We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step back in time.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Findlay
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Findlay
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A step back in time.”
Reviewed 27 November 2012

During our Thanksgiving trip, we stayed at two HIE's. Neither offered the value you would expect for the price. In Findlay, the room we stayed in was right out of the 80's. Nondescript artwork, dated furniture, vinyl couch cushions on the cloth sofa, noisy A/C-heater fan, clicking refrigerator. The TV station list did not match the actual channels, and we could not connect to the free internet, despite a call to the front desk. The wallpaper in the bathroom was peeling. Poor sealant job around the tub/shower. No tile on the bathroom walls. One other thing…. can't HIE afford to buy good quality pillows? The ones in our room were the fiber-filled 'puffballs' that are uncomfortable. As a result, I had less than a good night's sleep.

We were just about the only ones staying that night, so it was very quiet. Rather than end on a negative note, I give the staff high marks for friendliness. The breakfast attendant was very nice. The breakfast was good too. 'Instant' pancakes from the machine were better here than we've had before. There is also a nice small lake outside where the ducks gather in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlipKal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    33
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
36
11
3
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
106 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

This hotel is a step up from what I normally experience on the road. The front desk staff are friendly and efficient. The rooms are nice, and seem to be extra clean and well furnished. No interruptions from housekeeping even though I checked out late. My room had a view (yes, a view in Findlay!) of a beautiful little man-made lake next to the hotel. Bravo! Great job to everyone at Holiday Inn Express Findlay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darylkulak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiefndly, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Findlay, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Mr. Kulak,

Thank you so much for staying with us in Findlay, OH. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay during your visit. Thank you for your kind words and we are looking forward to seeing you again!!

Thank you!!

Robert Shoemaker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Stayed as part of a large group. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. Our King room was very large and the bed was comfortable. In additional to the normal toiletries provided at most hotels they also provided Q-tips and cotton balls. The free breakfast was very good and they kept it stocked even with the large number of guests eating.

Room Tip: We had a room on the end near the pool which was very convenient to the door for unloading and load...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bandmom14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiefndly, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Findlay, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Bandmom14,

We would like to say thank you for the remarks that you left. I would also like to say it was a great pleasure to work with a group of young students that were very, very polite. From our housekeeping staff on up, we greatly appreciate having you stay with us in Findlay, OH.

Thank you!

Robert Shoemaker - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I've now stayed at this Holiday Inn Express twice as business has taken me to Findlay (and will now be bringing me to Findlay on a monthly for my non-profit consulting business). Each time I've arrived, the staff has been extremely friendly on check-in, and felt like family throughout my stay as we talk and joke around as I go in and out of the hotel to meetings and eat. I've stayed in a double room and a king suite with jacuzzi. Both rooms have been extremely clean and spacious and are fully updated to the current Holiday Inn Express standards. (I had been nervous about a previous review about the condition of the rooms but have had no such problems in my two visits.) The breakfast area (and breakfast itself) is always very nice as well. Finally, my favorite part of my stays have been the free, fresh-baked cookies they make each night.

Room Tip: The jacuzzi suites have shower heads, so even if you don't use the jacuzzi as a jacuzzi, it make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ewm83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiefndly, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Findlay, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
emw83,

Thank you for your response about your recent stay. We are very happy to hear that all was well. We are very excited to see you again in the near future!!

Thank you!!

Robert Shoemaker - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
134 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Definitely a up to brand standards- as per brand standards with breakfast, check in, room status, etc. Pool was warm, hot tub in good working order. Work out room a bit small, but three cardio machines. Internet worked well. Best... outback steak house right next door! I loved the outdoor 1/4 walking running track around a small pound right outside the hotel. Sure it was right off the express way, but with headphones on it was great. Will stay here my next time through.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadtripper10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiefndly, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Findlay, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Road Tripper 10,

Thank you for responding about your stay you had with us back in June. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to a return visit from you in the future.

Thank you!!

Robert Shoemaker - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

If you're booking this hotel and expecting the standard amenities found at routine Holiday Inn Express properties, then you should probably stay next door at the Hampton Inn. While this hotel is clean and does offer a pool, the furniture, bedding and bathroom fixtures are in very poor and outdated condition. Our mattresses were so flat they were several inches lower than the night stand and the sheets swamped them. Needless to say, we slept poorly and felt like we were in a very old motel. The air conditioning did not function properly and the humidity was so bad in our room that the carpet was damp. I would have complained to the front desk, but we were told at check-in that the phones were not working. I did complain at check-out and the manager on duty responded flippantly. The housekeeper at the front desk admitted the bedding was "very old". And at $140, this was a waste of money. The HIX Quality was nowhere to be found.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LostinSoutheastOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Findlay, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
LostinSoutheastOhio,

Thank you for making us aware of your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Findlay, OH. We look forward to hearing from our guests about their concerns and we look forward to improving from the issues that you experienced. We have shared your posting with our management company and are looking to get these issues resolved immediately.

We do have several questions about your stay with us and we are looking forward to hearing from you again to resolve these questions. Please contact us back directly to discuss these matters.

Thank you for your time,
The Management Team
Robert Shoemaker - General Manager
Ambur Burns - Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

My family and I stayed at this Holiday Inn express for one night on a college visit. The hotel was clean, the staff was courtious and attentive. There was a free hot breakfast inthe lobby. There was an indoor pool and whirlpool. We walked to the nearby Cold Stone Ice cream shop.
There was an outdoor deck with patio furniture outside the pool area that I found to be an uncommon amenity. There was alos a pond with a fountain behind the hotel. A paved walking track circled this pond which was just shy of 1/4 mile.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank troopermike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiefndly, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Findlay, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to being able to serve you again in the near fut
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Findlay hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Findlay
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Findlay
0.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Findlay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Findlay
Quality Inn Findlay
#7 of 15 in Findlay
136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Findlay
Hampton Inn Findlay
#4 of 15 in Findlay
269 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Findlay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Findlay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Findlay

Property: Holiday Inn Express Findlay
Address: 941 Interstate Dr, Findlay, OH 45840-1926
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Findlay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Findlay
#5 Family Hotel in Findlay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Findlay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the fresh new look of the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Findlay conveniently located off I-75. Our professional, friendly staff at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites will go out of their way to meet and exceed your expectations of guest service. You ll find comfort and modern luxury at one of the most convenient locations in Findlay. Amenities such as high- speed Internet, business center, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is a favorite for business and leisure visitors to Findlay and we want to become your favorite too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Findlay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Findlay Hotel Findlay
Holiday Inn Findlay
Holiday Inn Express Findlay Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing