We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent motel, I would stay there again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University
Ranked #32 of 145 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2011

This motel is not bad. Just your typical motel. The rooms were clean and smelled good (especially considering it is a pet friendly motel). I liked that there was not a pet fee. The internet was horrible. I had to use my phone as a modem the whole weekend. The cable channels suck too. There are not many channels and not hardly any of the major cable channels in the ones they do have. The beds were pretty comfortable and the motel is close to restaurants, OSU campus and shopping. It was very convenient for the event we were attending and I would stay there again if we had to go back to the area for an event. Just don't expect anything fancy.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are easier if you have a lot of luggage or want to be able to park right by your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crs7298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

276 - 282 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2011

Not fancy but close to major activities. Rooms average and clean,basic economy hotel with nothing special. Courteous staff that was a plus and they were there for any needs. Non-smoking room smelled like it was not always a non-smoking room but was clean.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

In covering the 2011 Big Ten Tournament in Columbus, Ohio, I had the opportunity to stay at the Red Roof Inn on the campus of Ohio State University. It was an enjoyable stay and I have no real complaints about the hotel. Despite being skeptical of the value Red Roof Inn chain, the hotel actually was decent. Both of the beds in the room were clean and made for a decent night of sleep. The bathroom was fairly small but was large enough to do what a traveler needs to do. The room has free high-speed internet, allowing travelers to get work done in the room. The hotel is close to the highway to get to downtown Columbus and also is located near several restaurants with convenient hours for most people. Overall, the stay was decent and I would stay again if I had to.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DillonDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

where to begin. ok lets start with the first room they gave us the room was way beyond nastythe floors were very dirty and the toilet had crap in it yes i mean human crap. I figured i would just flush it and it would be ok well that didn't work the toilet almost overflowed and it stunk so bad, so we got moved to another room the draw was broken and the a/c had ice on it. I called the front desk the guy came up and looked at it and said we will credit you $10.00 and give you another room. the 3rd room was ok if u like Pizza Hut wings, pasta and pizz under your bed dated 7/1/11. where they had patched a hole before it was cracking really bad and the chips was falling on the floor. I was told i would be credited another $10 bucks to my card may stay was July 5 2011. i STILL HAVE YET TO GET MY MONEY THEY PROMISED!!!!!! This place is more for College kids OR people who don't care about clean rooms. P.S I use to work in house keeping and if my girls ever left a room that dirty they would be wrote up and made to go back and clean it. I have won the White glove award 4 times for how clean my rooms were no dust not dust not trash.

Room Tip: go futher North for better rooms such as near the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank justtammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

The location of this motel is convenient for events at Ohio State University. Otherwise, there is little to recommend it, except the reasonable price. Service was adequate, though no one went out of their way much. The room amenities were the bare essentials judging by today's standards. I had to ask for soap on the second morning, as none was left. The room had a very musty smell, perhaps because previous patrons had smoked in it, or maybe from some other source. When I noted this to the clerk at the desk, she said that the staff would spray the room to overlay the place with a good smell. No change was noted by us on our return, which may be just as well since it might not have been all that advisable to breath in whatever would have been sprayed. When we returned home, we had to run out clothing through the laundry to eradicate the smell. Of course, a motel can't monitor guests to make sure they don't smoke, and this problem is not all their fault. But such was the case for us, anyway. Other rooms are probably free of the smell.
All in all, this is an uninteresting place that could be of use in a pinch. But I'd try for something else before booking here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

From the time we arrived on the property, our experience was wonderful! Our first personal contact was with the desk clerk named James whose treatment of us was gracious, helpful, and enthusiastic (at 1:00 in the morning after a 12 hour drive). Monica kept our room in order, even bringing us warm towels right out of the dryer. Our room was excellent, exceeding our expectations. Other staff members were always so friendly and willing to help. We were pleased to meet the general manager, Ken, who was professional and personable. We felt like he truly appreciated our being there.

Room Tip: Easily accessible to downtown sites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PartyNan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

I didn't have alot of extra money so we had to go with a more economically priced hotel. I couldn't believe how nice the people were that worked there! If we had any needs what so ever we just asked and with in a few minutes we had someone at our door! I expected to have to run around or call a few times at least wait a 1/2 hour but that was not the case at all. I was very pleased and the family that was with me (who are hard to please) were very pleased as well. I will be going there again next year! Loved the price and the service, beds were very comfortable and the room was very clean and the hotel was near everything. Also when we had to cut our trip a day early we got a prompt refund and a great attitude from the clerk she didn't make me feel bad at all ....Wonderful experiance for some really exhausted people!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baginja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus OSU
1.9 mi away
Varsity Inn
Varsity Inn
#108 of 145 in Columbus
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU
7.4 mi away
Best Western Suites
Best Western Suites
#22 of 145 in Columbus
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University

Address: 441 Ackerman Road, Columbus, OH 43202-1569
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Columbus
#14 Family Hotel in Columbus
#14 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range: £48 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Columbus Ohio State University Hotel Columbus
Columbus Red Roof Inn
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing