We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Clean, With No Major Problems”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Oak Inn Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Quiet and Clean, With No Major Problems”
Reviewed 1 November 2008

We used a coupon from iloveinns.com to get one night free with the purchase of another night for $140.

The inn is a large, white-painted 19th-century house and separate cabins, on a quiet country road in Walhonding, Ohio. The rooms are decorated with antique furniture and historical portraits. There's a beautiful old piano in the living room and a nice fireplace. It's all very quaint and antiquey.

The rooms were very quiet and clean. The shower pressure was great, the water hot. Be advised that the small combo TV/DVD player (less than 19") only gets about four TV channels, and only three with clarity. The bed was comfortable, although our headboard sometimes clacked against itself when we moved. I couldn't get cellular reception with Verizon, but strangely, my wife could, and she's on Verizon as well, but with a newer phone. There are no phones in any of the rooms in the main house. (I don't know about the cabins.)

There was ample parking.

Breakfast (included in the price) was fantastic; they ask beforehand to let them know of any allergies or dislikes. One morning we had really good pancakes and sausage, with mixed fruit, juice, and coffee. The next morning I think it was a choice of an omelette or bread pudding.

They do offer a prix fixe dinner, but there is no menu; a book in the room just tells you that it's about $35-$40 per person. (You can bring your own alcohol, since it's a dry county.) A nearby diner called Spearman's on route 36, in Millwood, offers very homey (and good) food for about $6-$8 per entree. Or you could drive into nearby Mount Vernon for chain restaurants.

The owners were polite and helpful when asked, but I would not describe them as outgoing. (E.g., they're not big on saying hello or introducing themselves.) And that's fine; maybe they don't want to be intrusive. Or maybe they're just not gregarious folks and don't want to fake it. Just don't expect them to chat you up, tell stories, or say much at all. Also, be sure to ask what the push-button code is to open the front door yourself, lest you be forced to keep ringing the doorbell. (They'll tell you, but you have to ask.)

The maids did a good job cleaning. However, we left a tip in the room before breakfast and returned to find the room clean but the tip still there. I found one maid still cleaning and handed it to her directly; the other (older) maid said they expect people to leave tips at the end of their stay instead. Whatever. No place else in the world does that. What if the person who cleaned your room one day is off the next day?

This is a great place to stay if you want peace and quiet. It's clean and comfortable, but you will be bored if you hang around all day (unless you're there to do a lot of reading). Do not stay here if you want to watch TV at all. There are Amish attractions in the general area, but be prepared to drive a few miles or more. Kenyon College is about 15 minutes away. The Johnson-Humrick Museum at Roscoe Village has some really interesting Asian and American Indian art, as well as some antique guns. They charge admission ($3 per person), but it was pretty cool. For the rest of Roscoe Village, be advised that the in-character actors are only there on weekends in October.

If you're disabled, staying in the main house would be a challenge, due to the stairs. However, there are the separate cabins next door.

  • Liked — Great breakfast; nice fireplace; quiet.
  • Disliked — Few TV channels
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank WashDCMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woiyvonne, Owner at White Oak Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 December 2008
Thank you to the writer for this review. I'd just like to clarify a couple of things he mentioned. First is that telephones are available in all our rooms on request. Second is that I am sorry if these guests felt we were reticent. We usually try to take our cue from the guests themselves as to whether they wish to chat or to be left alone. If they ask us questions about the inn or ourselves we're always happy to chat, otherwise we leave them alone. Apparently we misread what these guests would have liked and I apologize for that. And lastly, as far as the tipping situation, to avoid any misunderstandings, our housekeepers are instructed not to touch money left in a guest room unless there is a note indicating it is a tip. We thank this guest for his concern that the right person be rewarded for her hard work, and can assure him that our housekeepers work as a team and share all tips with one another.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    12
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
12
58
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
central PA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2008

What a wonderful find the White Oak Inn is. My sister, Mother and I came to visit with my cousins who live near the Inn. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Ian and Yvonne were so nice to us. My Mom is a diabetic and they were so accommodating to her dietary needs. Breakfast was wonderful! I loved the property, especially their sheep! We will plan a return visit soon!

  • Liked — Warm,friendly Innkeepers; quiet, peaceful property
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chestertown, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2008

I was getting ready to write about our stay at the White Oak Inn when I came across the previous writers post. I am dumbfounded by the content. They are clearly not writing about the same inn we stayed at or the writer should stay at anonymous box hotels and chain motels where breakfast consists of boxed cereal and rubber eggs.
Let me start by saying that my husband and I have been staying at B&Bs regularly for the past 20 years. We take anywhere from four to six trips annually. During our travels we have come across a wide array of properties, some are OK and some are outstanding.
The White Oak Inn belongs to the later category. It is a wonderfully quiet place in a pastoral setting. The owners Ian and Yvonne Martin are quintessential innkeepers that intuitively know how to treat their guests well. Our room in the main house was charming, comfortable and immaculately clean. The food was outstanding, imaginative and nicely presented. Breakfast was a treat. The cookies wonderful.
We have already booked our next trip to the White Oak Inn on our way to visit friends in Missouri. This time we are staying in a cottage.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2008

Great acerage nice property...a bit off the beaten path!

The emails are canned claiming they are busying making cookies for your arrival.

NOT TRUE...the cookies are not fresh and are hard and in a cookie jar in the den on the coffee table.

Though we called to tell them we were on our way and close by ...the did NOT bother to plug in the window unit Air Conditioner in our room. (Even though the temperature was over 90 degrees outside.)The room was warm when we arrived.

The room was nice size and the bathroom was nice.

The goats are cute!

The food was very average.

My husband went to the kitchen for ice and found our WALMART chicken breast thawing on the counter (which they made us for dinner) the bread was from WALMART and was also sitting on the counter! Frozen chicken Walmart ummm Lovely!

They tried to make breakfast fancy with fancy choices when we would of prefered homecooked bacon, eggs, gravy and biscuits etc..They gave us two choices!...
***Most B&B ask you what you'd like!!! And then cook it for you!

We were the only guests so the owner enjoyed telling us his life history. Quote "He got roped into owning this bed and Breakfast"

The toilet handle broke and when my husband told him about it ....He gave a look of exasperation....saying "do you want me to fix it!" ( WELL OF COURSE!)

The Charm was just not there for us!!!! We have been used to Family like greetings warm cookies made just for us on arrival etc.

  • Liked — The setting of the Home ....surrounding property!
  • Disliked — Canned emails...They cut corners on Food! They owner seemd tired and unhappy!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank HonestOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2007

I want to tell you what a wonderful refuge the White Oak Bed & Breakfast is. The Inn is located on many acres in a wooded setting. It is the perfect place to unwind and relax. I was only able to stay one night, but I will definitely be back for a longer stay. Innkeepers Yvonne and Ian make you feel right at home. They know their stuff!!

  • Liked — Quiet, Peaceful Setting
  • Disliked — I loved it all!!
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DallasPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland, ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2007

My husband and I have spent many weekends here over the years, and it's always perfect! We stay in one of the outside guest rooms (as Ian & Yvonne will tell you, it's the renovated chicken coop) with a fireplace, and have dinner both nights. It's just a wonderful, relaxing weekend getaway from the city.

  • Liked — peace and quiet...and good food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank blrn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galion
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2007

We have had several stays at the White Oak Inn. What a wonderful escape! Yvonne and Ian are the most gracious of hosts, who really try to give you the most relaxing atmosphere they can. Their Murder Mystery Weekend is the most fun I've had in years and New Year's Eve was so relaxing we slept through it. We highly recommend this beautiful bed and breakfast to anyone looking for a break from their hurried life.

  • Liked — Atmosphere
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed January 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GalionGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Danville Knox County
23.9 mi away
Berlin Resort
Berlin Resort
#3 of 4 in Berlin
736 reviews
19.5 mi away
Hotel Millersburg
Hotel Millersburg
#2 of 4 in Millersburg
145 reviews
24.1 mi away
Amish Country Lodging
Amish Country Lodging
#2 of 11 in Berlin
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Garden Gate Get-A-Way Bed & Breakfast
13.0 mi away
Landoll's Mohican Castle
Landoll's Mohican Castle
#1 of 1 in Loudonville
347 reviews
18.8 mi away
Mohican Lodge and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Oak Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Oak Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: White Oak Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 29683 Walhonding Rd, Danville Knox County, OH 43014-9681
Region: United States > Ohio > Danville Knox County
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Danville Knox County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a wooded valley in Ohio's Amish area, The White Oak Inn bed and breakfast offers a comfortable secluded retreat. Ten comfortable guest rooms and two luxurious log-cabin cottages are offered. Some rooms have fireplaces and whirlpool tubs. A full country breakfast is included in the room rate, and dinners and romantic dinner baskets for two can be ordered in advance. Our meals are carefully crafted using fresh local products whenever possible. Gluten-free, vegetarian and other special diets are cheerfully accommodated. There are plenty of recreational activities nearby, whether it's shopping in Ohio's Amish area, doing wine-tastings at local wineries, outdoor activities like canoeing, hiking or zip-lining, or just enjoying the beautiful scenery. During winter months we offer special events such as murder mysteries and dinner theater. The inn is not recommended for children under 12. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your White Oak Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing