We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good bargain and a a decent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Airport Columbus East
Ranked #122 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Good bargain and a a decent hotel”
Reviewed 14 August 2008

This hotel is now called the "Columbus Gatehouse Inn"

For the money, it was a great deal! It's near the airport and we just needed a place for one night.. big room with kitchen, fold out couch and hot breakfast for $63 how can you beat that deal?

Breakfast was good with eggs, pancakes, sausage, hot oatmeal, danishes, yogurt, waffle maker etc...

Can't go wrong here.. yes, it's dated, but a true value!

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank FunTrvlCpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    78
    102
    116
    179
See reviews for
228
103
47
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vermilion, Ohio
Level Contributor
220 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2008

We often stay at Residence Inns because we enjoy the breakfasts, spacious rooms and Jameson mattresses (we even went to North Carolina to buy one after sleeping on one several times at other Residence Inns). Planning to spend the weekend shopping between Jeffersonville one day and Easton the next, I looked for a hotel on the south side of town or at Easton. Easton hotels were very pricey this time of year so I booked The Southeast Residence Inn through Expedia for about
$70 a night with a coupon. Our room was spacious and clean with a full
kitchen and pull out couch but not the suite we were used to at other RIs. It did have a fireplace and the front desk provided a firelog on request. The mattress was comfortable but not Jameson. Breakfast was great and the staff friendly at the front desk and at breakfast. While
not in the best part of town, I felt the hotel was safe, secure and well lit. Other Residence Inns are nicer but this did suit our needs and was very reasonable.

  • Liked — Fireplace!
  • Disliked — Big billboard of a radio station call letters across a tight white tshirt with no head out our window
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soontobeforty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2006

After a full day at The Ohio State University we ck'd in to warm,friendly staff. We were encouraged to go upstairs and enjoy dinner(Mon-Thurs) which is included in your stay. Or you can order from your room with menu provided,reasonable prices. The meals were very good during our two night stay, staff outstanding and nice relaxing atmosphere. Hot coffee and a variety of freshly baked cookies are in the gatehouse.

The suite was very nice and comfortable with a complete full kitchen and all amentities. We got a great rate. Breakfast buffet provided a wide variety of choices daily. We'll be back to stay again this fall. Outstanding staff and very caring manager! -- at 2084 South Hamilton Rd, Columbus, OHIO. Go Buckeyes! Go Residence Inn- Columbus Southeast! Worth the short drive from OSU!

Helpful?
4 Thank gswings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chile
Level Contributor
56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2005

My first impression when I checked in was the gates controlling entry into the hotel - this is the first time I've seen this on any residence inn and I can't remember the last time I saw such gates on a hotel in the USA. The surrounding areas appear pretty run down and this combined with the gates made me feel a little uneasy as to how safe this hotel was. When I checked in I tried to get an upstairs room and the girl on the desk just ignored this and gave me my room. After I stayed in the room for a while I went back to ask to be move to an upstairs room - I waited patiently for about 15 minutes whilst they served other people, no problem, but then they told me they had just given away the last upstairs room. The manager spoke to me and promised he would see what he could do and I think he was sincere but I just felt the place was a bit disorganised compared to other residence inns I have stayed at.

The room was clean, it is generally a quiet hotel but like all residence inns the sound proofing between rooms leaves something to be desired.

I was paying $159 for one bedroom which I thought was a bit expensive for what you get.

I doubt I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2001, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank munizaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2005

Let's just start by saying that I love Residence Inn sites. I have 6 kids and this is the best deal for what we need. I really didn't care for this site. I didn't particularly feel safe, because the first impression is that you are entering a gated facilty. The staff was nice! I got in late and had to give the kids a bath and the bathtub was dirty. Ring around the tub.. Yuck. I called and they came and cleaned it immediatley. We also had a few problems with the bedding and getting a fan to work. Besides that it was an okay experience. The front desk person took 1/2 off our bill w/o me asking and brought all of the kids candy. What more could she do or what more could I ask for?? Would I stay there again? No.. The area doesn't work for me!

Helpful?
4 Thank sunflower2499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbus
12.6 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbus Hamilton
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites East
Comfort Suites East
#95 of 143 in Columbus
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus West
2.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Columbus - East
4.5 mi away
Best Western Executive Suites - Columbus East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Airport Columbus East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Airport Columbus East

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Airport Columbus East
Address: 2084 S Hamilton Rd, Columbus, OH 43232-4302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Airport Columbus East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having completed a renovation in Feb 2017, the Hawthorn Suites Airport Columbus East offers 80 suites with full kitchens, sundry shop with cold and frozen items, business center, fitness center, coin laundry, outdoor pool and a sports court. The property is gated and fenced and security guards are present on weekends for guest security & comfort. Rooms range between 550 to 840 square feet with either queen or king beds and all rooms offer pull out sofa beds as well. The property is only 6 miles from downtown, 4 miles from Nationwide Children's Hospital and 4 miles from Port Columbus Airport (CMH). The Hawthorn Suites offers free hot breakfast daily from 6:30 AM to 9:30AM. Airport shuttle is provided same day with 6 hour notice to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Airport Columbus East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Airport Columbus East Hotel Columbus
Columbus Gatehouse Hotel
Residence Inn Columbus
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Airport Columbus East Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing