We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No time for breakfast” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square
Ranked #60 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No time for breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2011

Our hotel room was fine and check-in efficient. Fair price. Friendly staff in the bar during the evening. However, when it came to breakfast, it was another story. First of all, it was surprising that during the work week, they did not have a breakfast buffet. There was a bar and setup but they were not using it. We waited along with another couple for 10 minutes to be seated by a hotel manager. We then sat there for 20 minutes without anyone offering us anything. The other couple seated at the same time got served right away. We looked at the menu and were ready to order but no one came. There was even another couple seated after us (right next to our table), who were waited on immediately. We thought someone would help but not one of the wait staff even looked at us. It was like we were invisible. The restaurant was really not that busy. Needing to meet an appointment at 10 AM, we left at 9:40 without anyone noticing and found a Starbucks.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Serious4GoodService
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    96
    74
    39
    31
See reviews for
55
52
25
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, OH, USA
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

- heard every word on the TV next door (walls must be paper-thin)
- hair in bathtub from previous guest
- hair on hair dryer handle
- appears they allow anyone off the street to just hang out in the lobby
- appears to be only 1 available electrical outlet in entire room
- old box TV

Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank OhioTravel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tottenham, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

I will keep this short! Hotel is a bit out dated and is not the nicest Holiday Inn I have stayed in but its still much better then a lot of places out there! Its located in a great location, walking distance from Nationwide Arena, the Brewery District and German Village in Downtown Columbus. The hotel staff were very friendy always willing to help with directions.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robrende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

We were booked here for two nights and had to check out first thing in the morning after the first night and switch to a different hotel. This hotel is just plain OLD and not kept up very well. Corners of rooms were dirty and dusty, wallpaper was peeling, fixtures in bathroom sink were cracked, only inspected the shower enough to decide that I would wait to take a shower at the next hotel. There was dried ketchup on the door handle and the guest services book was full of food crumbs that fell into the bed when I opened it. I was expecting the 2 double beds to be small but they were also very uncomfortable. The swimming pool did look okay but we never made it there. I really wish I had not spent my money here for even one night.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddnikka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2011

King bed, non smoking room was spacious. Room was clean and wireless internet was fast. Internet signal was very strong and was even able to watch Netflix through it. Exercise room had multiple treadmills, exercise bike, elliptical, Nautilus, and free weights up to 40 lbs. The equipment was well maintained and was LifeFitness brand, which is commercial workout facility quality. The pool, while a litte small, was adequate and the chlorine levels were spot on. I also had dinner at the restaurant downstairs and they had a nice selection and food was pretty good. One side note that was not listed on our travel site...parking is $10 per night at the hotel which wasn't a problem but I wish I knew ahead of time.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hoosierdad1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

I got a room at this hotel for 55.00 for New Year's Eve through Priceline. The staff was wonderful. They were very accomodating. They had two shuttles running from 6pm-3am and they would take you and pick you up wherever you needed to go. It was great. Would def. stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brittany2325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, Ohio
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

I stayed at the Holiday Inn with my sister for a wedding we were attending two blocks away. We were shuttled to and from the wedding for free, which was great, but had to pay $10 to park at the hotel! The room was clean, but we woke up to no hot water. After calling the front desk, they informed me the hot water would be ready in 5 minutes. I waited 20 minutes, just to be sure and still had a cold shower. I informed the front desk of this when checking out and was offered free parking, which I was thankful for, but I do not believe that was enough for having a cold shower!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank porge69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
#42 of 143 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Westin Columbus
The Westin Columbus
#61 of 143 in Columbus
3.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square

Property: Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square
Address: 175 E Town St, Columbus, OH 43215-4609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that downtown Columbus has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capitol Square. You are at the heart of everything; shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. You are within a short distance of German Village, Short North Arts District, The Arena District, the Greater Columbus Convention Center, Nationwide Arena, home of the Columbus Blue Jackets, and the new Huntington Park, home of the Columbus Clippers. We offer a complimentary airport shuttle to get you back and forth to Port Columbus International Airport, just 8 miles away. The Capital building, Federal building, Grant Hospital, Children's Hospital, and Nationwide are all less than five minutes away. The hotel is ideally situated whether you are traveling on business or pleasure. The professional and friendly staff of this Columbus hotel is waiting to make your stay away from home as comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square Hotel Columbus
Columbus Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing