We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
Ranked #40 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My partner and I checked in for a Friday to Sunday Ohio State football weekend in October 2013.

We arrived late afternoon taking a taxi in from the airport. We did not use the parking or valet services since we had no car. The driveway access to the hotel is covered with easy entry (no steps) to the lobby. We did not have to wait in line to check in and were able to get in to our room right away.

We booked a king bed standard room. It was clean, comfortable and well furnished. As our visit was to celebrate football weekend, we did a quick change to start our festivities. The coffee shop in the lobby was very convenient and had a decent brew to pep us up before heading out of the hotel.

Taxi's were easy to find waiting out on the side of the hotel. I generally do not think of Columbus as a taxi town, but we had no troubles getting by without a car. I was pleased as we were doing a bit of bar hopping all weekend. Taxi's were also available again Saturday morning, but we opted for the long walk over to campus. We are both distance runners so did not think anything of the long walk. I believe most people would prefer a taxi going over to campus as it is a bit far by foot.

This was my first stay at this property as we had stayed nearby at the Hyatt during prior visits. I am glad we tried the Crowne Plaza. I would have no concerns about staying here again in the future for a visit to Columbus.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff_O-Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Jeff_O-Chicago,

Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza for your recent trip to Columbus. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and the coffee shop. We hope to see you again soon. Go Bucks!

Dirk Bengel
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    167
    93
    33
    21
See reviews for
81
82
18
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel felt a bit dated. It was not bad, but it also was not great. Our room would not stay at a consistent temperature. It was either really hot or really cold, which made it hard for us to sleep. There are other hotels in the area for about the same price that are better options in my opinion.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank warde3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Warde33,

Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza for your recent trip to Columbus and for the information in your review. We hope to see you again soon.

Dirk Bengel
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chillicothe, Ohio
Level Contributor
78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel was in a great location (Arena district and short north). We stayed on the 12th floor (club level) and it was very nice and quiet. Our room was small but nice and comfy. They brought us extra towels quickly. I liked having access to the club lounge and receiving free drinks. We went down and sat at the patio for a few hours just talking. Had delicious pretzels and cheese and amazing Long Islands (highly recommend). We left and went to dinner and a show. Got back to the hotel and the bar was closed already at 1:20 am. Kind of disappointing. We went and got our wine and sat outside til 3:30 (would have been nice if fire out was lit). Only thing is that There was a very loud wedding party on the 12th floor but we couldn't hear them once in our room. Everyone was very nice and I highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ashes33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Ashes33,

Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza for your recent trip to Columbus, Ohio. I am happy to hear you enjoyed yourselves and the 12th floor. We hope to see you again soon!

Dirk Bengel
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed downtown on memorial day weekend. Not only was the staff friendly, we were able to check in early after traveling all day. The room was clean and spacious, we had a corner suite with lots of windows, it was a great weekend getway.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hillary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Hillary S,

Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza for your recent trip to Columbus! Im happy to hear you had a great getaway weekend. We hope to see you again soon.

Dirk Bengel
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, Ohio
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Coming to Columbus for a concert and not really going to be in the room that much, it was still a disappointment. To have a room on the 12th Floor, overlooking the Nationwide Arena, and have a free breakfast, but...I have never seen a room this small. The width of the 8 feet wide by 20 feet long. I had to step between the beds with my friend wanted to go to the bathroom. There was a small desk area & chair. If you pulled it out to sit in it, you couldn't get in the bed from that side..The bar manager and servers were polite, attentive and very helpful for directions..The saving grace was the ice machine was right out side the room and ..Cher put on a GREAT concert..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissKim74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear MissKim74,

Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza for the recent Cher concert and for your feedback about the room. We hope to see you again soon.

Dirk Bengel
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I am looking forward to checking into the hotel this Friday. Every year we enjoy Rock on the Range and this is our 3rd year staying at this particular hotel. The rooms are clean (first and most important) Also, we look forward to coming back to the hotel for a few drinks and a bite to eat. Perfect combination. Staff cannot do enough to make sure our stay is perfect!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Lorraine M,

Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza for your recent trip to Columbus. I am so happy to hear that we always take care of you. I hope you enjoyed Rock on the Range.

Dirk Bengel
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The Good.

Meet with the original event planner Vanessa who was terrific as far as helping us plan for a brunch reception and our arriving guests who were in town for a wedding reception. She was able to make great suggestions on things we didn't even think of and otherwise execute our vision for the brunch.

Rooms. Rooms were clean, modern, comfortable and quiet. Free WiFi was a great bonus considering its a business hotel and you normally see a nominal charge for this. Great location for our guests to get to different parts of the city (Short North, Brewery District, Arena District, German Village, Downtown) quickly and easily. 5-Star *****

Public Areas. Clean, comfortable. Loved the fire pit. Very convenient to have the Max & Erma's next door (by covered breezeway to their sister property "The Lofts". You can get room service from here (much better than the usual hotel room service) as well as a nice bar in the restaurant. The pool is small and in the basement. Not ideal or relaxing really. You can tell it was an afterthought once the hotel was built. But with kids, it was a hit. 4-Star. ****

Hosted Brunch. Outstanding. The room was beautiful, the staff was courteous, efficient and helpful. Especially the young man working the omelet station. Many guests complimented not only his "awesome" omelets, but how friendly and social he was while everyone was waiting in line. 5-star *****

Other. Once we got back to the hotel (See below regarding the valets) the hotel security gentleman was VERY helpful in making sure we got the flowers to the Fusion room for the brunch the next morning as well as taking care of our left over desserts and making sure they were placed in the fridge. He certainly went above and beyond and it was most appreciated after the valet fiasco/disappointment.

THE BAD Again, working with Vanessa, we had scheduled the use of their shuttle vans to transport our guests Saturday afternoon to the Short North for shopping and dining. She assured us that is was "in the system" as blocked for our guests. We also asked for the same service to transport guests to our reception venue at (around) 6 and then back at (around) 10-11. Our guests had to REMIND the front desk (who in turn reminded the valets) that their service was needed Saturday afternoon. Apparently the valets do not check the system...whatever system they use... And when it came time to transport to the reception, AGAIN, they had to reminded. It was as if they had NO IDEA they were suppose to be move our guests. That evening they really disappointed. Not only were they NOT showing up to return guests to the hotel, when they finally did, the driver told one person that was the last run they were doing since it was "quitting time" NEVER MIND that several guests had to walk to find a cab to take them back, but we, as the hosts, and planners were stranded at the venue with flowers, gifts, etc., that need to be transported back to the hotel. Oh, and the guy who was "quitting"? He dropped off the guests and took out a bridal party! WE had planned on tipping the valets very well, but afterwards realized they certainly didn't deserve it. There must be a communication issue between Event Planning and the Valet Stand or retraining must be required. 1-STAR- TERRIBLE.

CHECK IN. Somehow, after carefully checking and rechecking our guest gift bags, some guests didn't get any. Not sure how that gets screwed up, but it did. Either they were given out to the WRONG guests or they simply...disappeared. 2-Star **

Other. As a "Thank You" from the hotel, we received a bottle of champagne. A very nice and thoughtful gesture...only it arrived 1 hour before CHECK OUT. We didn't think it appropriate to guzzle it right before leaving, and we would have enjoyed it had it arrived Saturday sometime, so it ended up coming home with us.

Overall, a great business hotel that met or exceeded expectations. It just seems anything more than that might have been a little taxing.

Room Tip: Ask for a KING CORNER room facing High Street. GREAT views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRS1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear TRS1969,
Thank you for your kind words and such an informative review. I am glad you enjoyed some aspects.

Dirk Bengel
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
#47 of 143 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#15 of 143 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#6 of 143 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown

Property: Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
Address: 33 E Nationwide Blvd, Columbus, OH 43215-2512
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the Arena District, the Crowne Plaza Hotel Columbus Downtown is attached to Nationwide Insurance and directly across the street from and attached to the Greater Columbus Convention Center. This upscale downtown Columbus hotel is within walking distance of the North Market and fashionable Short North Neighborhood all packed with unique shopping, dining, and nightlife. Nationwide Arena, home of the Columbus Blue Jackets and host to live performances year-round, and Huntington Park, home of the AAA Columbus Clippers, are just blocks away and are bordered by cobblestone streets lined with trendy restaurants and cafes. Our Hotel features a state of the art business center, coffee bar, and enjoy our tapas and wine menus at our Boulevard Bar. Take in a live concert at the LC Pavilion or sit back and enjoy a movie at the Studio Movie Grill. We are close to other Columbus destinations including the Museum of Art, COSI, Historic German Village, Victorian Village, and The Ohio State University. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Columbus Downtown provides a perfect setting for successful business meetings, memorable social gatherings, and exquisite wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Columbus Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing