We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small place with thrify small plates”

Darby's On Fifty-Nine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Ohio
Level Contributor
399 reviews
300 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great small place with thrify small plates”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We have dined here both alone and with another couple, and the fare has always been first-rate. However, be aware that it is always crowded at usual meal times, and they don't take reservations. If you can't wait, go elsewhere. However, the bargain of the place is their combination of two sliders (either scallop or filet) and a side dish for about $12. They always have a pleasant selection of draft beers, and there is outdoor seating seasonally. We rate this as just about the best casual place in the greater Kent-Akron area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PCmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    14
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Local Spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Darby's is just a stone's throw away from us and is one of our favorite places to go when we don't feel like cookin'. The menu is small, but is chock full of inventive selections. There are only about 12 tables inside, so you may have to wait a while for a table if you arrive during prime dining time. Tuesday is their "burger night." For a discounted price, you'll get a handmade patty on a fresh, baked bun with your favorite condiments and a side of fries. Has to be one of the best burgers I've ever had! If you're looking for something a little healthier, you can get tenderloin or scallop sliders with a side like asparagus, risotto, or fries. Each week, they also have butcher block and seafood specials. In the summer, their patio is hoppin'.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarbAndJohnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Top Shelf , Tasty and Tiny”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Great to have this gem near by. Very limited seating so make your first attempt during the off hours; before 6 and after 8:30 is my best guess. The vibe just feels right; the decor is unique and pleasant. The servers are genuine and care to personally insure you have a great time. On my our last visit I asked our server a question about an entree and she delivered the chef to our table. Pleasant, patient and informative.

Food quality is excellent. Nice variety and rotation in the specials. Lots of fun and laughter at the bar. Speed of service is on point. The bread pudding is a New Years resolution breaker...everytime.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrigginBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Burger Night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I finally got a chance to check this place out and I am wishing we would have sooner! We sat at the bar which is always what we look for with seating. The guy behind the bar recommended some great beers and appetizers you can tell he really knows his stuff and follows beer trends. We each got the burger special which occurs only on Tuesday nights and they were delicious! My wife is a very picky drinker with beer and the bartender was patient and described the drafts and bottles to find exactly what she wanted. I loved the atmosphere and the personal touch we received at the bar as well as seeing him do the same with his other customers too. We will be back and soon! For something called the Tomahawk, a bone in 36oz ribeye!

Helpful?
1 Thank Alldayvaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stow, Ohio
Level Contributor
81 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Get there early...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Very nice but small restaurant. At 6:30 on a Wednesday we were happy to get a table with out a wait. Everyone until 8:00 pm had to wait a while until something opened. Excellent buffalo pot stickers as an appetizer. The main meal was good also. Now I understand why the parking lot is always full in the evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HikeTheUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Darby's On Fifty-Nine also viewed

 
Cuyahoga Falls, OH
 

Been to Darby's On Fifty-Nine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing