We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alright, but a few issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Columbus Dwtn-Capitol Square
Ranked #63 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Alright, but a few issues”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Overall, the room was nice and the service was good enough. The hotel is in what could be a good location, but it seems that virtually everything closes early. I couldn't find a place to eat outside of the hotel that was open after 8pm within walking distance of the hotel. This may be a function of Columbus as much as this hotel, but I picked a central, downtown hotel because I could walk to things. I just didn't expect everything to be closed.

When checkin in I was given a coupon for a discount for food which was nice. I tried to use it for breakfast since I had to leave early for work in the area. There were two couples already eating when I came down, but I couldn't find any employees in the restaurant. I waited for a bit at the "please wait to be seated" sign, and then just wandered the fairly small restaurant to see if I could find someone. Nope. No one. After a few more minutes I gave up and ate on the road. This reduced the value of the coupons fairly substantially in my mind and, sadly, my overall experience with them.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    98
    76
    41
    32
See reviews for
58
54
26
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Rooms were clean. Had breakfast buffet in the am, was your normal breakfast, good but simple. Walking distance to the park in downtown columbus. Pool in hotel was clean. Good parking. Hotel was clean. Housekeepers and front desk staff were friendly.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazyirish50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
139 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

I read the reviews....old but clean...paper thin walls....grumpy people....but our CLC rate of 50 bucks drop me there. All of the above is true.......I got a call in my room at 11:30 pm because when I checked in they didn't take a card number from me. Our CLC card pays for the room but not food,beer,movies etc... Do you have to call a guy at 11:30 and wake him up??? I don't know that I would ever stay again. I am a light sleeper and was woke up by many sounds including someone fooling around next door....

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skidoo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We were in Columbus for an educational conference....we booked at the last minute so we we a little off the beaten path but the hotel was great...I so enjoyed the pool at the end of the day...the ease for our group to meet in the lobby and do plan Ning...nice place!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeeprs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stayed there when we visited for a Blue Jackets / Red Wings game. It is a basic hotel at a decent price, which was clean and had good service. Not a luxurious hotel, but was a decent place to stay downtown. The location was about a mile or so from the hockey arena and we wound up walking back after the game. The hotel bar is nice and the bartender was very personable and gave some great advice on area restaurants.

Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RobAndKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2011

I dont understand why people are posting poor reviews of this hotel, I stayed here the last week of July and had an EXCELLENT stay. If you ask questions to the staff they are more than willing to go out if their way to help you.
The people that work in the mornings generally seem overwhelmed, but the evening staff is excellent, always going above and beyond what I would expect for a holiday inn.
Only complaint I have would be, wish they had flat screen tvs in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caralane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

I can just sum it all up by saying that we were told that a HOLD of $221 would be placed on out credit card to be released when we checked out. I get home and check our account online and find that they actually held $965 which caused us to overdraft. When we called them to work it out their response was, "Sorry you were told that....you will get your money in 7-10 business days". WHAT? So what are we supposed to do in the meantime? Keep over-drafting? Our bank worked it out eventually but it was such a hassle. Hotel was NO help. We will never stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank apace0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
#44 of 143 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Columbus
The Westin Columbus
#62 of 143 in Columbus
3.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#91 of 143 in Columbus
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Columbus Dwtn-Capitol Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Columbus Dwtn-Capitol Square

Property: Holiday Inn Columbus Dwtn-Capitol Square
Address: 175 E Town St, Columbus, OH 43215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Columbus Dwtn-Capitol Square 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that downtown Columbus has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capitol Square. You are at the heart of everything; shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. You are within a short distance of German Village, Short North Arts District, The Arena District, the Greater Columbus Convention Center, Nationwide Arena, home of the Columbus Blue Jackets, and the new Huntington Park, home of the Columbus Clippers. We offer a complimentary airport shuttle to get you back and forth to John Glenn International Airport, just 8 miles away. The Capital building, Federal building, Grant Hospital, Children's Hospital, and Nationwide are all less than five minutes away. The hotel is ideally situated whether you are traveling on business or pleasure. The professional and friendly staff of this Columbus hotel is waiting to make your stay away from home as comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Columbus Dwtn-Capitol Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square Hotel Columbus
Columbus Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Columbus Dwtn-Capitol Square Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing