We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the nicest HIE I've stayed in, but okay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Airport
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Gahanna
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not the nicest HIE I've stayed in, but okay”
Reviewed 21 October 2011

It was okay. Convenient to the airport. Few restaurant choices around. Not a lot of attention to details. It was a windy and rainy day, and the air was whistling through the leaky window. Coffee maker didn't work and tripped the GFI several times. Rooms were pretty clean and breakfast was the normal HIE stuff, which is nice. The workout equipment was not great. Two of the treadmills suddenly shut down on me at about 10mph and I about fell off. Nice big TV in the room and the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1BigTimeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    30
    14
    3
    6
See reviews for
18
15
6
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vincent, Ohio
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Just a few days ago we returned home following my wife's surgery at Mt. Carmel Surgical Hospital in New Albany, Ohio (N.E. suburb of Columbus some 20 minutes from the hotel). We went to Columbus the night before she checked into the hospital to avoid a tiring two-hour drive on check-in day. Checking into the Holiday Inn Express (H.I.X.) in Gahanna was as easy as finding the place in the first place (thanks to TomTom and Google). The third-floor room was clean, comfortable, and roomy. The ceiling fan in the bathroom was noisy but not so much after it had run a few minutes. We purchased a couple LED nightlights so it wouldn't have to be on all night (it was tied into the bathroom lighting which we normally leave on as a nightlight).

Following dinner at Logan's Roadhouse (Easton Center, a few miles away) I swam alone in the sizable indoor pool at the hotel. There was no swirling spa but the water was almost spa temperature (too warm for my tastes but my wife would have loved it). The pool was conveniently located right around the corner from the elevators so there was no parading through the lobby dripping wet afterwards.

The next morning, my wife couldn't eat because of her upcoming surgery, but I sure did--enough for both of us. While most "free" hotel breakfasts consist of just standard continental fare, this place also had biscuits, sausage gravy, bacon, scrambled eggs (on the dry side) and the first "pancake machine" I'd ever encountered. The thing rolls them out like a copier, two at a time onto a Styrofoam plate. Although they tasted okay, they had a "polished" look to them and were not quite tender enough to cut with the accompanying plastic forks. They had accompanying plastic knifes for that. The second morning there were nicely thawed omelets and sausage patties. But all that aside, the real stars of the breakfast showcase were the cinnamon rolls. I had two each morning. The cook confessed she had trouble NOT eating them all herself.

I'd planned to stay four nights but my wife's surgery went so well the hospital (and the insurance company) sprung her a day early so I missed my fourth consecutive rendezvous with the cinnamon rolls. However, I did have the foresight to fortify myself with a batch of Max & Erma's chocolate chip cookies (boxed to go) the night before. One of the Columbus chain's dining landmarks was just eight miles north on Hamilton Road from the hotel. There's an even closer one by the airport. Next door to the hotel is a run-of-the-mill Frisch's and next door to that a Bob Evans Country Restaurant for those not in the mood to drive.

Though located only about a mile from Port Columbus, the planes could only be heard outside the hotel. Speaking of planes,the H.I.X. has a "park-n-fly" package. There's also a small fitness center with three or four treadmills, which, being the cinnamon roll/chocolate chip cookie type, I didn't have the urge to utilize. Our room rate was presumably special for Mt. Carmel patients and their families, but it was actually the same rate as for AARP members. Our bill came to just over one hundred per night counting the hefty hotel taxes levied by Columbus and Gahanna.

Whether flying out or going under the knife, this H.I.X is a safe bet either way.

Room Tip: LED nightlights should be part of every travel kit
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim_Lane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wurtland, Ky
Level Contributor
120 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

We stayed here for one night for an AAU basketball tourney and it was very nice. Quick check-in, friendly staff and nice room. Breakfast was good and close to resturants and fast food and right off 270. I would stay here again, I was very well pleased.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamieWurtland_KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartville, Ohio
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2010

This was our first stay at a Holiday Inn Express. Actually, I was always a bit afraid to stay in an Express as I thought the quality would be rather low, but we thought it was time to give it a try.

We had a most delightful stay. Everyone behind the desk was exceptionally nice, friendly, and check-in wa quick and easy. (Special thanks to Olivia). The entire hotel was very clean and the pool -- well the pool was WONDERFUL!! Breakfast also was much better than some other places; the omelets and sausage were a big plus.

When traveling to the Columbus area, make sure you stay here. 5 stars!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bthomas28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2010

Stayed one night on business. Will not stay again

Pros:

Friendly front desk staff at check in and help with dining options.

Cons:

Wireless internet didn't work in my room due to very low signal strength. There was a wired connection but I needed to supply my own connection cord.

Pillows were old and soft and the bed was hard and uncomfortable.

Furnishings were old and worn. Marks on the walls. Old carpet.

At 7 am, there wasn't much hot water. My shower was on the cool side.

The parking lot wasn't cleaned of snow properly even several days (weeks?) after the last storm. So this significantly reduced the amount of parking spaces.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhillyLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2010

I stayed here on my last night in Ohio because of the shuttle to the airport. The hotel is old and in desperate need of updating. I left too early in the morning for the breakfast, but I'm always a fan of the HIE breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bab250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosse Ile, MI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2009

After striking out looking for a room late at night (started at Marietta, OH) found this gem.

Clean, well-maintained, and courteous staff. Room was well-appointed and clean (and we're pretty fussy). Rates were typical.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PRDuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gahanna
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Columbus Airport
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbus Airport Gahanna
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbus Airport
Hampton Inn Columbus Airport
#22 of 143 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus Airport
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus Airport
0.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Columbus Airport Gahanna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Airport
Address: 460 Waterbury Ct, Gahanna, OH 43230-3450
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Gahanna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Gahanna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come join us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Airport in the beautiful city of Gahanna, Ohio. We are conveniently located just off of Hamilton Road and I-270, making travel to any of Columbus numerous locations a breeze. Port Columbus International Airport, the Easton Town Center, and Gahanna's Creekside outdoor dining and recreation are just a few of the locations that are all within 10 minutes from us. Other office and medical facilities close by include American Electric Power, DFAS, DSCC, OSU Heart Center-Gahanna, and Mount Carmel East. There are dozens of Columbus top attractions located within 20 to 25 minutes; COSI, the Columbus Zoo, the Short North, Nationwide Arena, Polaris, Germain Amphitheater and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gahanna / Columbus Airport e Hotel Gahanna
Holiday Inn Gahanna
Gahanna Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing