We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Bereavement Rate, Loud Trains, No Email Response, No Platinum Upgrade”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Suites Akron Cuyahoga Falls
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cuyahoga Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We have stayed in many Sheraton locations, this Akron Cuyahoga Falls Sheraton falls short of what is expected from their room rate. This is the worst Sheraton we have stayed in.

Before booking online, we sent the hotel emails to the email address posted on their website inquiring about a bereavement rate. The hotel never responded, so we had to call the hotel from overseas. Unfortunately, Sheraton Akron does not offer a Bereavement Rate, they do offer stays with points, although the hotel's points rate is overpriced as well.

Our family flew in from overseas for a family emergency, we were put in a room on the 5th floor facing the loud, blaring trains. During the middle of the night the trains, most noticeably at 4AM began honking obnoxiously, continuously throughout the night. We were told that the trains must honk to alert the cars on the road. However, the streets in that area are deserted in the middle of the night.

When we requested a room change we were not offered a Platinum SPG upgrade, we were offered the room across the hallway, facing away from the trains. The side of the hotel without their "river" view is much quieter, allowing an exhausted, international guest to actually get some sleep.

The condition of the rooms was also surprising considering their room rate. Wall paper was peeling, we found hair stuck in the hair dryer from the previous guest, the bathroom fixtures are in desperate need of replacement, the furniture could be updated. Overall the entire hotel appeared dated. We were very surprised and disappointed.

Unfortunately, Sheraton Akron is the only SPG property in the area. The next time we are in town, we will not be staying here.

Room Tip: Stay here only if you are desperate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetravelart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey L, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Akron Cuyahoga Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

TravelMom, let me begin by thanking you for choosing the Sheraton Suites/Akron Cuyahoga Falls and for your loyalty as an SPG member. We do offer a bereavement rate, however, the discount is based upon availability and we regret that it was not available during your stay. Our SPG point redemption level has been set by corporate as a Category 3 so while we do offer SPG members the opportunity to redeem points for an overnight stay, we do not have control over how many points are required. By law, trains must sound their horn when passing through our city regardless of time of day, we apologize that the noise disturbed your stay but are pleased we were able to move you to an away facing room. We have passed along your comments to our Chief Engineer and Housekeeping Manager and they are disappointed in the way your room was presented to you. We always hope to provide a relaxing a restful experience for all of our guests, especially during their time of distress. If you wish to discuss this in detail, I welcome you to contact our Director of Guest Services, Elizabeth Straigis at (330) 929-3000 or estraigis@sheratonakron.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

The Hotel is a great place with some great views of the river. Food was good at the hotel restaurant and hotel service was great.
There is one down side to the hotel if you are on the Falls side. "The Trains" run all night across the freeway from the hotel and there is a street crossing there so you hear the train's warning horn all night. Give up the view and stay on the other side.

Room Tip: Don't stay on river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VicNa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey L, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Akron Cuyahoga Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

VicNa, I am pleased that you were able to enjoy our river views, new restaurant and service. According to federal regulations, trains must sound their horns at the crossing which we are located in close proximity too. We always appreciate guest feedback and hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I've stayed in a few hotels in the Cleveland/Akron area and this is by far my favorite. The service is always top notch and responsive. The suites are spacious and clean. And having gotten used to staying in the city its nice to have free parking. Did I mention free WiFI as well?

I highly recommend a high floor/river view, you get the nice sounds of flowing water when you open your window. The room service had decent food but like all room service it is expensive.

Location is in the heart of Cuyahoga Falls which is a really nice area although you have to drive if you want to get anywhere.

I'll probably be back here in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohhneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey L, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Akron Cuyahoga Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

ohhneill, I want to thank you for your loyalty to our property. I am pleased to learn that our team has exceeded your expectations and that you have been able to enjoy some of our amenities such as free WiFi and free parking. Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Suites Akron/Cuyahoga Falls as your go-to hotel in the Northeast Ohio area. We look forward to welcoming you for your future stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This hotel was beautiful. Stayed for a wedding. While the facility is beautiful the trains passing thru town at night woke us up many times each night. Seems like they should be able to have different glass in the windows or something that would help to block those nightly train whistles. Beautiful place but certainly not a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alaskadreamer59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey L, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Akron Cuyahoga Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Alaskadreamer, thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Suites Akron/Cuyahoga Falls during the recent wedding celebration. I appreciate the candor of your review as we take all of our guest comments into consideration when improving our hotel. We are working with the federal government to make the area around our property a quiet zone. Unfortunately, this process can take time. We do have rooms on the city side of our hotel that are not as affected by the train as the river view. I am pleased that you enjoyed our Cuyahoga River facing rooms and hope that you offer us a future opportunity to serve you the next time you are in Northeast Ohio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This hotel is very nice and comfortable with the rooms. Yes, the train running at night is a great distraction and fortunately we were on the opposite side of the hotel, but still heard the horn signal throughout the night. Since I can't control that, I still was able to rest comfortably and the room is comfortable with very comfortable beds. The one issue with the room itself was, I was a little disappointed with the water pressure in the shower. It was less than what I am used to, however, it was ok. The service from the staff was GREAT! I was there for a conference / convention and there was NO delay in checking in with close to 300 people staying in this hotel. The evening of check in, I asked for a late checkout on departure date and was asked to check back, but "should be ok". I checked back and was told "sure, not a concern" which was a huge help! The business center was well designed and the falls outside were nice from the balcony overlooking the falls below! Overall a good stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the opposite side of the falls for a "less" noise room due to train sign...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey L, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Akron Cuyahoga Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Jeff,
Thank you for sharing your visit on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read that we were able to assist you with a speedy check in and a late check out for your stay and that you enjoyed our natural views. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Suites during your conference, we look forward to serving you in the future when your travels bring you back up to Northeast Ohio!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel several times over the years incuding a fraternity formal, wedding and just for the heck of it. Also went to brunch there several times. Location on the falls is second to none in the area for food and view. I remember there being cool 2 story suites.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey L, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Akron Cuyahoga Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Bill, thank you so much for your loyalty to the Sheraton Suites Akron/Cuyahoga Falls. I am delighted to read that you have been able to enjoy our property during so many special occasions. Thank you for sharing your experiences here on Tripadvisor, we look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The hotel and restaurant are very nice. I have stayed there numerous times on business trips. It is an impressive facility. The restaurant in the hotel is in the center of the facility. The food is very good. The view from from rooms facing the river is scenic. It is conveniently located near expressway. Rooms are always clean and the hotel is well maintained by the staff. The staff is friendly and professional. The hotel is near train tracks and there are trains that run 24 hours a day. If you have difficulty sleeping you need to keep that in mind.

Room Tip: Reserve rooms with river view if possible. They are more scenic and trains aren't as noisy as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCOTT S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey L, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Akron Cuyahoga Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Scott,
Thank you so much for your many kind comments about our property! We very much appreciate your loyalty to the Sheraton Suites Akron/Cuyahoga Falls and we look forward to future opportunities to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cuyahoga Falls
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cuyahoga Falls
4.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Akron
3.5 mi away
Courtyard Akron Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Hilton Akron / Fairlawn
Hilton Akron / Fairlawn
#1 of 5 in Fairlawn
569 reviews
3.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Akron-Stow-Cuyahoga Falls
6.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Akron - Fairlawn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Suites Akron Cuyahoga Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Akron Cuyahoga Falls

Address: 1989 Front St, Cuyahoga Falls, OH 44221-3867
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Cuyahoga Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cuyahoga Falls
Price Range: £110 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Akron Cuyahoga Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Suites Hotel Akron/Cuyahoga Falls is located only minutes away from northeast Ohio's most popular leisure and business attractions. We are the area's most established full-service hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Suites Akron Cuyahoga Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Akron/Cuyahoga Falls Hotel Cuyahoga Falls
Sheraton Hotel Akron
Sheraton Cuyahoga Falls
Cuyahoga Falls Sheraton
Sheraton Suites Akron Cuyahoga Falls Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing