We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pacer Inn and Suites
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Delaware
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean and nice”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We had wonderful service from the Pacer Inn. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were much nicer than I expected. You could tell they were recently updated. The rooms were spotless and the beds were comfortable. When we return to Delaware this is where we will stay.

The continental breakfast was good but I was uncomfortable with where it was served. The breakfast and a few tables were set up directly in front of rooms. There were awkward moments as guests exited those rooms and at one point one of the guests confronted another guest that was dining about talking too loud.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    35
    8
    4
    5
See reviews for
29
20
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My family and I spent 1 night here on our way home to SC. The staff was well tenative to our needs. The rooms and hotel have been remodeled and are very nice. The beds were so comfortable I went right to sleep. Will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltroll1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva NY
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

At first glance, you might have a little hesitance about staying at the Pacer Inn. It is an older motel property and the exterior looks quite dated. But the staff was wonderful and the rooms look to be recently renovated with updated draperies and bed dressing. A nice little touch was the way the bathmat and towels were decoratively folded - it shows that they go the extra mile when cleaning the rooms. My room had a small refrigerator but i understand that not all rooms have them yet.

I did hear quite a bit of loud talking coming from the adjoining room but i fell asleep before i decided whether or not to call the front desk and slept soundly all night long. (Loud talkers are certainly not the fault of the hotel management.)

The morning breakfast buffet was very nice. I appreciated the fact that they had hard boiled eggs rather than the powdered stuff that you usually get. There was yogurt and fruit along with the usual bagels and cereal.

I felt that the room rate was certainly reasonable and i would recommend the Pacer Inn to others traveling to Delaware.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley B, Manager at Pacer Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review! We appreciate all of our guests and so our best to accommodate every single one! We now have a brand new breakfast area for guests to enjoy and have replaced the old area with a new couch and table to sit and read or just enjoy the sunshine.
Thanks again, and we hope to see you soon!!

Pacer Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davison, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I reserved two adjoining king rooms for Sept. 18th. Paid for with a credit card, a week in advance. When we arrived that evening, they informed us they only had a reservation for 1 room. I had a copy of the confirmation printed out stating the 2 king rooms were reserved and paid for and they refused to honor the reservation. They said they could only give us 1 room with 2 queen beds, which would not work for us. The clerk told me she could not understand how this could happen as they could only book the adjoining rooms together. This happened during The Little Brown Jug week (think the Kentucky Derby of harness racing) there was not a room to be had in Delaware. I had to get on a computer and find rooms in Columbus myself, no thanks to the clerk. I will never stay here again as I think this is a terrible way to treat a guest with paid reservations! I guess a paid confirmation number means nothing here. We go to Delaware every year for The Jug with a large group of horsemen, and in the future will be letting them all know this hotel will not honor reservations during this week.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley B, Manager at Pacer Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
I am sorry to hear that you are disappointed in your stay with us. We apologize for the inconvenience while you were trying to check in. I appreciate that you took the time to write us a review, and just want to let you know that I am truly sorry the mess up. We were experiencing some technical difficulties that night, as our old system was trying to update itself and would not let us see the online bookings, only the ones who called or personally came in and made the reservation. With that being said, we are currently using a new system that allows every interaction online to be placed directly onto our screens so we can see when you're coming in and which rooms you will need. I do want to take the time to apologize if you thought the clerk was rude. We take pride in the people who work here, and I can assure you that everyone was courteous and did everything they could to assist you in you dilemma. The clerk even went so far as to use her personal cell phone to call around the area trying to find you a hotel for your stay. And I can promise you that we never ever "do this on purpose" as you stated to the clerk that night. We are a people oriented business and always try to as professional as can be.
Again, thank you for your feedback, and we hope to turn your opinion of us around sometime.

Pacer Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The Pacer Inn was the most elegant place of the 11 motels I stayed in this trip. The breakfast buffet was carefully and beautifully arranged. However, the wi-fi signal in my room was irregular, and there was a periodic mechanical, high-pitched whine coming from machinery in the next room. It didn't wake me up if I was already asleep, but it was annoying when I was awake. Otherwise, this would have been one of my favorite motels.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

5 stars. And by far the best and cleanest of any in a 20 mile radius. Staff is always courteous and friendly, and you can't beat the value. The price is just right for either one night or an extended stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aidenanniesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I'm a B&B guy and stayed at the Pacer Inn only because Delaware is a small town with only one B&B. But the Pacer impressed me. I got to have windows that open and cleanliness and this place passed my scrutiny with flying colors. I haven't stayed at a motel in decades but the Pacer is a completely remodeled place with very tasteful decor, non-smoking, and bath tubs (!) - a plus for me. It wasn't noisy at all either. The staff was sincerely nice - everyone. Nice breakfast stuff as well for the guests - fruit, etc.

Overall I cannot say enough good things about my experience. The Pacer may not have converted me back to liking motels/hotels, but I will definitely stay there again. A+ experience. Stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank musicdinosaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delaware
1.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Delaware
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbus/Delaware
9.7 mi away
Nationwide Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Columbus - Polaris
11.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/Polaris
11.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacer Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacer Inn and Suites

Property: Pacer Inn and Suites
Address: 259 S Sandusky St, Delaware, OH 43015-2622 (Formerly Campbell House Motel)
Region: United States > Ohio > Delaware
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Delaware
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacer Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historical downtown Delaware, the Pacer Inn is less than 1 mile from Ohio Wesleyan University, about a 5 minute walk. Families will love spending the day at the Zoombezi Bay Water Park, Little Brown Jug, or the Columbus Zoo – all within 15 miles of the Pacer Inn Delaware. The city of Columbus is just 25 miles, and The Ohio State University is 20 miles from the Pacer Inn. Guests of the Pacer Inn can stay connected with the free wireless internet and enjoy a delicious onsite meal at El Vaquero Mexican Restaurant and Bar, open 11am to 10pm daily. Free parking, fax and copy service, and the convenience of a 24 hour front desk reception area are offered at the Pacer Inn. All guest rooms are nicely appointed. Standard amenities include free high speed wireless internet access, hair dryer, coffeemaker, free local calls, alarm clock radio, iron and board, 32 inch flatscreen TV with satellite , and individually controlled heat and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pacer Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacer Inn And Suites Delaware, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing