We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very solid convention hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
Ranked #40 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very solid convention hotel”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I’m in Columbus at least once a year for a convention and business and have stayed at the Crowne Plaza before. It’s across the street from the convention center so you’re just a short stroll away from the exhibit hall as well as all the bars and restaurants on High street and the arena district. It’s tough to beat its location and the price is typically a bit more reasonable that the Hyatt that’s attached to the convention center.
It’s a very well run, professional hotel, the staff was very accommodating. I needed to call a few times to make some last minute changes/requests for the room and they people I spoke to at the hotel were really helpful. The staff at check-in was supper efficient and had me on my way to my room in just a few moments. We were there for a few days so I had the chance to interact with them again as well as the staff from the club lounge and they were always very accommodating.
The room and all the common areas were in great condition and well maintained and we found everything clean and tidy. The fixtures and furnishings in the rooms had a contemporary feel and everything seemed to be in great shape. The only detraction was that the halls and some of the common areas, especially the carpets felt a bit dated. It looks like it’s been a while since their last refresh and I don’t remember any major changes in all the years I’ve been going there.
I think the fact that it is primarily a convention hotel comes into play here. It’s probably got very consistent bookings and doesn’t need to rely on frequent updates. Don’t get me wrong, everything was really in great shape and we will almost certainly be back here again next year. If you’re in town for a convention or a sporting event this is probably the place for you.

Room Tip: I've slept on a number of floors and have never had any issues with noise from the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanHanLan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear DanHanLan,

Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza for your recent trip to Columbus. I am happy to hear that the hotel is well run and the staff is accommodating. Thank you for the information in this review.

Dirk Bengel
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    167
    93
    33
    21
See reviews for
81
82
18
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Nice, convenient downtown location. Very close to the Nationwide Arena and Huntington Park, home of the MiBL team, the Columbus Clippers. A lot of restaurants are nearby. Valet parking is available. While there is no restaurant on the premises, there is a restaurant next door.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jadams1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Jadams1016,

Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza for your recent trip to Columbus. We hope to see you again soon.

Dirk Bengel
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We used the Crowne Plaza hotel for our wedding block - our venue was The Bluestone. We had a lot of hotels to choose from for our wedding block, and we originally picked Crowne Plaza because they were the only hotel in that area to offer a private shuttle service. We wanted our guests to be able to take a shuttle from the hotel to the wedding, and back to the hotel (without having long wait times, or other stops along the way). We were able to rent a shuttle for our guests for the length of our wedding, which worked perfectly. Safety first!

In addition to that service, we worked closely with Chad Eberly. He helped us ensure our welcome bags were given to guests on their check-in. Plus, he kept me updated on how many rooms were booked in our block, so I could remind guests to book/meet the deadline. He also worked with me to find a room that would work for me and my bridesmaids Friday night, and be special enough for my husband and I the next night. He actually put us in The Lofts, which are connected to the Crowne. The exposed brick, vaulted ceiling, industrial-style bathroom... everything was amazing, and completely "our taste." We loved it.

Chad was great to work with, kept us updated on how valeting, room block, shuttle service times, etc. would work. I highly recommend this hotel!

PS: Max and Erma's in the hotel was a great place to invite all the guests to come for brunch the morning after!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Courtney T,
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza for your trip to Columbus. We appreciate all of the feedback and information in your review. We hope to see you again soon!

Dirk Bengel
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My partner and I checked in for a Friday to Sunday Ohio State football weekend in October 2013.

We arrived late afternoon taking a taxi in from the airport. We did not use the parking or valet services since we had no car. The driveway access to the hotel is covered with easy entry (no steps) to the lobby. We did not have to wait in line to check in and were able to get in to our room right away.

We booked a king bed standard room. It was clean, comfortable and well furnished. As our visit was to celebrate football weekend, we did a quick change to start our festivities. The coffee shop in the lobby was very convenient and had a decent brew to pep us up before heading out of the hotel.

Taxi's were easy to find waiting out on the side of the hotel. I generally do not think of Columbus as a taxi town, but we had no troubles getting by without a car. I was pleased as we were doing a bit of bar hopping all weekend. Taxi's were also available again Saturday morning, but we opted for the long walk over to campus. We are both distance runners so did not think anything of the long walk. I believe most people would prefer a taxi going over to campus as it is a bit far by foot.

This was my first stay at this property as we had stayed nearby at the Hyatt during prior visits. I am glad we tried the Crowne Plaza. I would have no concerns about staying here again in the future for a visit to Columbus.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff_O-Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Jeff_O-Chicago,

Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza for your recent trip to Columbus. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and the coffee shop. We hope to see you again soon. Go Bucks!

Dirk Bengel
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel felt a bit dated. It was not bad, but it also was not great. Our room would not stay at a consistent temperature. It was either really hot or really cold, which made it hard for us to sleep. There are other hotels in the area for about the same price that are better options in my opinion.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank warde3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Warde33,

Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza for your recent trip to Columbus and for the information in your review. We hope to see you again soon.

Dirk Bengel
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chillicothe, Ohio
Level Contributor
78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel was in a great location (Arena district and short north). We stayed on the 12th floor (club level) and it was very nice and quiet. Our room was small but nice and comfy. They brought us extra towels quickly. I liked having access to the club lounge and receiving free drinks. We went down and sat at the patio for a few hours just talking. Had delicious pretzels and cheese and amazing Long Islands (highly recommend). We left and went to dinner and a show. Got back to the hotel and the bar was closed already at 1:20 am. Kind of disappointing. We went and got our wine and sat outside til 3:30 (would have been nice if fire out was lit). Only thing is that There was a very loud wedding party on the 12th floor but we couldn't hear them once in our room. Everyone was very nice and I highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ashes33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Ashes33,

Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza for your recent trip to Columbus, Ohio. I am happy to hear you enjoyed yourselves and the 12th floor. We hope to see you again soon!

Dirk Bengel
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed downtown on memorial day weekend. Not only was the staff friendly, we were able to check in early after traveling all day. The room was clean and spacious, we had a corner suite with lots of windows, it was a great weekend getway.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hillary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Hillary S,

Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza for your recent trip to Columbus! Im happy to hear you had a great getaway weekend. We hope to see you again soon.

Dirk Bengel
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
#47 of 143 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#15 of 143 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#6 of 143 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown

Property: Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
Address: 33 E Nationwide Blvd, Columbus, OH 43215-2512
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the Arena District, the Crowne Plaza Hotel Columbus Downtown is attached to Nationwide Insurance and directly across the street from and attached to the Greater Columbus Convention Center. This upscale downtown Columbus hotel is within walking distance of the North Market and fashionable Short North Neighborhood all packed with unique shopping, dining, and nightlife. Nationwide Arena, home of the Columbus Blue Jackets and host to live performances year-round, and Huntington Park, home of the AAA Columbus Clippers, are just blocks away and are bordered by cobblestone streets lined with trendy restaurants and cafes. Our Hotel features a state of the art business center, coffee bar, and enjoy our tapas and wine menus at our Boulevard Bar. Take in a live concert at the LC Pavilion or sit back and enjoy a movie at the Studio Movie Grill. We are close to other Columbus destinations including the Museum of Art, COSI, Historic German Village, Victorian Village, and The Ohio State University. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Columbus Downtown provides a perfect setting for successful business meetings, memorable social gatherings, and exquisite wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Columbus Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing