We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Hotel in the Middle of Arena District "Action"”
Review of The Lofts Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lofts Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Columbus B&B and Inns
Southeastern Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Boutique Hotel in the Middle of Arena District "Action"”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed at The Lofts in Columbus, Ohio, on Feb. 8, 2014, for leisure, before attending a Columbus Jazz Orchestra concert the next day. The "loft" ambience is spacious and well-designed while keeping the character of the original building.

Bars and restaurants were in abundant supply, and while I had plans for a short walk down Nationwide Boulevard, that plan was thwarted due to a cold snap and snow. So we stayed within the hotel -- which has a door in the lobby that leads to a Max & Erma's. This provided entertainment and a place to go without braving the elements.

The hotel is adjacent to the Crowne Plaza....when The Lofts small lobby was unattended, our phone call went directly to the Crowne Plaza, where everyone was most helpful.

This is an out-of-the-ordinary hotel experience.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms here.....you see cityscape from every window which seems fitting, given locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtm52654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at The Lofts Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear jtm52654,

Thank you for staying at The Lofts for your recent trip to Columbus. Im so happy you had an out-of-the-ordinary-hotel experience! We hope to see you again soon.

Dirk Bengel
General Manger
The Lofts Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    61
    45
    26
    10
See reviews for
26
100
12
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The Lofts is cool because the designer took the original structure and added modern features. The inside is complete with rafters, photos from the past and the original block and window shapes. The hotel is attached to the Crowne Plaza via the 5th floor. Parking is shared between both hotels. There are bars on both sides and restaurants. Not until the last day did I realize that a pool and workout area is available on the Crowne Plaza side and can be used by The Loft's residents.

Room Tip: The price of a room with a living area is the same as a king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawrenceuwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at The Lofts Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Lawrenceuwg,

Thank you for staying at The Lofts for your recent trip to the United States! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the architecture mixed with our modern features.
Please visit again soon.

Dirk Bengel
General Manager
The Lofts Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellow Springs, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Across the way from the Crowne Plaza, this building has been beautifully renovated to retain some of the characteristics of its original purpose. We enjoyed our stay in every way. And it's (in fine weather) walking distance to a wonderful variety of Short North restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SOMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at The Lofts Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear SOMorgan,

Thank you for staying at The Lofts for your recent trip to Columbus! I am happy to hear that enjoyed your stay in every way. Please visit us again soon.

Dirk Bengel
General Manager
The Lofts Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Lofts Hotel in Columbus, Ohio on December 27, 2013. We had a large king room. The Lofts was very clean and the bed very comfortable. Guest services, front desk, valet and others were all very helpful and professional. This is a top-notch operation. The hotel is located across the street from the Convention Center, within easy walking distance to the North Market, Arena District, and other restaurants and entertainment.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCOhio31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at The Lofts Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear JCOhio31,

Thank you for staying at the Lofts Hotel in Downtown Columbus! I am happy to hear that the valet and front desk were both helpful and professional! We try our hardest to be a top-notch operation. Please visit us again soon!

Dirk Bengel
General Manager
The Lofts Hotel- Downtown Columbus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

I guess that's why they always say never have high expectations:(
Stayed in the standard king suite and honestly I've stayed in nicer rooms at a Holiday Inn. A single coffee maker, small cotton pillows, a very uncomfortable bed, basic cable and we could hear the people upstairs all night. The staff however were very friendly and the location can't be beat. For calling themselves an upscale boutique hotel I think that's quite a stretch. Next time we'll stay at the Westin.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OhioTravelchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at The Lofts Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear OhioTravelChic,

Thank you for staying at The Lofts for your recent trip to Columbus! I am glad to hear that our staff is friendly and the location is great. Thank you for the information about what you think our rooms lack. We are going through major renovations in 2014, and love to hear guest feedback. We hope you try us again in the near future.

Dirk Bengel
General Manager
The Lofts Hotel - Downtown Columbus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

If you love the feel of living in a big city loft, like you might find in New York City, or Chicago then your going to love The Lofts Hotel, in Columbus Ohio. My wife loves this type of hotel, living in a big city loft at least for a day or two. The Lofts is right next to the crown plaza hotel downtown and I actually think they might own it, you pull up between the two and the bellman comes out to meet you. The lobby of the hotel is very intimate, reminding you of what It would be like to actually live in this type of building. The Rooms are very spacious for the price, modern and contemporary, decorated with a New York flavor, bare brick walls, black leather furniture, there is a great setting room with a large television, the bedroom looks just like what you would see in a movie about an artist or model living in New York. the Bathroom has black and white tile. Very tastefully designed. Irma & Max's is located in the same building and provided awesome room service to the hotel. The only set back is the hallway, if it's winter time be prepared to put your coat on before leaving your room the Hall ways are cold. However if your looking for a truly unique experience we highly recommend the LOFTS a chance to pretend like your living in the big city for a few days!

Room Tip: I think the higher the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at The Lofts Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Timothy,

Thank you for staying at The Lofts for your recent trip to Columbus! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere of the hotel. We strive to be unique as well as trendy. Please visit us again soon!

Dirk Bengel
General Manger
The Lofts Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I chose the Loft in Columbus for a recent stay while traveling with my wife. We got a bargain price on Priceline for a very nice room in a renovated historic commercial building. The front desk staff was friendly and very helpful. Our room's large windows gave views of the city and 12 (?) - foot ceilings gave a sense of spaciousness. Nearly all aspects of the room were beautifully done with attention to every detail. The bed was excellent, and I sleep very well. The heating/AC system was a bit loud, but I only noticed this once during our stay. Wireless Internet connections, provided from the adjoining Crowne Plaza, were difficult to maintain and streaming media was out of the question. One other deficiency was that the in-room coffee service only provided one serving each of regular and decaf, and, frankly, it was awful. None-the-less, we would consider returning here next time we are in Columbus overnight.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DelMarVaJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at The Lofts Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear StrongJohnInMuncie,

Thank you for staying at The Lofts for your recent trip to Columbus! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed the historic feel of building and the rooms! Although we only offer one serving of coffee in the rooms, we do have coffee and tea in the lobby every morning, as well as a full service Café at our sister hotel (Crowne Plaza) across the street. We also just signed a contract with a new internet service provider, so our internet should be well above average very shortly. Thank you for your feedback, please visit us again soon!

Dirk Bengel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#15 of 143 in Columbus
1,783 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#6 of 143 in Columbus
1,661 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Columbus, The Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lofts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lofts Hotel

Property: The Lofts Hotel
Address: 55 E Nationwide Blvd, Columbus, OH 43215-2512
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lofts Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lofts is a luxury boutique hotel like no other in the world. Each of its 44 rooms and lodging accommodations is distinctive, offering special features that truly set it apart. Its designer interior offers clean, contemporary lines, dramatically juxtaposed against the strength of a proud historic building. But beyond its rich history and great beauty, The Lofts offers guests a host of features. All rooms were refreshed in 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Lofts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lofts Hotel And Suites
The Lofts Hotel Columbus, Ohio
Lofts Columbus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing