We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dayton South Franklin (Rm. 214) Franklin, Ohio, U.S.A.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South Franklin
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Franklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Length/Type: 1-night, business trip

Rating: unknown

Company: Carlson Wagonlit

Travel Dates: July 24-25, 2013 (Wed.-Thurs.)

Overall Experience: Excellent

Good Points:

- Spacious room, well kept
- Counter top w/ sink & coffee maker
- Mini fridge (un-stocked)
- 2 differently indicated pillow types
(2 soft pillows & 2 hard pillows)
- 27” LCD TV
- Free Wi-Fi (room/lobby/breakfast buffet area)
- Detachable shower nozzle in tub w/ multiple settings
- Included hot/cold breakfast buffet
- Free newspaper in lobby
- Free Wi-Fi

Bad Points:

- None

Room:

The room had a very spacious feel to it as you walked in. The added counter top, with coffee maker, and all the usual items was a nice touch, I must say. There was a decently sized mini bar fridge, but with nothing inside. No surprises there, but a good feature to have none the less. There was also free Wi-Fi access, but I did not use it much due to the amount of time I had (or lack of time, I should say). I only used it for a very brief period of time at my table by the breakfast buffet the next morning. I also liked the couch in between the counter and the bed, along with the coffee table. The beds were also comfortable, along with the different types of pillows, both indicated which one is soft and which one is hard (writing stitched in, nice idea).

Breakfast:

To my grand surprise, breakfast was included. It was a full breakfast buffet, both hot and cold. It was A-1. They had 4 kinds of cereal (I just had frosted flakes, I don’t re-call the others). They had pre-made cheese omelets (very good, in my opinion), bacon, sausages, glazed donuts, toast (there was white bread with a toaster) and fruit. There were also separate small milk cartons, juice fountain, and separate jam, syrup, marmalade and peanut butter packages. Along another wall (perpendicular to the wall where the buffet was), were different types coffees and teas (I made good use of the in-room coffee maker prior to arriving at the buffet so I didn’t need a coffee). The seating area was very plentiful, with two large LCD TVs mounted on the walls with CBS News on. As I mentioned before, I did use the Wi-Fi (on my iPhone) and the speed was decent.

Lobby:

Just after checking out, I noticed a stack of free newspapers just near the check out desk, with USA Today, along with another type of newspaper. I was going to take one, but since I had my iPad, I felt I didn’t have to take one (I was betting that the Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky Airport had free Wi-Fi, which they did).

Advice to those staying:

• The hotel is located 52 miles (83.6 Km) north of the Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky International Airport, which is about an hour’s drive. Keep this in mind when renting a car.

Room Tip: - Rooms 210 and 213 are closer to the elevator. I was Rm. 214, which was a Handicapped equipped roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank e_cal84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary P, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

We are delighted that you took advantage of some of the various amenities offered here at our Holiday Inn Express. It is always nice for our Staff and Management to hear kind words from a satisfied guest. From the Breakfast Staff to Front Desk, to Housekeeping, we all will go to great lengths to make sure our guests have the best experience possible. I hope that you pencil our location into your travels when visiting Ohio again. And, thank you!
Denise Price, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

Just an average Holiday Inn with some disappointments. Pool only open 10am to 10pm so the kiddos could not go for a morning swim after breakfast. No hotel bill/receipt under our door on day of check-out. Food is lots of cheap carbs and not that tasty. Only a banana was offered as fresh fruit. Manager was usually outside smoking when we were looking for him.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingmom99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary P, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

We apologize that you only found our hotel to be average, as we make every attempt to make each and every guests stay a pleasant one.
We have found it necessary to limit our pool hours as there are sleeping rooms across the hall from & above the pool. Unfortunately, in the past there were complaints from the guests in these rooms of noise generated from a few over rambunctious guests in the pool area. This is why we observe the current posted pool hours of 10am-10pm. We have it arranged so the pool opens after breakfast closes at 10am and the then closes at 10pm, which is our quiet time throughout the entire hotel.
Unfortunately, everyone can be slaves to computers these days including ourselves. We recently had our main server crash, which did not allow us to provide Rapid Check-Out to our guests as we normally would. Our Assistant Manager was on the phone with our Support Team for several hours attempting to bring our server back online early that morning and late into the day, and he may have taken his frustration outside while on the phone with the support team for smoke breaks’. We apologize if it was excessive. We have brought this to his attention, but please know this is typically not his norm.
We also follow guidelines given to us by Holiday Inn Express for our Breakfast Bar and serve what is permitted by their standards. We do offer yogurts, juices, hot oatmeal, skim & 1% low fat milks (and the banana as a fresh fruit option) These are offered as healthier alternatives to the biscuits and gravy, or scrambled eggs and bacon/sausage choices.
Hopefully you will stay again with us in the future and allow us to turn your disappointment into a satisfaction.
Denise Price, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Over all it was a good stay. They did mess up and give me suite and I asked for 2 double beds but it was just my niece and I and the King size bed was big enough. The pool was a nice size and clean. The breakfast was great. They had scrambled eggs, biscuits, gravy, bagels and much more. We did have a few noisy neighbors above and beside us but not to bad. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary P, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to review our property, and are delighted that you had a good stay, enjoyed the breakfast selections, and would visit us again. We do try to accommodate requests for doubles to the best of our ability, but unfortunately there are times when specific room types are sold out due to demand created by large events in the area. Many times these events can change our normal, quietly, maintained facility into an extremely busy location, (with rooms being accessed at all times of the day and night) so we do apologize for any noise issues you may have experienced. We hope to see you again soon!
Denise Price, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

What a wonderful stay. The General Manager checked us in. He was very friendly gave us a couple of bottles of cold water and discount information to a nearby Mexican restaurant.

The Inn was well maintained. No issues with our King suite. The free breakfast included scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravy, and pancakes.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary P, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

We thank you for the great review on our hotel property. From the management to our front desk staff, to our housekeeping, to our breakfast hostesses, we all take great pride in the services we provide each and every guest that walks through our doors. We hope the great service you received and well maintained property will prompt you to stay again when traveling to the area in the future! Happy Travels!
Denise Price, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Conveniently located, nice property, comfortable, larger and attractive rooms. Typical higher quality beds and pillows (with choices of soft and firm). Great sleep quality. Larger breakfast room. Located near some restaurants, gas stations and Walmart.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fillmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary P, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our Holiday Inn Express, Franklin OH.
We appreciate your kind comments. We take great pride in our property and service and believe it shows when we receive reviews such as yours. I truly enjoy hearing when a guest has had a relaxing, pleasant experience, and hope to see you again soon!

Denise Price, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Stayed 1 night on a business trip. Rooms were clean and spacious. The morning breakfast was hot and had a nice choice of food. They were located right next to a super WalMart which made it nice to pick up a few needed items. Would stay again.

Room Tip: The room on the 3rd floor that we were on was quite and confortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fun_in_the_Sun75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary P, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

We strive to give all of our guests a superior overall experience when staying at our property, and are delighted to read we exceeded your expectations. Thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment.
Denise Price, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stopped here on our way south and back again. Quiet, clean, comfortable, lots of restaraunts in area, next door to Walmart. Free, fast wi-fi, and free, good, hot breakfast. We will continue to make this our stop in this area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willing292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGR_HIE_DAYFO, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Dear Willing292,
We here at the Holiday Inn Express, Franklin, OH, strive to make sure all of our guests enjoy their stay and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise. Denise Price, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franklin
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Suites Springboro
5.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 9 in Franklin
137 reviews
5.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Middletown/Franklin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Dayton/Dayton Mall
5.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Middletown Franklin
5.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dayton South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South Franklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South Franklin

Address: 851 Commerce Center Dr, Franklin, OH 45005-7211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Warren County > Franklin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Franklin
Price Range: £76 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South Franklin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our wonderful Holiday Inn Express & Suites Franklin/Springboro, Ohio hotel named after Benjamin Franklin is conveniently located off I-75 at exit 38 (SR-73). We are 30 miles from James M. Cox Dayton International Airport (DAY) and 50 miles from Cincinnati Northern Kentucky International Airport (CVG). We are conveniently located near several corporations: Dayton Daily News, Lexis-Nexis, Faurecia, Pioneer Automotive, Braden Sutphin Ink & AK Steel. We are easily accessible to shopping at the Dayton Mall, fun and recreation of King's Island, The Beach Waterpark and Caesar s Creek State Park and entertainment at LaComedia Dinner Theatre. Our Holiday Inn Express & Suites Franklin, Ohio hotel offers spacious and luxurious guest rooms. Keep in touch with your office or home with complimentary wired/wireless HSIA. Stay productive working from our over-sized desk and comfortable ergonomic desk chair. Enjoy viewing your favorite TV programs on our 32 HDTV. Our 24-hour fitness center includes a modern elliptical machine, 2 treadmills and a stationary bicycle so you may keep up your fitness routine away from home. Daily we offer a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, featuring our signature cinnamon rolls! We also provide a complimentary 24-hour business center and a refreshing heated indoor pool. We look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Franklin / Springboro, OH hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South Franklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Franklin Hotel Franklin
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South Franklin Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing