We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We got our money's worth.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Columbus West
Ranked #82 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Sharon, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“We got our money's worth.”
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel for five nights this summer. We knew that it was a budget hotel and didn't expect much due to the reasonable price. We were very pleasantly surprised. The upgraded room was very large, and the work space gave us plenty of room to spread out our food when we decided to eat in for breakfast. Having a small refrigerator was a great benefit, although we would also have appreciated a freezer. The ice machine wasn't working, so the staff got a cooler filled with ice for folks to use each day. The room was clean and well lit. We also appreciated having a sink outside of the bathroom. We plan to go to this inn again the next time we go to Columbus to visit our daughter and son-in-law.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbugsharon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    39
    21
    8
    9
See reviews for
36
27
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Just got back from one night at the Red Roof Inn Columbus West. I was traveling with 6 other women attending a women's conference. I chose this hotel because of it's reviews and was not disappointed! It was very clean and the price was great! The location was easy to get to and in a nice area with lots of eateries and shopping near by.

This not a high frills place so if that is what you're looking for you'll not find it. I didn't love the pillows; one very flat and one way too soft but for one night they were manageable. Usually if I'm staying more than one night I take my own pillow anyway. There are not any ironing boards, irons or hair dryers in the room but are available at the front desk if desired. No microwave or mini fridge in room either. But again, for one night and for a CLEAN hotel, I'm ok with it. I take those items in rooms for granted so it didn't even occur to me they wouldn't be there.

I would definitely stay here again. Did I mention it was clean? :o)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AbbyandAidansmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We were booked into a King, Superior room for 3 nights, arriving 8/6/11. The front desk was extremely dysfunctional. The woman checking people in seemed distracted, and maids kept coming to the desk with bins of dirty laundry and asking questions about scheduling. I called the hotel before we left home and the woman told me they would block a room at the rear of the hotel, away from the highway, to minimize noise since the rooms open to the outside and the parking lot. Check in time is 1 PM, but at 3 PM when we arrived, they were in no way ready to accept new guests. The room that was supposedly blocked for us was not available, and the only room offered was right next to the "lobby" - which is really just a small room with a counter - and facing the highway. Not what we wanted, and certainly not what we had been assured we would have. After looking at room 101, I returned to the front desk and cancelled our reservation. Even though it was late in the afternoon, it was raining, and we had no fall back position, there was NO way we were going to stay there. It is, quite frankly, a dump, and although we were looking for a budget hotel, we weren't that desperate. Stay away.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adele K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

This hotel was nothing to write home about. It was convenient to the freeway and to food but was just average. I am tall and the beds are very low to the ground. It seemed to be clean until I found a rice chex next to the safe that is in the room. Other than that, it was jsut average.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnee, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We only stayed one night at the West Hilliard Red Roof but it was great. Very good location. Very clean and the staff was helpful and friendly. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DSSShawnee_Kansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Stayed here for one night just passing through Columbus. The room was clean and smelled fine, and the parking area felt very safe. As with any place where the room doors open directly to the outside, noise can be a problem. I had one noisy group of people getting back to their room at 4 in the morning wake me up, but other than that I had a restful sleep. The area is very commercial, and you will find pretty much every store or restaurant you can think of within walking distance. The hotel is also right next to the Perkins, so grabbing a quick breakfast there and heading out was a nice way to start the day.

Room Tip: Doesn't seem to be any huge difference from one room to the next.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We stayed here for an OSU graduation. It is about 8 miles from OSU but the drive is easy and fast. It was close to the interstate so I was afraid of noise but that was not an issue.

Check in and check out were fast, friendly, and efficient. Very clean.

We left clothes in the room and the clerk went to verify that they were there and had a mailing service handle the return.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wbk215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.3 mi away
Motel 6 Columbus West
Motel 6 Columbus West
#71 of 143 in Columbus
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbus West Hilliard
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbus West - Hilliard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Columbus West
Super 8 Columbus West
#81 of 143 in Columbus
261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Columbus-Hilliard
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Columbus West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Columbus West

Property: Red Roof Inn Columbus West
Address: 5001 Renner Rd, Columbus, OH 43228-9358
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Columbus West 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you check in, check out the fantastic new amenities in our 100% non-smoking renovated rooms! The rooms at this non-smoking hotel feature a stylish design with spa-inspired bathrooms that have modern vessel sinks and rain flow shower heads. Our new rooms also offer granite counter tops, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, HD flat-screen TV, a USB charging station, and alarm clocks. This hotel offers free WiFi, microwave & refrigerator, iron & ironing board, hairdryer, and coffee-maker in all rooms. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. Located just 9.5 miles west from downtown Columbus and the Arena District, and 4 miles from downtown Hilliard, Red Roof Columbus-Hilliard is 100% smoke free, and conveniently located off of I-70 and is near many restaurants, shopping, and movie theaters. Located near the Franklin County Fairgrounds, German Village and The Ohio State University are just a short drive to the east. Also close by is Riverside Hospital, Doctors West, Nationwide Children's Hospital, Ohio Expo Center, and much more. The hotel is only 2.7 miles from Hollywood Casino! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn Columbus West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Columbus West Ohio
Columbus Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing