We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pool area. Room not great.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Airport
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Gahanna
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We chose hotel because we had kids and when we went in all we looked at was pool area and water was real warm. So we got a room here. We were surprised at the rate maybe cuz near airport but we never paid that much for a room around Columbus for swimming. So we were shocked to walk in our room and smelled a strong bug spray odor and a very small room. I was uncomf all night worried bout why the bug spray smell since I freak about bed bugs. Never saw anything tho. But not happy about keeping kids in strong odor. But hotel was booked and last room. Will not stay here again. There's nicer places for cheaper.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alh614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2012

I will add to the title that I wish Trip Advisor either gave the option for half stars or it automatically calculated it based on the individual ratings of each aspect of the place of business. I would give this more a 3.5 stars than 3. Slightly better than average mainly due to it being clean, free breakfast, and the location. The rooms are nice and clean, nothing outstanding, as it is just another hotel. Only issue is with the bed; which is a matter of preference. We are used to sleeping on a cloud-like bed, this is more like a concrete-like bed. Can't please everyone in this aspect, but the bed is pretty hard. We had stayed at the Marival several years ago in Puerto Vallarta and this bed was equally as hard as that one. As far as cost, it was ok, mainly due to having breakfast included. If it were not included in the price it would be overpriced IMO.

I have found that most all of the hotels in the Columbus area (at least the main outlying suburbs) are fairly similar with location being the main differentiating factor. So if you are staying on the east side then this hotel is great. Otherwise you have a choice anywhere around 270 to pick from.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhackathorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2012

Dear jhackathorne,

Thank you so very much for sharing your experience with us. I am glad you liked the cleanliness of our hotel as well as the free breakfast and our location. Please accept my sincerest apologies that you were not fully satisfied with the bed in your room. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, Please do not hesitate to let us know.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I have never had a problem with The Holiday Inn Expresses, granted some may be more dated than others, but they are always clean, comfortable, free breakfasts, and usually ideally located where we need to go. This particular one was for my daughter who goes to Ohio University and myself from Cleveland, Ohio, to do a 'Mom and daughter weekend' enjoying everything Columbus has to offer. We both met at the hotel, and we started our weekend with shopping, dinner and a movie in Gahanna on Friday, Easton Town Center shopping on Saturday and Polaris Fashion Place shopping on Sunday. Needless to say, we 'Did' Columbus and after and exhausting weekend, decided that the Holiday Inn Express was ideally located for our needs. The service was great and it was a very nice weekend.

Room Tip: The bottom rooms facing the parking lot may be a little more noisier. We heard the people and cars f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davemoe908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My stay was a four day visit with family and it was wonderful to have a quiet, restful place to retire to when things got hectic. The room was spacious and well accommodated for all my needs. There is a business center with computer and printer to access airline information and printing boarding pass. The wireless connection for rooms was fast and easy to access.

They have a shuttle from the airport that was nice as I was able to follow them from the airport where I had rented a car and went straight to the hotel. I could have easily gotten away with taking that instead of renting a car as most of my driving was with family anyway.

Staff was helpful and the room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skydnzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Spent 2 nights here. Nice and easy location to get to, the free morning breakfast was excellent with eggs, sausage, biscuits, yogurt, etc... Room was clean and updated.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camp5101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This was an older HI Express, but it was nice. The room was very clean and nice.

The fitness center was very hot. It had a soda machine in it generating heat, and no thermostat or separate cooling controls, so it was very uncomfortable for exercising. There were plenty of clean towels, but no wipes to clean the machines.

Even though we were near the airport, I didn't notice a single plane until the next morning. It was nice and quiet.

The breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cable_consultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Every first weekend of March during the Arnold Games, most hotels in the Columbus vicinity are inflated pricewise and crowdwise. This is the second time we've stayed in this hotel and service/food/quality has been consistent over the years. If convenience is paramount to you, this is no doubt the place to stay (shuttle offered to airport) but you'll pay higher taxes compared to staying at another Holiday Inn in another town nearby. When we got our itemized bill, it was double to almost triple tax. Entrance to this hotel is not from front; its from an alley/driveway off the side road. Hotel could use bright directional signs/arrows from main street. There is a Kroger's grocery across the street and Bob Evans next to hotel. A section of parking lot could use more illumination. Based on reading other reviews, I suppose it all depends on the room you get; ours was decent and clean. I suggest inspecting the room first to your liking before you decide on unpacking.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minniemae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gahanna
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbus Airport
Hampton Inn Columbus Airport
#22 of 146 in Columbus
509 reviews
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Columbus Airport
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus Airport
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbus Airport Gahanna
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Airport East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Airport

Address: 460 Waterbury Ct, Gahanna, OH 43230-3450
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Gahanna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Gahanna
Price Range: £83 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come join us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Airport in the beautiful city of Gahanna, Ohio. We are conveniently located just off of Hamilton Road and I-270, making travel to any of Columbus numerous locations a breeze. Port Columbus International Airport, the Easton Town Center, and Gahanna's Creekside outdoor dining and recreation are just a few of the locations that are all within 10 minutes from us. Other office and medical facilities close by include American Electric Power, DFAS, DSCC, OSU Heart Center-Gahanna, and Mount Carmel East. There are dozens of Columbus top attractions located within 20 to 25 minutes; COSI, the Columbus Zoo, the Short North, Nationwide Arena, Polaris, Germain Amphitheater and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gahanna / Columbus Airport e Hotel Gahanna
Holiday Inn Gahanna
Gahanna Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing