We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place To Visit”

Longaberger Basket Factory/Homestead
Ranked #2 of 2 things to do in Dresden
Attraction details
Delaware
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Place To Visit”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We love to go here 2 or 3 times a year!! Of course it's not like it was in the past-but it's still a nice place to go for the day!! Great pottery deals---and some baskets to buy also!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    17
    8
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
271 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 377 helpful votes
“Amazing Place”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

You don't even have to like the baskets in order to be able to appreciate all the hard work being done by working people. Standing there, watching all those people working is amazing.I truly admire it. I couldn't do it.So i am certainly not going to criticize the place. It is amazing to see so many people working, making baskets. I didn't buy anything, just because I don't like for things to accumulate , if I don't really need something.But they do have some unique things there.It was very interesting to see. One of my favorite part is the big basket filled with apples outside of the factory.

Helpful?
5 Thank 135catherineg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“If you're a basket lover, this is the place for you!!”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We love visiting Longaberger Homestead!! This was our second year making a basket at the Crawford Barn. What a neat experience!! Make sure you allow yourself plenty of time to walk through the Home Store. They have lots and lots of basket goodies!! Also, Miller's Restaurant has some of the best vegetable soup and homemade bread. A definite must when visiting Dresden, OH.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Angie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“If your into baskets and such.....”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

The Longaberger homestead / factory store is a massive complex in the middle of nowhere. Upon entering the drive there are several very large parking lots roped off, not used in years judging by the greenery coming up through them, this place certainly does not have the traffic it once received in better economic times. The visitor center is first building you will come to. A few minutes in their should suffice to know what there is to see and do. the mammoth 2 level barn is full of deep discount items and where you can make your own basket anyway you like, nice for the kids or as a couple. The main factory store, has just about any Longaberger item imaginable, from baskets to kitchenware. Their kitchenware is impressive, heavy duty, and decidedly affordable compared to retail pricing. While they are flawed, most in some slight cosmetic way, they are fully functional and better than first runs of many other brands. They have a restaurant serving traditional American food, we didn't try it out however. There were literally 6 other people at this massive place when we were there, which was rather mind blowing considering the amount of money the upkeep alone would be here. Maybe in the fall is busy season, can only speculate. I would come again, if I was ever in the area, not worth revolving a trip around though.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank cledoc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice diversion from the road”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

One visits Longaberger baskets as a destination attraction: you like the baskets. The baskets are handmade and $$. But they have a unique look. It is a collector market, with retired items and vintage hype. You can make your own basket with assist from the staff. This could be a group activity with a nice take away souvenir, such as a family reunion or bachelorette party. Plenty of parking. Restaurant onsite. There has been a recent layoff and there is not the hubbub and energy present. The grounds are well kept and is a nice experience, if you like the baskets. Otherwise, you won't "get" it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank vicki c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Longaberger Basket Factory/Homestead also viewed

 

Been to Longaberger Basket Factory/Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing