We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Construction nightmare”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sonesta ES Suites Dublin
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Construction nightmare”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I was all ready to give this place 4 stars. It's clean and spacious. It was quiet. It was perfect for a stop-over or if you needed a place to stay for a longer period of time.
and then...
9 AM - construction workers, literally outside our window. Literally. We were on the ground floor. Construction workers started banging away with SLEDGEHAMMERS, RIGHT - outside the window. Saws were going. They were putting yellow tape - RIGHT outside our room.
We were up, but after that noise we were REALLY up! We went to breakfast, which was fine.
I asked the person at the desk - They're doing this work when the guest is still checked-in?! Couldn't they at least wait for the guest to check out? We were leaving that morning anyway. She gave me some reason and apologized. At least they were sorry about it.

Bottom line - lovely stay. But if they feel the need, they will eliminate, what was up until then, a lovely 'hotel experience'.
I'd stay there again - but only AFTER calling to see what, if any, construction work is happening.

Wow. Never had that happen before. It was truly jolting. We checked out in a hurry!

Room Tip: I would pick a room like we had - away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STL_Teacher_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie G, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Dublin, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. I do want to apologize for any inconvenience we caused with our renovation. We are doing our very best to have the least amount of impact on our guests, but our goal is also to get the work done as quickly and efficiently as possible. We are really excited about the updates and hope that you can return in the future to enjoy our new product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    88
    29
    22
    9
See reviews for
148
68
14
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
North Tonawanda
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We arrived at Sonesta ES Suites in Dublin, Ohio on May 22nd and were immediately greeted by a very friendly desk attendant. She checked us in and gave us our room keys within 5 minutes of our arrival. The room was clean & very nice. I am pleasantly surprised at the size of the room and the entire hotel grounds. We swam in the outdoor heated pool and later walked to a nearby ice cream parlor. This hotel allows pets, which concerned me, but we heard no barking & no noise at all.
I would highly recommend anyone stay with this hotel! We would like to visit the Columbus Zoo & Aquarium again next year and will certainly make reservations here again.
Oh & the breakfast had something for everyone!
I can't say enough good things about this hotel! Thank you!

Room Tip: Every area in this hotel was clean, well lit, and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie G, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Dublin, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is always nice to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay. I'm happy to hear that Nora went out of her way to make your stay better, I will make sure to share your comments with her and the rest of the team. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2013

There were 5 of us staying here while a family member was at Riverside Hospital. We had a 2 bedroom suite with living room and fireplace and full kitchen which we really didn't need because they serve a full hot, delicious, breakfast and also a meal at night, Monday-Thursday, which was very good. After the BIG breakfast we didn't need anything until evening. The staff was fantastic and very helpful. My niece was celebrating her 1st anniversary and Nora, a staff member, had the hotel sign a card and also gave her and her husband a box of Russell Stover candy. They were delighted and all said they would rate this excellent for everything they did. We also shot a few basketballs in the evening after our meal. Great place, clean, quiet, and in a great location for our needs. We will definitely be back when we are in the area. We stayed here May 16 -19th 2013. From Marietta, OH

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie G, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Dublin, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experience, I will definitely pass on your comments to the rest of the staff. We look forward to you staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Hotel is at very good location, Rooms are very spacious with fully equipped kitchen. Their complimentary break fast offer good variety for veg and non veg food and fruits. They also offer complimentary dinner. Staff was always helpful and courteous. they also have a business center where we can do printing , fax or scanning.
I was impressed by value they offer for the money.

Room Tip: Prefer to take 2nd floor room that provide more out door cleanliness and you can have better view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nitesh p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie G, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Dublin, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We always strive to provide a good variety of options on our breakfast buffet, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed it. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

I had never heard of this hotel when we secured it through Priceline, so I was wondering what kind of quality to expect for the price we bid. We were pleasantly surprised by the tidy and convenient suite. It was very clean and in a nice neighborhood. The staff was wonderfully helpful and friendly and we really enjoyed the delicious complimentary breakfast- it was much more than a typical continental breakfast. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smileysharonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie G, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Dublin, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you for reveiwing our hotel. We are happy that you chose to stay with us and that you enjoyed the hotel. We look forward to you staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fulton, NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

My husband and I stayed here recently for 4 days. The place was great. Clean, comfortable beds and pillows. Staff was very friendly with very reasonable prices. There was a breakfast included which included juice, cereral, fruit, yogurt ,eggs, waffles and a meat option. Water and coffee all day.

We had a two bedroom with kitchen area and living room - TVs in both bedrooms and living room. Nice towels and fast housekeeping. Great parking availability and Graeters Ice Cream within walking distance.

The only negative thing I can think of is that the fan in the bathrooms were on the loud side. But that was a minor thing.

Would highly reccommend Sonesta Suites and look forward to staying at other of their locations.

Room Tip: We had a second floor room and were very happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VistanaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie G, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Dublin, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

This extended stay hotel is absolutely wonderful. The staff are accommodating and friendly. I have been staying in this hotel for a month while I transition out of an apartment and relocate to accept a new job. What would a person want in this situation? Cleanliness, safety, comfort, conveniences of home...this place has it all. The parking lot is well lit, doors are steel and have dead bolts as well as a second lock inside. I have been in different rooms during my stay and they have all been very clean. Kitchen and bathroom were also clean. These things matter more to me than state of the art televisions in the room. It's also very nice to have a full breakfast available and free dinners in the evening after I've worked 9+ hours every day. Travelers should note that the rooms vary slightly - some have a large vanity and some do not. Some have fireplaces and some do not. If these are important to you, simply mention it to the front desk staff and they will accommodate you if possible. If you're staying long term or just passing through, Sonesta is everything you could want in affordable, clean, comfortable lodging.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie G, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Dublin, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to be your home away from home during your transition. We hope that you will continue to stay with us whenever you are in the Dublin area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.5 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Dublin
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Columbus Dublin
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbus Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Dublin
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Columbus - Dublin
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbus Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta ES Suites Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta ES Suites Dublin

Property: Sonesta ES Suites Dublin
Address: 435 Metro Pl S, Dublin, OH 43017-5315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Dublin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Dublin
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta ES Suites Dublin 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta ES Suites Dublin is located just north of Columbus, OH, near the Columbus Zoo and Aquarium, The Wilds, Ohio State University, as well as the Muirfield Village Golf Club. The hotel, located in the town where "Irish is an attitude", is convenient to many local corporations including Nationwide Insurance, Verizon Wireless, Scotts, Wendy's and Qwest. The hotel features oversized suites, a business center, high speed internet access, great room, meeting rooms, fitness center, seasonal swimming pool, outdoor recreational court and on-site laundry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sonesta ES Suites Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Columbus Dublin Hotel Dublin
Residence Inn Dublin
Dublin Residence Inn
Sonesta ES Suites Dublin Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing