of 145 in Columbus
237 reviews
11.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus / Polaris, OH
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Blackwell
The Blackwell
#3 of 145 in Columbus
648 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
#9 of 145 in Columbus
589 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#5 of 145 in Columbus
1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrison House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrison House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 313 W 5th Ave, Columbus, OH 43201-3111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Columbus
Price Range: £96 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the comfort of Harrison House Bed & Breakfast, your “home away from home” during your visit to Columbus, Ohio. Whether on business or vacation, you'll arrive as a guest and leave as our friend! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harrison House Hotel Columbus
Harrison House b&b
Harrison House Bed & Breakfast Columbus, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing