We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and friendly staff, but needs work - show some pride, Econo Lodge!”
Review of Knights Inn Elyria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Knights Inn Elyria
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Elyria
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at the Econo Lodge in Elyria over Memorial Day weekend as it was not far from the event we were attending. I'm sorry to say the hotel/motel needs a lot of maintenance. The front desk staff were helpful and pleasant and tried to address our issues, but our room was kind of disgusting in ways that couldn't really be fixed. The refrigerator had been removed at some point and the gap left unaddressed - you could see the mildew and water stains on the bare wood subfloor. The toilet didn't flush, and even though they sent in a plumber to address the problem, it wouldn't flush unless you held down the handle for a long time (even then, the flush was incomplete). The TV didn't really work; I couldn't get most of the stations supposedly available to me. But the shower was actually pretty decent, with lots of hot water and a convex shower curtain rod which made it feel spacious even though the bathroom was cramped. And the beds were adequately comfortable,

If it's any consolation to Econo Lodge, from what we heard from other friends who stayed in other local hotels/motels, none of the other lodgings in the area in the same category were at all pleasant or particularly clean or functional. I hope the chain hotels/motels operating in this area can get over the fact that this part of Ohio is somewhat impoverished and run down, and try to show at least some corporate pride to make these good places to work and functional places to stay. I got the impression the staff were trying their best but were running on no resources.

Room Tip: Is there a good room? I don't know. Cross your fingers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kgirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

This place was terrible! No one at the front desk to check us in. We got our rooms, one set of keys did not work, so we went down to the front desk to get the keys fixed, and the second time they did not work. Someone with a master key was able to open the room only to find someone was already staying in it. Back to the front desk, where we were assigned a different room. Again, the keys did not work. By this time we were quite upset. The people at the front desk all walked up to the room with us and they could not get the keys to work either. After some yelling, we requested our money back and went in search of a new hotel. The room that we were able to get into was old and run down with cracks in the walls and ceiling. There were insects in the room. The pool was drained. As I left the front desk with my refunded credit card slip, I was told that I needed to have more patience. There are many better options in the area. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lorie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Good location, friendly staff at check in but not out. Decent size room and quiet. But the carpet was icky and toilet not working! Affordable but you can probably find better value. Called to 800# to complain of toilet and they gave no part refund, just email $10 credit. Then staff called to say sorry and that they didn't know-- which is not true, I complained at check out.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank nikumands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The manager at the desk was always solicitous and helpful. I think he's trying to do a good job, but may be overwhelmed, or lack resources. The beds and linens were good, but the exterior needs some attention (for example, the rooms' exterior doors). The grill on the interior ac/heating unit was missing (broken off). The faucet on the sink sprayed out the back when it was turned on. The carpet had some things on it that should have been vacuumed up (tiny pieces of grit or dirt). The wireless was constantly going out, which didn't allow me to do the work I planned to do. Even when it worked, the signal was weak and the download speed was very slow. Frustrating. Several of the not-very-many tv channels were unavailable because (as the screen repeatedly told us) the digital adapter that was necessary to receive them had not been installed. The breakfast was pretty sad, even for a minimalist breakfast. For example, there was white bread, but no jelly or jam or peanut butter to put on it. No donuts. There were a couple bagels. AAA rate of $54, but I'd pass on this property until it's been fixed up a bit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank classicaphilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

the room was ok now i had a smoking room and i can see why more place are going with no smoking. burn marks on every thing . but the beds were comfortable the bath tub was a little on the small side but the free internet was a joke. when it did work i could get on but then it would kick me off again. but all in all it was still a nice place to stay at

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

if your looking for an inexpensive place to stay 'this is it'. The people here are very nice, the rooms are clean ,plenty of hot water.I was in town picking up my son who was returning from Afganstan, had some time to kill so within two miles went to a movie, red lobster for dinner, everything you need is right there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larryw1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The motel is older vintage but neat and clean. The room with a comfortable king size bed had standard furniture including a table, two chairs, dresser, luggage rack and a small wall clothes rail with hangers. A small refrigerator, microwave and sink were against a back wall along with a small safe on the floor. The television was an older 25" CRT type. Wall and a floor lamps gave off good lighting. The bath room had a single sink, round front toilet and bath tub with curved shower curtain rod. Hot water was plentiful. Heating and cooling used a wall unit under the entrance wall window. The included breakfast was adequate with do it yourself cooked waffles, two kinds of cold cereal, bread for toast, muffins, fruit, preserves, juice and coffee. The dining area was in a separate room off the lobby and had small tables with chairs and was comfortable. At check in and out the staff was very amiable. Overall this was a good place for an inexpensive, short term stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Donald V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elyria
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#3 of 11 in Elyria
338 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Elyria
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elyria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Motel 6 Cleveland Intl Airport - N Ridgeville
Motel 6 Cleveland Intl Airport -...
#1 of 2 in North Ridgeville
101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Cleveland - Elyria
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Elyria
Super 8 Elyria
#5 of 11 in Elyria
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Elyria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Elyria

Address: 523 Griswold Rd, Elyria, OH 44035-2306 (Formerly Carefree Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Elyria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Elyria
Price Range: £35 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn Elyria 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Knights Inn Elyria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Elyria
Elyria Econo Lodge
Knights Inn Elyria Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing