We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the Crowne quality I've known in the past”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Columbus North-Worthington
Ranked #91 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Hamilton, Ohio, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not the Crowne quality I've known in the past”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I wondered if we were at a Crowne hotel when we arrived and there were only two front desk employees working during the peak check in time. We checked in and were told where to find the elevators but nothing about the facility itself. The bellman was standing inside the lobby area, yet I never saw him offer to assist anyone with their luggage. Guess he was just there for appearance sake.
We stepped off the elevator and were able to locate our room quickly by the pair of discarded socks laying beside the doorway. (They remained there throughout the night despite the fact that the night shift auditor placed the checkout ledger under our door.)
The ceiling in the room had a water drip near the masonry joint and the bathroom door.
The decor appeared to be recently remodeled however it still felt cramped and dated.
We stepped on the elevator to go down to the lobby ( a key card is required to operate). When it arrived at our floor, a maintenance person was on the elevator. I pressed the lobby button and he immediately pulled out his maintenance card, overriding my selection, and took us for a ride to the 7th floor. Hmmm.....doesnt sound like Crowne customer service.
The facility is quite secure....room key required to operate the elvator, signage reminding you not to leave valuables in your car, entrances/exits in the parking lot chained off to the point you wondered what kind of area we were staying in.
We could talk about the dust on the air conditioners in the hallway, the musty smell of the hallway, the wood trim missing from doors, or the potato bug found in the bed in the morning.... but there is only so much to say.
I will admit that the management does ask for the customer to share any concerns with them, but I really feel that if I need to tell you what is in need of attention at your facility, then maybe the management team needs to get out of the office and observe for themselves.
This hotel seems to be a nine story mid range hotel at best.Not the quality nor attention to detail that one would expect.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus North-Worthington, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. Our property and brand goal is to exceed our guest's expectations and I am very sorry as we failed to provide you with the quality stay you deserve. I will certainly review your concerns with the staff and I would love the opportunity to discuss this stay with you further. I can be reached at 614-431-6040.

Sincerely,
Steve P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    104
    87
    43
    23
See reviews for
87
54
16
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dayton
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The room was spacious, clean, comfortable. Helpful and friendly staff. Quality food and service in the restaurant. Plenty of food, shopping, and entertainment within a few minutes' drive. Located right next to I-71.

Some tips and observations:
-If you need peace and quiet, bring earplugs and do not get an upper-floor room on the east side of the building (odd-numbered rooms in the tower). Although this provides beautiful sunrise views, it puts you directly above I-71 and a prime nesting spot for Canadian geese. You will hear both of them 24/7. This was not a problem for me, just saying.
-Elevator requires hotel key card activation and moves very quickly. Get your floor # punched in quickly if you want to go there directly. If not, you may ride around some before reaching your floor
-No microwave in the room
-No functioning TV guide channel
-The flow could be improved for the omelet & waffle line at breakfast. They were delicious, but cooking food to-order takes time. If you don't want to wait in line, please eat something else. Don't have family or friends stand there for you. It's not cool when there's one person in front of you in line and you find they're ordering omelets for 3 or 4 people.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 20MikeE20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus North-Worthington, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I truly appreciate your wonderful comments regarding the hotel and our staff! I will certainly share all of your thoughts with the staff and use them to improve the service that we provide. Thank you for being our guest!

Sincerely,
Steve P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wooster, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here several times now and the staff is excellent and friendly. The rooms are modern and immaculate. One of the best hotels in Columbus, especially if you have business on the north side of town. Would recommend this location to families as well since the pool area looks nice.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank gtgraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I will give this four stars because the potential was there. Purchased it on priceline for $70. Had a couple of issues, but had two rooms and one didn't have any problems in one of them, so I assume it was just an isolated issue in one of our rooms. It was an older, but updated property, so the rooms are the basic variety that you are going to find in places built during the time this one was. Sink areas were inside the bathroom, which newer places have quit putting them there. This is no fault to this Crowne Plaza, it's just the way they were designed back then. I didnt like how this property didn't have a fridge and microwave in the room. It's 2014 and hotels of this quality should include them in all rooms. What I liked-----Beds were very comfortable, Key access required to move anywhere beyond the first floor, which is a good safety feature. Pool areas was nice. Nice lobby.
Had a couple of problems in one of the rooms. Air unit kept shutting off. Had it turned all the way down, yet it wouldn't cool the room. Tub drained really slow. I would stay again for the price I stayed, but wouldn't pay base rate. If I'm going to pay $100 plus for a room I'm going to get a couch, fridge and free breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus North-Worthington, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Wilcox29,

Thank you for your review. We are hospitality professionals who work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we strive to provide service rates that are competitive in the area. I’m happy to hear you found the beds comfortable. However, we regret letting you down on some aspects of your stay. We don't want any guest inconvenienced and rest assured that your comments will be used for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

You can tell this property is old! They've done some renovating and updated decor but the cracks in the walls and ceilings, old phones and ac units, no fridge in rooms, creaking busted looking elevators, etc. They're trying too hard. Plus it's in a desolate, industrial part of town that lacks appeal. If I weren't here on business (with a conference in the hotel) I would leave and find a new hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilcox29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus North-Worthington, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Wilcox29,

Thank you for your review. We are hospitality professionals who work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we strive to provide service rates that are competitive in the area. I’m happy to hear you found the beds comfortable. However, we regret letting you down on some aspects of your stay. We don't want any guest inconvenienced and rest assured that your comments will be used for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My husband and I decided to get away for a staycation during Valentine's weekend. I found this one last minute. It was snowing pretty heavily when we arrived and there was a bellhop (I guess) just standing there watching us trying to get luggage in and me trying not to fall in heels in the snow. I really don't know what his purpose was because he was standing there like he was a Walmart greeter. The room and bathroom were very clean and comfy. We did enjoy the indoor pool, which was supposed to be heated but didn't feel that way. We had to brave the cool water and opted for the spa after a while. The breakfast was just ok.

Overall I was satisfied with our stay. It was an average hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Columbus North-Worthington, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay. I appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness and comfort of the guest rooms. Your feedback regarding the bellman is truly appreciated for it is one of the most important tools that allow us to improve the quality of our product and services.
Thank you for being our guest and we look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels bring you to Columbus.

Sincerely,
Steve P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chillicothe, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We reserved this hotel on priceline. We were able to get a price of $60/night. For that price, this hotel is absolutely worth it. I would pay up to about $125 or so before I feel this hotel would reach past it's value.

It's older, but nicely remodeled.

It sits back off a beaten path in a business park - area. While it sits very close to 71, it feels a bit out of the way.

The parking lot has been fairly full several times that I have been here except on a sunday night.

Upon entering, you are met my a bellhop who has always been very pleasant. Contemporary decor, and a conference hotel feel, as they do host different types of meetings and events here.

Professional, helpful friendly staff.

I cannot complain about our room. Updated decor and remodeled. Very comfortable beds and pillows. Seemed fairly clean. Room comes with desk and chair or desk and sofa.

Bathroom lovers beware. Bathrooms are nicely updated, but old and pretty small.

Food is really, really good. It's pricey for room service, but where isn't? You really get your money's worth because they give you a lot. We had turkey clubs, fries, wings and pizza during our stays. Everything was awesome! Breakfast is pretty good, not out of this world. But good for $12 or so.

We were greeted with a USA Today newspaper in the morning.

I would definitely stay here versus a regular 2 or 3 star hotel. This place isn't a 4 or 5, but very deserving of their 3.5 stars. You get the feeling of a little bit of luxury for your price.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blt3116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbus
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Columbus N - I-270 Worthington
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Suites Columbus
Sheraton Suites Columbus
#45 of 143 in Columbus
575 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Worthington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Columbus Worthington
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn North
Comfort Inn North
#76 of 143 in Columbus
320 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbus/Worthington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Columbus North-Worthington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Columbus North-Worthington

Property: Crowne Plaza Columbus North-Worthington
Address: 6500 Doubletree Ave, Columbus, OH 43229-1111 (Formerly Marriott North)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Columbus North-Worthington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Columbus North provides all of the amenities needed to ensure that your stay is perfect including more than 60 HDTV channels, wired and wireless high-speed Internet, all new Precor fitness center as well as a 24-hour business center. We are located north of Columbus and complimentary shuttle service is available to any location within a 4 mile radius. We are within a few miles of Polaris Fashion Mall, Easton Town Center and Tuttle Mall. I-71 is easily accessible to visit the Ohio Expo Center & State Fairgrounds (Ohio State Fair) and Columbus Crew Stadium. We are close to The Ohio State University, home of the Buckeyes and the Horseshoe (OSU Football Stadium) as well as the Jerome Schottenstein Center. Additional nearby attractions include golf at Muirfield Village Golf Club, home of the PGA Memorial Golf Tournament, the Columbus Zoo, Franklin Park Conservatory and COSI. With over 20,000 square feet of meeting space, the Crowne Plaza Columbus North can accommodate large groups up to 1,000 people. We'll make your weddings, conference or banquet memorable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Columbus North-Worthington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Columbus North Hotel Columbus
Columbus Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Columbus North-Worthington Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing