We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the worst experiences in my life”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Columbus West
Ranked #81 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the worst experiences in my life”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I was charged twice of my room and proved it on multiple occasions to the front desk and Red Roof in Corporate and they have done nothing. Hotel was lousy and had dirty rooms, AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!!!!

Room Tip: Stay anywhere else than here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    39
    21
    8
    9
See reviews for
36
27
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wiehle, VA
Level 6 Contributor
458 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

... and it shows!

This review started out as a 4-star. Until I noticed trash in the landings from the previous evening still there the following evening. And, on my second evening, when I killed a roach that was crawling up one of the walls in my room (#207). Were a 1/2 star available, this would've been a 1 1/2 star review, The front desk staff is the only redeeming feature about this place.

The carpeting is worn and needs replacement. Also, my non-smoking room reeked of cigarette smoke.

The sleep quality was OK. However, the front desk service was excellent. I had several problems crop-up and they cheerfully and quickly helped me.

Pity that having a property to be proud of seems to always jack-up the cost. However, this place needs a lot of help.

Also, this was the first Red Roof Inn I've stayed at in all my years of travel. It might also be my last. I think this place has a future for it as yet another "Knights Inn" or "America's Best Value Inn"...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This is the BEST Red Roof I've ever stayed in. Super clean! Nice staff! Pleasant all around!! Our Housekeeper "Monica" had a wonderful sense of "attention to detail". Jeff at the front desk was extremely pleasant and helpful. I choose Red Roof due to the Redi-Card points and because they have so many locations in areas that I frequent. This location is by far the best!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaviGM, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Columbus West, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for the kind words, i will share this with Monica and Jeff and reward them for their excellent service. We are glad to hear you had a great stay. Thank You!

Ravi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point Pleasant
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We were in Columbus to eat and shop with no intention of spending any extra time in the room. Wanted something reasonable and clean. This property was just fine for our needs. Room was little musty when entered but shortly after fan on was fine. Seemed clean but as most older hotels bath slightly dated but knew what we were buying. Little conversation with desk except internet information that worked fine. Property was well lit so did not feel security an issue. Would have no problem staying there again if wanted to be on that side of Columbus.

Room Tip: Had room on first floor but did not notice undue noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaviGM, Manager at Red Roof Inn Columbus West, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hey Annette,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, we appreciate it greatly. I'll make sure to let my team know to leave the fans running, now that it's getting warm out. So this does not happen in the Rooms. Thank you so much for your comments.

Ravi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Every time I'm in the area for work, I usually stay at this Red Roof Inn because it has always been clean and it was very affordable. Well, on this most recent visit, the rooms were updated with new paint, new lcd tv, and slightly different layout. Even though it's close to the expressway, I have never had issues with noise. The mini fridge worked great and the microwave was clean inside. There's no shortage of eats, shopping, supermarkets in the area so I find it an ideal location because my trips usually last for at least a few days.
One thing I did notice was the floor wasn't vacuumed very well when the maid had made the room. Hopefully it was a one time incident and not a common occurrence. Regardless, I won't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koovany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaviGM, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Columbus West, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed you stay and thank you for letting us know about the floors, i will make sure to have a meeting with my team to see how we can fix this, so it does not happen in the future.

Thanks You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I stayed at the hotel a total of 4 nights. I was VERY satisfied with my experience. In addition to being extra clean, the fresh updates, new fixtures, new refrigerator, and new micro wave made my stay so much more enjoyable and healthy. There is a Meijer, Walmart, and many placed to eat within reasonable walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumberland, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We were very happy with all aspects of our stay here. The rooms appear to be completely refurbished. Very VERY clean. Extremely helpful and pleasant staff. Close to too many restaurants to count. My wife said the bed was the most comfortable she'd been in. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FredJulien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.3 mi away
Motel 6 Columbus West
Motel 6 Columbus West
#70 of 143 in Columbus
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbus West Hilliard
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Columbus West
Super 8 Columbus West
#82 of 143 in Columbus
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbus West - Hilliard
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Columbus-Hilliard
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbus West
Hampton Inn Columbus West
#20 of 143 in Columbus
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Columbus West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Columbus West

Property: Red Roof Inn Columbus West
Address: 5001 Renner Rd, Columbus, OH 43228-9358
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Columbus West 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you check in, check out the fantastic new amenities in our 100% non-smoking renovated rooms! The rooms at this non-smoking hotel feature a stylish design with spa-inspired bathrooms that have modern vessel sinks and rain flow shower heads. Our new rooms also offer granite counter tops, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, HD flat-screen TV, a USB charging station, and alarm clocks. This hotel offers free WiFi, microwave & refrigerator, iron & ironing board, hairdryer, and coffee-maker in all rooms. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. Located just 9.5 miles west from downtown Columbus and the Arena District, and 4 miles from downtown Hilliard, Red Roof Columbus-Hilliard is 100% smoke free, and conveniently located off of I-70 and is near many restaurants, shopping, and movie theaters. Located near the Franklin County Fairgrounds, German Village and The Ohio State University are just a short drive to the east. Also close by is Riverside Hospital, Doctors West, Nationwide Children's Hospital, Ohio Expo Center, and much more. The hotel is only 2.7 miles from Hollywood Casino! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Red Roof Inn, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn Columbus West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Columbus West Ohio
Columbus Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing