We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Whispering Pines” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whispering Pines Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dellroy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whispering Pines Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Dellroy B&B and Inns
Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Whispering Pines”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

We received a gift certificate from our children for Christmas. We had the Lakeview Suite which was beautiful. The other rooms we were able to peek in to were nice but pretty average. We had the snack plate which was pretty over priced for what you get. The balcony of this room was barely big enough for two chairs.

Breakfast was delicious but one thing we have enjoyed in other B&B's was sitting at a common table for breakfast with other guests. Here that wasn't an option as they had more of a restaurant dining room atmosphere and each table was set for 2 people.

It was very clean and well maintained. Bed was very comfortable and we slept well!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandmaJillOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pineswhisper, Owner at Whispering Pines Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
I read every review and appreciate every one that we receive. I would like to comment on a few items. We try to please everyone that stays at our Bed & Breakfast and most of our guests would rather sit at separate tables. We have come to that conclusion from being in business for over 24 years. We can always move couples together when requested or when traveling together. We receive the most compliments on our private balconies and we are so fortunate that 8 or our 9 guest rooms have them. All balconies have 2 chairs and a nice size table with plenty of room. I can honestly say that all of our guest rooms are beautiful. We have taken great care in presenting them with upscale furnishings, wall art, color combinations, and always with the comfort of our guests in mind. Thank you for noticing that it is very clean and well maintained. Glad you slept well, enjoyed your breakfast and the thoughtful Christmas gift from your children. That was the year we included $50 on the house for every certificate that was purchased.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    14
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
90
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marysville, Ohio
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

I scheduled a weekend here after reading reviews on trip advisor and many articles on romantic inns in Ohio. The weekend was a surprise for my wife on her 50th birthday. Linda had roses, chocolates and romantic music playing when we arrived on Friday night. I surprised my lady further with a wrapped gift of a string of pearls too. A little overwhelming....some tears, then lots of kisses. The Walnut room was nice with jacuzzi bath. We topped the evening off with dinner at the Hart Mansion in Minerva about 20 miles away. Kinda spooky from a distance on a big hill on a Halloween type of night in October, but this place was a gem. Very nicely done and excellent food very romantic. The next day we went for rides, hikes, and shopping in nearby Amish area. We topped it off with dual massages in our room scheduled by Linda, and then on to dinner at the Canal Inn in nearby Zoar. German food on a canal and restored 1850s inn. Very nice and delicious sausages.

We liked the area on Atwood lake and Atwood state park for a 2 hr hike. Whispering Pines B&B is a nice property, and the Inn is full of eclectic decor and antiques. Plenty of relaxing reading and socializing areas to spread out and play games or read. The outside has areas to roam as well in a country rural setting over looking the lake. The breakfasts were very good and so were the homemade cakes, cookies and snacks. The hosts were very nice. Overall we were very pleased with our stay and hope to return someday. Linda and Bill, tHank you for making this weekend special for us. Steve T

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pineswhisper, Owner at Whispering Pines Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Steve, I'm so glad your wife loved her surprise; the food, location, massage, your activities and especially the pearls to top it off. Please come back again. Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

It was a great anniversary weekend . Our first stay at a B&B that we thoroughly enjoyed. Recommended restaurants were great and the breakfast each day was very good. It took us until our 40th anniversary to stay at a B&B, we will definitely look this way for our 41st!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eddie1353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pineswhisper, Owner at Whispering Pines Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
So glad your first experience at a Bed & Breakfast was memorable. Enjoy your future travels at B&B's - they really are great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

This was our third trip over the last 6 years. Very quiet and tranquil place, luxury accommodations, tons of things to do nearby: historic village of Zoar, Amish country, Atwood lake with boats, golf course few mikes away and State Park with trails. Would go back in a blink of eye.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pineswhisper, Owner at Whispering Pines Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
It's always nice to see you and T. visit us and we do appreciate it. I know you both need a relaxing getaway from your hectic schedule and I'm glad that we can provide this for you. See you the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

We've stayed at Whispering Pines on 3 occassions, our honeymoon, 5th anniversary & 10th yr. Love the amazing lake view, fall colors, quietness & charm of Whispering Pines. The rooms are very nice, lots of things to do & breakfast is delicious.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traci E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pineswhisper, Owner at Whispering Pines Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Good to see you again and we really appreciate you coming back. I hope it won't take 5 years for your next visit. Take care. Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbiana, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

If you are looking for a relaxing getaway, look no further! The scenery is outstanding and the inn is spotless! The antiques are gorgeous and there are so many rooms to view the lake, play board games, and enjoy a scrumptious breakfast. Linda's cookies are so delicious!

Room Tip: Any room is great! All come with the chocolate chip cookies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pineswhisper, Owner at Whispering Pines Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Everyone loves the chocolate chip cookies. Just made a new batch yesterday for this coming weekend. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

What a blessing it was to find this place online and have it turn out to be head and shoulders above just about any place we've ever stayed! It exceeded all of our expectations. Linda and Bill, the innkeepers, were incredibly hospitable in every way. The campfire pit is a fantastic feature and has a beautiful view of the lake. We stayed in the Jasmine room and although it has a private balcony, it really only looks out on the woods; however, it didn't matter because the room was so wonderful and comfortable and the grounds were fantastic. The house is not directly by the lake, but the view of the lake is more than adequate. Also, the breakfast that Linda makes is so delicious and the view of the lake from the dining room in awesome! Make sure to fill out the form for receiving early morning coffee service directly to your room! All in all, Whispering Pines is better than any photo online or review can truly describe. You have to see and experience for yourself. Stay at Whispering Pines!!

Room Tip: The Jasmine room is great. If you want a private balcony with an amazing view of the lake, choose t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrevorDHyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pineswhisper, Owner at Whispering Pines Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
I'm preparing to plan another great breakfast for our guests this weekend. The fall colors are bursting through and the views are looking amazing. I'm happy you enjoyed your getaway and we will look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dellroy
23.2 mi away
The Bertram Inn at Glenmoor
8.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Carrollton
19.5 mi away
Carlisle Inn Sugarcreek
Carlisle Inn Sugarcreek
#1 of 5 in Sugarcreek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Pines Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Pines Bed and Breakfast

Property: Whispering Pines Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1268 Magnolia Rd SW, Dellroy, OH 44620-9748
Region: United States > Ohio > Dellroy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dellroy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come visit Whispering Pines Bed & Breakfast for a "little piece of quiet." There are nine large guest rooms to choose from and they all have a 2-person whirlpool tub. There are also private balconies, some of which overlook Atwood Lake. And in the cold of winter and the warmth of summer you can use your electric fireplace for ambiance. A wonderful breakfast is included and served in the glass enclosed sun room overlooking beautiful Atwood Lake. There are many things to do in the area and several additions you can add on to enhance your stay. We look forward to being your hosts and helping you plan your getaway. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing