We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a bit unsatisfactory”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Inn Dayton Airport
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Englewood
Hagerstown, Indiana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“a bit unsatisfactory”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This hotel is a made-over holiday inn. I did review this hotel with the company, and they said they appreciated my feedback. There are few hotel choices near the Dayton, Ohio, airport. I stayed here to catch an early flight the next morning. The staff told me the remodeling was done, but my room had no pictures on the walls, only one bedside lamp (the room did not have enough lighting), the outlets seemed old and I worried about charging my laptop. The heater sent cool air out and was loud. (It was February.) Things seemed clean but the remodeling job was not well done. The only PLUS to this stay was the staff - kind, efficient, helpful. I can't comment about the restaurant or pool as I did not use them.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimMcDonaldGM, General Manager at Clarion Inn Dayton Airport, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Vickie,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

As for the remodel, I apologize for the lighting. We have a great number of the rooms complete but some lights were on backorder. We are suppose to have them in the next two weeks. They will be installed as soon as we have them and this should solve our lighting issue. Again, I am sorry your experience wasn't exceptional.

Sincerely,

Tim McDonald
General Manager
Clarion Inn Dayton Airport
937/832-1234
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    32
    37
    19
    39
See reviews for
34
22
13
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northwest Ohio
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed one night just to go check out company 7 BBQ that's right by the hotel. The large pool was clean and had plenty of tables and chairs, and was heated I believe. No hot tub, but the pool is pretty big. The room was clean and up to date (244) It wasn't the greatest remodel job ever, but it worked enough to make the room feel freshened up. Comfy beds. The lobby bar is pretty big (humpty's I think?) and it seemed like all the locals came there. Sat night had a DJ and they did some karaoke. 3 beers on tap and plenty of bottles. Right off I70, can't miss it. Company 7 is a must have for dinner if you want to have some of the best BBQ you've ever had. The hotel shuttle will pretty much take you wherever you want to go if you ask them. I believe it's free from the airport. We opted for bob evans breakfast across the street.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmkleman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimMcDonaldGM, General Manager at Clarion Inn Dayton Airport, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,

Tim McDonald
General Manager
Clarion Inn Dayton Airport
937/832-1234
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniontown,Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Stayed one night there. The hotel is getting fixed up with new paint and carpet. Our room (349)was small , but adequate. When we first turned on the tv, it didn't work. The hdmi cable was removed from the wall plug. The cable was short, so I moved the tv close enough to the wall plug to insert. It worked fine after that, but as a customer shouldn't have to do that. The pool area and fitness area is really nice. The pool is one if the nicer ones you can have at a hotel. The provided breakfast was very minimal, and not equivalent to most Comfort Inns. There is a restaurant with a optional paying breakfast, but with Bob Evans and Perkins close by, I would think most customers would opt for them. I give it a average rating.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimMcDonaldGM, General Manager at Clarion Inn Dayton Airport, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to complete our on line survey. I am sorry we didn't exceed your expectations during your stay with us. It is unfortunate your TV cable was not plugged in and your right, the customer should not have to do that.

I am happy however that you found our pool and fitness area really nice. We have the largest heated indoor pool of all Dayton hotels. I hope you will stop in again and give us another try. I look forward to your next visit.

Tim McDonald
General Manager
Clarion Inn Dayton Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Once again my stay was exactly as expected. Arrived late but still got food and although the breakfast choice was limited, the waitress managed to get me what I wanted. The hotel is about to get a much needed makeover and I look forward to visiting again when it's been completed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimMcDonaldGM, General Manager at Clarion Inn Dayton Airport, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to do our online review. Your imput is appreciated and I will pass on your feed back to my staff. I am glad we were able to live up to your expectation and we made your stay a positive experience.

Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,
Tim McDonald
General Manager
Clarion Inn Dayton Airport
937/832-1234
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
137 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The hotel is definitely showing its age but reportedly there are improvements coming in the future.
The breakfasts were very good both mornings though not included in the hotel price. For some reason all the TVs in the public areas were tuned to Fox "News" and the default channel on the TV was, guess what, Fox "News" as well. I felt as though I was in a right wing indoctrination camp. Not sure if that is a Holiday Inn corporate mandate or a local decision.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimMcDonaldGM, General Manager at Clarion Inn Dayton Airport, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Paul L,
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I am glad you found our location to be convenient. You are correct; we are making improvements all around the hotel. We are painting the exterior and all the interior corridors and doors will get a fresh look. All the guest rooms will have new wall coverings, bedding, art work, lighting and the bathrooms will all be redone. And yes, we do have Fox News as the default station on the televisions only because it falls in the middle of the channel guide. You can go either direction and find the station you like. I apologize for any inconvenience this caused. I hope to meet you on your next stay. Again, thank you for your review.
Sincerely,
Tim McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
460 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This is a pretty old H.I. but the operators are trying to do a good job updating it and freshing up the place. The room carpets were clean and bedding was too. The basic hotel seems to be 50 years old but many improvements are in process. The restaurant has been redone and all of the staff was very helpful. This is not my first choice at this intersection, but I would definitely stay there again since the price fit and the hotel's room cleanliness certainly helped.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onceinawhile31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimMcDonaldGM, General Manager at Clarion Inn Dayton Airport, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Onceinawhile31,
Thank you for taking time to give us a review. I am glad your stay with us was good and we met your expectations. You are right, we are updating and refreshing the property. By the end of November we will have new carpet and wall finishing’s throughout all the corridors. Half of our guest room bathrooms will be totally updated with new granite vanities, granite tub surrounds, lights and mirrors. The guest room will have new lights, wall finishes and linens. The lobby will have a fresh look along with the elevators. The other half will be completed by May of 2014. Thank you again for your review.
Sincerely,
Tim McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Based on Reviews I was a little concerned with staying here. But the Hotel Exceeded my expectations. I drove with my son out to his college a flew back home from Dayton after spending a night at the Hotel. The hotel is clean and comfortable. The front desk was friendly and professional. There are a number of restaurants within a 10 minute walk from the Hotel and I ate at an excellent BBQ recommended by the front desk. I had an early morning flight and, after a good nights sleep, the "free" shuttle was on time and I arrived at the airport with plenty of time to make my flight.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chubbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimMcDonaldGM, General Manager at Clarion Inn Dayton Airport, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Chubbe,
Thank you for taking the time to give our hotel a review. I am very pleased when we exceed our guest expectations. That is always our goal and we strive to have the best customer service in the industry. I am glad you took advantage of our free shuttle to the airport and that the front desk was able to steer you to a restaurant you liked. Thank you for staying with us and again thank you for the review.
Sincerely,
Tim McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Englewood
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Dayton Northwest
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dayton-Airport
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dayton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Dayton North
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dayton-Vandalia
4.9 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Dayton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Dayton Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Dayton Airport

Property: Clarion Inn Dayton Airport
Address: 10 Rockridge Rd, St. Rt. 48 & I-70, Englewood, OH 45322-2710 (Formerly Holiday Inn Dayton Northwest)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Englewood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Englewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn Dayton Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to flight inventors, Wilbur & Orville Wright, discover the Birthplace of Aviation in a city where you will find much to explore! The sky is the limit at the National Aviation Hall of Fame, honoring innovators of flight. Take a history lesson at the National Museum of the United States Air Force, the oldest & largest military aviation museum in the world. View contemporary art exhibitions at the Dayton Visual Arts Center or stroll through the Dayton Art Institute for an assortment of collections & special exhibits. Other great things to do & see while in Dayton include The Schuster Performing Arts Center, the crown jewel for performing arts, The Greene shopping outside mall & the Dayton Dragons to enjoy Americas favorite past time. Wait--there is more to your visit to Dayton a great place to stay at the Clarion Inn - Dayton Airport! The Clarion Inn - Dayton Airport Englewood sits near the Cross Roads of America. Getting here is easy by land or air with Dayton International Airport (DAY) only 3 miles from the hotel & I-70 & I-75. Located in the northern suburb of Englewood our Clarion Inn is only minutes away from downtown Dayton; also conveniently located to other regional metro centers of Cincinnati, Columbus & Indianapolis. We look forward to seeing you at the Clarion Inn Dayton Airport Englewood! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Inn Dayton Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dayton Northwest Hotel Englewood
Holiday Inn Englewood
Englewood Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing