We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel all around” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Columbus Dwtn-Capitol Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Columbus Dwtn-Capitol Square
Ranked #59 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
338 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
“Nice hotel all around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2010

Stayed here over labor day weekend so we could go to a Clippers game. Was only about a 10-15 minute walk to the ballpark. The hotel was nice, the staff was nice, nothing really to complain about. Only drawback i can think of is they try to get $10 to park so we just used meters out front (but had to wake up at 8 AM to feed the meter). Breakfast isnt included but looked good. The rooms are clean and nice. Would stay here again.

G Man

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GMan5431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    96
    74
    39
    31
See reviews for
55
52
25
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lorain, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

Hotel staff was very nice and Hotel was clean and comfortable. Everyone we came in contact with was very friendly and helpful . My teen daughter and I came to Columbus area for a show at the Ohio theather... The Hotel shuttled us to the venue and picked us up after the performance... I only have good things to say about this Hotel and if in the area again will stay there.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sborbas43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point Pleasant, West Virginia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2010

Ok, Im an IHG employee so we own the Holiday Inn name brand and I've stayed at this hotel before with no complaints, but this time was different. I made the reservation two days prior to going to columbus and knew I would be a late arrival, so I called the hotel directly and told the night desk clerk NOT to cancel my reservation that I would be late and he said he would pass on the Info. I wanted a two queen NON smoking room which 1-800-holiday told me I booked. This, however, was not the case upon arrival. The somewhat rude night auditor told me that all they had left was a double smoking room. This tells me that my original reservation was canceled. We excepted the changes and went to the room where we found the hotel to be very out dated. Im going to say that for a full service holiday inn. the holiday inn puts them to shame!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UMBtitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raceland, ky 41169
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2010

I booked a room at this hotel for the weekend of July 4th for the convenience of getting to the fireworks. When I made the reservation...I was told that there would be a shuttle to take us to the fireworks.. and that he hotel was only 2 blocks from where they were letting off the fireworks....I was told that it was a non smoking hotel..Upon arrival...a couple in front of me asked for a smoking room...and they had one available for them...however when I called, I was told I was renting the last room they had available..I also needed to book a second room...We had another group coming(making our total 6) my friends had to move their reservation from the other hotel to be in the same hotel as us...there was not a shuttle available and the fireworks were a mile away(we had small children). I asked when they were serving breakfast...I was told it ended at 9:00(via whom I made reservation with)...at the desk was told 10:00 and there was a sign that said 11:00...total confusion. At 4 am Sat...they was an emergency alarm that sounded telling us to evacuate the building by the stairwell and do not use the elevators....there are 12 floors of people going down stairs into parking lot in pajamas...no one ever came out to tell us it was okay to re-enter...I will never stay there again. Period.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angel_fairchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

I was a little nervous about booking this hotel. I had read the reviews before I booked and with some reviews being not so good made me very uneasy. We checked in the staff was very courteous and nice. The room was great very clean! Later that evening my sister and I had coffee, and dessert in the hotel restaurant again the staff was great and the cake was wonderful. My kids used the pool and said it was very warm and clean they had a good time. The beds and the pillows were very comfortable we slept wonderfully! When we checked out the staff was very nice, I expected to have to pay the $10.00 parking fee, but to my surprise the front desk told me i didn't have to!! I would definitly book a room in this hotel again!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank columbusfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
409 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 377 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2010

This hotel is located in downtown Columbus within easy walking distance of all restaurants and nightlife. The public areas are pleasant and the rooms are fine. Breakfast was not included in the price and we chose to eat out. We stayed over the 4th July holidays and came back to find our room uncleaned and with the beds left unmade. I complained to the receptionist and received that night free. For the price you cannot beat the location and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelpassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2010

Our team stayed here for a tournament at the convention center. The website advertises a free shuttle to the convention center. Upon arrival we found out it's an airport shuttle and is only available if no one needs it for an airport run-not very dependable transportation. When we checked in, we were given a room that was already occupied-to the surprise of the guest already in the room. When we got to the 2nd room assignment, there was an empty water bottle on the floor so that brought a question to mind as to the cleanliness of the room. The room outlet plugs did not work. We had to prop up our cell phone plugs with sample lotion and shampoo bottles so they would stay in the outlets. Shower pressure was terrible and we couldn't get hot water in the sink tap. Our team was also told breakfast was served at 6am. We had to be at the convention center at 7am, so many members of our team went down at 6:15am for breakfast only to be told that it was served at 7am. The front desk apologized and gave the girls a bag with a bottle of water and a bag of potato chips instead-breakfast of champions! At checkout, I expressed our concerns to the manager and she took one night stay off which I appreciated. However, I would not stay at this hotel in the future. It looks like it's been updated aesthetically, but not in the areas where it needs (plumbing and electrical).

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vballmomcincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
#43 of 143 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Westin Columbus
The Westin Columbus
#58 of 143 in Columbus
3.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Columbus Dwtn-Capitol Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Columbus Dwtn-Capitol Square

Property: Holiday Inn Columbus Dwtn-Capitol Square
Address: 175 E Town St, Columbus, OH 43215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Columbus Dwtn-Capitol Square 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that downtown Columbus has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capitol Square. You are at the heart of everything; shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. You are within a short distance of German Village, Short North Arts District, The Arena District, the Greater Columbus Convention Center, Nationwide Arena, home of the Columbus Blue Jackets, and the new Huntington Park, home of the Columbus Clippers. We offer a complimentary airport shuttle to get you back and forth to John Glenn International Airport, just 8 miles away. The Capital building, Federal building, Grant Hospital, Children's Hospital, and Nationwide are all less than five minutes away. The hotel is ideally situated whether you are traveling on business or pleasure. The professional and friendly staff of this Columbus hotel is waiting to make your stay away from home as comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Columbus Dwtn-Capitol Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square Hotel Columbus
Columbus Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Columbus Dwtn-Capitol Square Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing