We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Middle of Nowhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Oak Inn Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Fairview Heights, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Middle of Nowhere”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

The best place to go for a weekend or weekday getaway. Ian and Yvonne are the best. Friendly, intelligent and have lots of local knowledge and stories. Being from Canada, they have stories from there as well. Inn is well decorated in antique furnishings. Most comfortable stays I've had. Yvonne gets credit for the breakfasts and dinners although Ian is involved. Breakfast and dinner are always wonderful and attractive. Inn is quiet with lots of wildlife. This includes the Inn's mascot Dugal, the cats and sheep. Rooms are always clean and extremely comfortable. Should you desire to do some sightseeing, there are many places to visit. The great room is the place to visit with other guests and have tea with Ian and Yvonne. Better than any hotel. Go for a night or longer.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank awmson71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    12
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
12
58
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We stayed at the White Oak Inn with a large group of friends for a murder mystery party.

We booked the 'Walnut' room in the main building - it was clean, had nice linens, and the bed was very comfortable. Our meals for dinner & breakfast were very good. Our only minor complaint was the temperature - it was very warm in the building, and we could not crack a window to cool it down a bit.

Room Tip: The White Oak room is on the main level and is HUGE.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crabbysandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The White Oak Inn B&B was a featured deal on Living Social and since we were going to New Paris, OH, for my husband's 50 year class reunion we decided to give it a try. We were not disappointed!! Yvonne & Ian were most gracious hosts, our room was very comfortable and well appointed, and dinner and both breakfasts were delicious. We met some very nice folks there, too.

The overall setting was most serene! The lawn and flowers were beautiful and the resident sheep were fun to watch. We spent our days exploring the beautiful Amish countryside. There is a lot to be said for their way of life! And our nights sleeping peacefully in our comfortable bed.

Wish we lived closer so we could take advantage of their "spur of the moment" offers. They always sound so fun and inviting.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roxane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gilbert, AZ
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We had a lovely time for New Years! Ian and Yvonne, the owners, hosted a wonderful, casual party. The other guests were diverse and friendly.
We stayed in cottage A. It was very nice. It had an upscale cabin-y feeling. The bed sheets were super comfortable. The combo of the fireplace and the two-person jacuzzi bath was romantic and relaxing. The food was delightful, approachable gourmet.
There was a slight sulphur smell to the water, which comes from a well. While it seemed great for the skin, it did add an odd smell to the shower. However, this will definitely not keep us from staying again soon! We look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We have been to the White Oak Inn on a couple of occasions. Let's get the negative out of the way first. The upstairs was too warm for sleeping well and too many blankets on the bed. No way to easily crack a window for ventilation. The Maple room is quite small. BUT, we went back again because the positives far outweigh the negatives.
The Ash room is very spacious and quite comfortable. Other rooms we peeked into seemed large enough to be comfortable as well.
Our first visit was Thanksgiving weekend 2010. Guests were invited to bring a potluck dish and wine to share for Wednesday night. This allowed the guests to get to know each other in a friendly fashion and made it easier for the kitchen staff to concentrate on making the most bountiful buffett for Thanksgiving dinner on Thursday. EXCELLENT. This is on top of the spectacular breakfast. Do not plan a diet for this visit.
Another trip was for a Murder Mystery weekend. Guests are given a character description before and the chance to dress the part. Actors come to move the story along and it's a fun evening.
Another visit was for Nature weekend. Guests were taught about mushroom hunting and learned about the local wildlife.
Your hosts are Yvonne and Ian and they are friendly and interesting and interested in lots of things. Yvonne is an excellent chef and she's got a nice staff to assist.
I think we'll go back!

Room Tip: Maple room inconveniently small. Not easy to put your open luggage where you can get at it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieandDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Great B&B, very friendly and accommodating. Beautiful location, visited surrounding areas and had a wonderful time based on Ian and Yvonne's recommendations. Delicious breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbwager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We stayed at Whitoak Inn recently and were very disappointed. We came because we needed a rest, we left more stressed than ever.
We asked Ian, the Innkeeper for help on how the coffee machine worked and were very abruptly told the directions are on the side of the machine, they were not. We finally got our coffee being told by Ian to get out of his road while he sorted it out for us. We took our coffee and went out and sat on the front verandah, we couldn't get back in so Ian the Innkeeper had to let us, he was again so rude. Unfortunately we then one hour later had to go to our car and again couldn't work out the code on the front door so had to ring the doorbell again and were further admonished by Ian. Later that evening we tried to put all what had happened behind us and try to engage Ian, this was without any success. We simply did not want to stay any longer. He was not welcoming at all on our arrival either, he never introduced himself or in anyway made us comfortable, his attitude was his guests were the nuisance part of his job. We met some people in the carpark and were talking about our experience and they were able to tell us a similar story about what happened to them, they said they would never be back

The house even though its early American is tired and needs work, the bathroom was very old 60's and in serious need of an upgrade, it didn't look or feel clean, the grounds were pleasant. We didn't find the breakfast anything special in fact very ordinary just like the breakfast room itself. Some reviews said Yvonne was a good cook perhaps the dinners are better. We won't be back and hope Ian will realise he is self destructing his business by treating his guests this way. Yvonne, Ian's wife was not friendly even though we tried to get her to help us with suggestions she only gave the minimum response to us, again very disappointing. We will never recommend this B&B to anyone, it was our worst experience ever.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ola32070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspirational1, Owner at White Oak Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
We are truly surprised and puzzled by this review. As you can see in other reviews, most of our guests comment positively on their experience at the inn and how friendly and helpful we and our staff are. Ian has no recollection of an incident where he treated a guest rudely. We wonder if these guests took remarks made in a joking manner as being serious. We sincerely apologize that they did not enjoy their experience here. We agree with their comments about the dated bathrooms in some of the inn rooms. We have been doing a number of upgrades this year and the rest of the bathrooms are on the schedule to be completed soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Danville Knox County
23.9 mi away
Berlin Resort
Berlin Resort
#3 of 4 in Berlin
734 reviews
19.5 mi away
Hotel Millersburg
Hotel Millersburg
#2 of 4 in Millersburg
145 reviews
24.1 mi away
Amish Country Lodging
Amish Country Lodging
#2 of 11 in Berlin
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Garden Gate Get-A-Way Bed & Breakfast
13.0 mi away
Landoll's Mohican Castle
Landoll's Mohican Castle
#1 of 1 in Loudonville
346 reviews
18.8 mi away
Mohican Lodge and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Oak Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Oak Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: White Oak Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 29683 Walhonding Rd, Danville Knox County, OH 43014-9681
Region: United States > Ohio > Danville Knox County
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Danville Knox County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a wooded valley in Ohio's Amish area, The White Oak Inn bed and breakfast offers a comfortable secluded retreat. Ten comfortable guest rooms and two luxurious log-cabin cottages are offered. Some rooms have fireplaces and whirlpool tubs. A full country breakfast is included in the room rate, and dinners and romantic dinner baskets for two can be ordered in advance. Our meals are carefully crafted using fresh local products whenever possible. Gluten-free, vegetarian and other special diets are cheerfully accommodated. There are plenty of recreational activities nearby, whether it's shopping in Ohio's Amish area, doing wine-tastings at local wineries, outdoor activities like canoeing, hiking or zip-lining, or just enjoying the beautiful scenery. During winter months we offer special events such as murder mysteries and dinner theater. The inn is not recommended for children under 12. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your White Oak Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing