We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sushi”
Review of Japan West

Japan West
Ranked #13 of 158 Restaurants in Findlay
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Description: Japan West is a traditional Japanese cuisine restaurant located in the heart of downtown Findlay, Ohio. We serve fresh sushi and traditional Japanese meals at our sushi bar and the front of the restaurant and prepare your meal right in front of you in the back at our Teppan tables if you prefer to dine Teppanyaki-style.
Findlay, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Sushi”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

If you are a fan of fine Japanese food, this is the place to go. Well known for its outstanding sushi, you cannot go wrong with any item from the authentic Japanese menu. One potential negative: if they are busy - which can happen on the weekend - be prepared to wait. But it is well worth the wait, as the local regulars know. If you are there for lunch, ask for the special. Always an exciting selection that you may not have had before.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    12
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, OH
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a Japanese restaurant should be”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Every city should have a Japanese restaurant this good. At many Japanese restaurants the menu stops at sushi and bento boxes. Japan West has a broad menu of sushi, noodles, soups, grilled items and more, for workers at the many Japanese manufacturing companies nearby. Really good fresh sushi, but very traditional. Tempura and soba noodles were excellent. Service was pretty good (love the warm towel to start). Kirin on tap. I'd go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John_B074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not a great visit.”
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

I know I need to give Japan West another chance as much as I hear and read rave reviews but this visit was lackluster. Food was good, sushi was excellent but the service was terrible. We had to hail the waiter to order after literally 20 minutes. Rarely got refills when needed in drinks. Has to flag down the waiter again to pay the bill. Mediocre visit, but will try another time when it's not so busy.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank OHcampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great service, food and all over experience”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Recently went to Japan west for my birthday dinner with my family, they love sushi, not so much for me but wanted to try it. Had a great time, the waiter was very helpful in choosing some things I might like, they kept coming back to check on our food and if we needed anything. We kind of just kept ordering appetizers and then went to a main course. The food was wonderful and it was a great dining experience. Cost was the price of a nice upscale restaurant but was not over the top for the service, foood and drinks. Highly recommend this restaurant. Findlay is lucky to have this for a great dining experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank daisylover927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food with entertainment!”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We had a great meal and it was very entertaining! Then you can shop in the mall if you want. And walk off all the food you ate!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimikenewland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Japan West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing