We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Akron - Fairlawn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Fairlawn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Castle, Indiana
Level Contributor
112 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Unexpected surprise!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Having never stayed at a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel before, my elderly father and I were unsure what to expect. We had a handicapped accessible room with handicapped accessible facilities, a spacious room, and comfortable beds. The hotel took care of a couple very minor problems we had, first with the television not working properly which maintenance replaced within ten minutes after my calling the front desk, second with the commode in the bathroom not flushing properly. On our second night there, some idiot's car alarm kept going off preventing us and everyone else from enjoying a good night's sleep, but that was not the hotel's fault. Within a few minutes of a desperate call to the front desk at 4 AM, the idiot (the hotel, maybe?) finally removed his car from the premises. The entire staff from the front desk to housekeeping to maintenance was the best of any hotel we've ever stayed. Jake and Jenna at the front desk were especially attentive and we appreciated them both very much! Thanks, Doubletree!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishslider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager3180, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Akron - Fairlawn, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
irishslider, thank you for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Akron/Fairlawn. I am delighted that you found our hotel comfortable for you and your father. I am pleased our staff was able to take care of the in-room maintenance issues for you so quickly as well. We apologize if the car alarm disturbed your sleep in any way. Our staff worked with the local police to take care of the issue as quickly as possible. irishslider, thank you for your kind words about our staff members. These comments have been passed along to our general manager and are greatly appreciated. Thank you again for choosing DoubleTree.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    88
    25
    11
    4
See reviews for
76
51
15
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canton of Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
395 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The Doubletree is a great place to stay while on business in the area.

Check-in was super efficient and friendly. The 'famous' warm cookie was supplied, with a smile, and was a delicious snack after 24 hours of travelling to get to Akron!

The room is spacious, roomy with flat screen TV, decent WiFi, good working space and a comfortable bed. The TV has plenty of channels to keep you entertained. One minor niggle was I could find no channel card, so had to find channels by flicking through them.

I too found the lighting in the room a little inadequate, making the room feel dark.

The bathroom is adequate but nothing special. The shower is one of those step-in-the-bath types that are being phased out in most hotels nowadays. However, it worked, the water was hot and the bathroom was very clean.

The location is good for the many local outlets and opposite a huge shopping mall.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_from_Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Have stayed here several times, always finding a good experience. Breakfast (not included) was reasonable and far better than the typical breakfast bars. Staff helpful and friendly. King room spacious, well appointed, immaculate, very comfortable bed. Many restaurants in the immediate area and a pleasant one in the hotel. Hilarious bartender. Cant think what more you would want for your Akron stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSmith338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Your smoking policy should be on the receipt and your desk clerk should also advise their guest of the fines up front!There is noway I would have smoked in the room. There was nothing on my door, and nothing on my receipt, and to debit my bank account without my authrization is down right outrageous, and a crime!!! I have been ripped off by the Doubletree...bad business and there is nothing I can do about it

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager3180, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Akron - Fairlawn, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Jerry, thank you for taking the time to share your concerns about your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Akron/Fairlawn on TripAdvisor. It appears that upon check-in you had signed our standard registration card which explains our non-smoking policy. I apologize if this policy was not made clear upon check-in but from what I understand, you had also spoken with our Guest Services Agent later that evening regarding our non-smoking policy. All guest rooms do also include in room non-smoking policy signage. Due to the extra cleaning and deodorizing your guest room required after check out as well as the cigarettes found in your room, our standard $150 smoking fee was applied to the credit card on file. Should you wish to speak with our management team again regarding the charges, I welcome you to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamestown, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I have stayed at the Fairlawn DoubleTree several times without a problem... good Hotel. My last was disturbed by an out of control car alarm horn blaring outside my second floor room for three hours or so, early Sunday morning. No apology or compensation offered.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager3180, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Akron - Fairlawn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Mark, thank you for choosing the DoubleTree Akron/Fairlawn. We value your loyalty and very much appreciate your patronage. I can assure you our staff did call the Fairlawn Police Department the evening of your visit who came out to our property to investigate the car alarm. The licence plate was run to find the owner whom we did contact and asked to come down immediately to silence the alarm. After the owner did not come down, the Fairlawn Police towed the vehicle. I apologize that this process did take time as our Guest Service Agent tried his best to take care of the issue quickly. Mark, although we cannot change your previous experience, we do hope to welcome you back again for a restful stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here for my daughter's wedding. Everyone was very accommodating, especially Emily at the front desk. My new son-in law had broken his ankle at his wedding reception, and upon discharge she called the hotel next door and borrowed a wheelchair for him to use. What a sweetheart!. Will definitely do business with you in the future!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank 294margaretf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

THe Doubletree in Fairlawn is very convenient to the West Akron area. The hotel has been renovated since it was acquired by Doubletree. Nice, quiet, comfortable rooms at a reasonable price. THere is a good restaurant attached to the hotel - not restaurant food - it's very good.
And don;t forget your warn chocolate chip cookies from the front desk..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairlawn
0.1 mi away
Hilton Akron / Fairlawn
Hilton Akron / Fairlawn
#1 of 5 in Fairlawn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
1.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Akron Fairlawn
8.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Akron
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Akron - Fairlawn
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Akron Fairlawn
6.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cuyahoga Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Akron - Fairlawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Akron - Fairlawn

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Akron - Fairlawn
Address: 3150 W Market St, Fairlawn, OH 44333-3314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Fairlawn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Fairlawn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Akron - Fairlawn 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the upscale suburb of Fairlawn just a few miles west of downtown Akron and only 30 minutes south of downtown Cleveland. First-class accommodations and a wealth of services including Cafe Bricco, indoor heated pool, state-of-the-art Fitness by Precor, flexible meeting space and 24-hour business center. Our guestrooms are spacious and tastefully appointed and feature premium bedding, large work areas, 32" LCD TV and complimentary high-speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Akron - Fairlawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing