We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Hotel Akron/Fairlawn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Akron/Fairlawn
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Copley
GreenLeadersGold level
Earth
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

We came to Akron on a business trip and decided to stay at this hotel. It was awesome! The newly renovated pool and fitness center couldn't be better. The workout equipment was above and beyond, brand new equipment including treadmills, ellipticals, a bike, and an interchangeable weight machine. The pool was clean and refreshing; The hot tub was so nice, jets were powerful and the temperature wasn't unbearable. Decent sized breakfast buffet in the morning with quite a few vegetarian options and the room was excellent. Clean, spacious, and the bed was extremely comfortable, I had trouble getting out of bed in the morning. The location was great, in walking distance to several options of restaurants including Tres Portillas, an excellent Mexican Restaurant and Wasabi, the best most exciting Japanese steak house I have ever been too. Even Burger king, Outback, Steak on a Stone, and TGIFridays was just a short stroll away. Better yet, there were so many shopping and other restaurant options less than a mile down the road. I loved walking around at night by the hotel, you could see the whole city and the lights were beautiful. On top of all that, the employees were AMAZING! Everyone was so extremely nice. The bartender Aaron was a great guy, very kind and generous. The waitress for breakfast (I forget here name) was so sweet and very warm-hearted. She made me feel very comfortable and she was very attentive. The Indian women at the front desk (I also forget her name, my apologies) was excellent. She was prompt, kind, and always greeted me with a smile and a kind hello. She went above and beyond to make our stay the best it could be, she was just awesome. One thing is for sure, I would no doubt, stay here again and again and on any trips back to this area whether it was business or pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MonkeySmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    73
    38
    23
    13
See reviews for
94
33
19
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

We were visiting family in the Akron area for a couple days and the online rate available for the Radisson Inn Akron/Fairlawn was at least $20/night better than "comparable" lodging (Courtyard, Hampton Inn, etc.) facilities so we went for it. Our arrival went well (we had requested a disabled room) and we were escorted to our room (our escort refused the tip I offered him, saying it was his pleasure). The room was nicely furnished (again at the mid-grade level), the heat and shower worked well, and we had no problems or complications during our stay. All and all, it was a pleasant, uneventful stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan_and_Mike93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

I brought my family of five to this hotel for three nights last week. We usually stay inside the areas of Millersburg and Berlin when we visit Amish Country, however, we also wanted to visit a couple of amish towns inside the Pennsylvania border, so this location was perfect for us.
I was greeted and checked in by a very friendly and efficient man named Kelly. I can't enough nice things about him... just over the top, helpful.
The room was very nice! Great beds! We also had a nice, small sleeper sofa in the room. (good for 1 adult or two small children)Roomy, nice decor and very clean. Large bathroom. The interior of the hotel, itself, is very tastefully decorated, looks brand new. Breakfast is buffet style for around $9/person at the hotel restaurant
As far as the cons... none of which would stop me from staying here again, by the way. We had asked for a room near an exit, so we were assigned a room in the back. Our card key only worked on the first night. This is the outside door that lets us inside the building, so my husband had to run to the next entrance door and go thru to open the door for us. We alerted a hotel staff nearby and he said he'd address the problem. It never did work for us. It worked for our room, but this particular outside door didn't recognize our card. I know they have recently gone thru renovations, and it may still be on-going, but the outside stairs to the building needs to be repainted. The pool was just ok. Water was clear but very green looking. Fresh paint on the walls looked good, lots of laundered towels neatly stacked on the shelf. The kids used the pool and had fun. We enjoyed the hot tub. The floor in the pool area is yellow with black swirls or something... I had to look close to see whether this was a cleanliness problem or a design in the tile. (It IS clean, but it makes you look twice before figuring that out.)

Overall, I thought the room was real nice, comfortable, clean and would describe the hotel interior as elegant.

Room Tip: It was nice and quiet in the back. (The entrance in the back has stairs, so if you have a disability...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nickie623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex County, NJ
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

Our visit to the Radisson Akron/Fairlawn was only a stopover on two different nights in the same week.. Early December is hardly a major tourist period, and we were nearly the only people in the hotel other than staff. The exercise room was being remodeled, so that was out of commission on the first nigt and technically the restaurant was closed as well This stay could have been a miserable experience given the unexpected problems. But the amazing staff made us feel like visiting royalty. They let us choose the room we wanted, then found someone to cook dinner and breakfast for us and promised that the gym would be ready upon our return. Sure enough, three nights later we walked in to be greeted by the manager who pointed out that the gym was ready and we had the same room we'd picked the first time with direct access to a patio, the gym, and the indoor pool. Under normal circumstances this would be a generally pleasant, mid-range hotel with a limited restaurant menu and rate probably three stars. But the staff makes this a four-star place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013 via mobile

This is an old hotel. The room furnishings are old and worn. The sleep number bed didn t work. The wallpaper is peeling. The bathrooms are outdated. The service was good. The location is very close to restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toptip1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
himansu205, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Akron/Fairlawn, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Dear toptip1000,

We are sorry that your stay at the Radisson did not meet your expectations. However, we are currently undergoing thorough renovations and updating every inch of the hotel. The entire exterior has already been completed and includes a brand new parking lot and painted walls. We are now working on renovating the whole interior, including all guest rooms, bathrooms, hallways, the lobby and restaurant. We will very soon have all new furniture in the rooms. Furthermore, every item in the rooms will be replaced as well, decorations. We expect the renovations to be completed by the end of the year. We hope you consider staying at the Radisson Akron/Fairlawn again after the updates are completed.



Sincerely,
General Manager
Radisson Akron/Fairlawn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City
Level Contributor
165 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

The front desk person when I checked in was very nice and welcoming, the room was very nice and warm on a cold evening (below 0 windchill). The restaurant in the morning buffet was nice as well. Only downside the evening restaurant service was less than ideal. I waited for a person to come and seat me and no one came. I noticed four ladies sitting down having a drink but no further service. I went to a restaurant down the street and when I got back the four ladies were still there.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

I stayed again at this Radisson last week ( Jan. 8th & 9th ). I was acknowledged being a carlson member and upgraded without even telling them I was. The staff , as always, was great! I feel so comfortable and welcome at this hotel. Looks like they updated the place again from the last visit, 3 months ago. I can never figure out why a guest would write a negative review about this hotel. I have never had a problem here and the staff couldn't be nicer and more helpful and the beds..... there is no description on how comfortable they are. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting in the area. I have business in Cleveland but always stay here because of the treatment I get. I know a good hotel when I see it.

Bob McGohan

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copley
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS West Akron Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Copley Akron
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Akron Fairlawn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Akron - Fairlawn
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Akron - Fairlawn
8.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cuyahoga Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Akron/Fairlawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Akron/Fairlawn

Property: Radisson Hotel Akron/Fairlawn
Address: 200 Montrose West Avenue, Copley, OH 44321
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Copley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Copley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Akron/Fairlawn 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Radisson Hotel Akron/Fairlawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Inn Akron/Fairlawn Hotel Akron
Radisson Hotel Akron Fairlawn
Radisson Akron
Akron Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing