We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We weren't asking for much”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Columbus West
Ranked #71 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We weren't asking for much”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

We weren't really asking for much... Just a place to stay for my kiddos to rest up before another 8-9 hours of driving...
This places was extremely cheap, but the hotel was very clean and comfortable. They had an awesome location next to everything... Even a Walmart.
We stayed with three kiddos and they offerred to rent us a cot.. And it was extremely comfortable and huge lol I was expecting a small sized cot.. Thus one was basically a twin sized bed.
They were so friendly.
I give this place an A++ especially for the price.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    27
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
15
19
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

After searching for this hotel w/my GPS I actually found it by having a nearby hotel look up the phone number for me. There's no iron or alarm clock in the room but they do have wi-fi. The front desk clerk was nice and the rate was great ($65) for this weekend-there is a slight odor in the room, that's my only complaint.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valleysvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

The owner/manager was very friendly and welcoming. Lots of restaurants were a short drive away with a nice looking new restaurant just a couple businesses down.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suz806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas, VA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

This is a very basic motel. It is good if you are looking for just a place to sleep. The beds are really firm for people who like firm beds.
Room ammenties include a microwave and refrigerator, but no box of tissues. There is also an iron.
I probably wouldn't stay here again, except in a pinch, because I am looking for a place with with more comfortable beds, softer towels, and some sort of breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank locarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresden
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

NEGATIVE:
I am hoping the sheets were changed. However the mess on the floor is unimaginable so I will let you see the pictures. Bedspreads are filthy. Never again will I stay in a Hotel 6 but this is disgusting.
Take it from a road warrior. DO NOT STAY HERE.

POSITIVE:
Front desk staff was however, very helpful and concerned.

DATE OF STAY: NOVEMBER 2011

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank newadvisor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

I went to visit my son in Columbus OH 10/8-10/10. The best thing is, they let me view the room before I boooked. I tried Knights Inn, I called the night before I arrived, they told me I could check in when I arrived. I arrived and requested to view a room, they did not have any that were ready to view..went across the street (1300 E Dublin-Granville Road, Columbus OH). I asked to view a room, I viewed the room, I then booked the room. I was able to park my car right outside the door, due to the fact that I had small children with me, that was really a plus (and they enjoyed themselves very much) and it was right around the corner from my son..the downside was: there were 2 adults & 2 children, but we only received towels for 1 person, otherwise it was s very nice visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4patty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
83 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2010

This is the typical, nondescript hotel located off the interstate. I recently blind booked this through Hotwire. While I wasn't overly impressed, I wasn't disappointed either.

The hotel is located off the interstate, in a clump of other hotels and chain restaurants. A Walmart is very close as well. I found the location to be very convenient.

The hotel's design suggests that it was built as a mid-1990's Fairfield Inn. The first and second floor's doors open to the outside, and the third floor has a hotel style layout, with doors opening to an indoor hallway. The building, while showing some age, is well kept.

The room is also clean, but aged. I found the bed to be very hard, but the rest of the furnishings fine. The wifi was too weak to use, so the front desk supplied me with a network cable so that I could connect to the internet via ethernet.

Overall, the hotel was fine. I wasn't blown over, but I got what I needed at a decent price. I could see myself staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Publius2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Columbus West
Red Roof Inn Columbus West
#83 of 143 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Columbus West
Super 8 Columbus West
#68 of 143 in Columbus
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
13.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#51 of 143 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites - Columbus / Keim Circle
0.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus West
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Columbus-Hilliard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Columbus West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Columbus West

Property: Motel 6 Columbus West
Address: 1309 St. James Lutheran, Columbus, OH 43228-9759
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Columbus West 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Columbus West we welcome our guests 24 hours a day with a comfortable environment at the lowest rates of any national chain. Relax in out outdoor pool and enjoy Free Wi-Fi and Micro-Fridges in all modern guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Columbus West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Super 8
Columbus Super Eight
Motel 6 Columbus West Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing