We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home From Home”
Review of Kenyon Inn

Kenyon Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gambier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kenyon Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Gambier B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home From Home”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I'm lucky enough to visit the Kenyon 4 or 5 times a year on business, the whole atmosphere and friendliness of the staff make every trip enjoyable. The hotel has had a revamp in the last 12 months which have turned it into an absolute oasis after a days work.
The hotel is situated in the lovely town of Gambier home to Kenyon College with it's beautiful buildings and excellent facilities.
By far the best place to stay in Ohio.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1056PAULB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    20
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
25
7
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, CT
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

If you are planning a trip to visit Kenyon College, book your room at the Kenyon Inn asap before it fills up because it's a beautiful inn and right in the middle of campus and all of the action at the College. I don't know whether it's new or just newly renovated, but everything is so tasteful. I couldn't help but wonder why other top liberal arts colleges don't have similarly nice inns nearby. Everyone who works there is pleasant but they think nothing of sending you up the stairs with luggage, so you will need to ask for directions to the elevator. Rooms are very nicely appointed in neutral, sophisticated tones with artsy photos. Bed is firm and super comfortable. Food is good (but portions are tiny.) But don't expect room service -- there is a vending machine on the first floor. So much nicer than most inns near other top colleges.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElmCityAfficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We were told to get to our room through a side door so we walked around to it and found a smoking station overflowing with cigarette butts and garbage. Not a great 1st impression. The room decor was great and it was clean. However, the air conditioning was set to 55 when we arrived, so the room was freezing. We turned it off for several hours. When it was time to go to sleep, we adjusted the temp and put it back on. The a/c was definitely blowing an allergen into & around the room, and I started to have an allergy attack. We turned it off, and then were very hot all night and didn't sleep well. Dinner and breakfast at the restaurant were fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eatdrinkread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I stayed at the Kenyon Inn for 4 days during a business stay. The hotel is and has a little bit of a B&B atmosphere. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Due to the location and the size of the hotel normal amenities are missing such as a Gym, a Business Center and Room Service. The hotel has a nice little restaurant even though the opening hours are quite short (closes at 9pm on Sunday). The small town of Gambier is very pretty even though there is not much to do after a long day at work. If one is planning for a lively social life in the evening this place is not the place.

Room Tip: Bring a book along for the evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
118 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

When you're coming to Gambier, Ohio, you're coming to Kenyon College. And when you're coming to Kenyon College, the place to stay if you can is the Kenyon Inn. Convenient, historic, and picturesque, this inn adds to the enjoyment of anyone's stay in Gambier. Ours was a large, corner room on the second floor which was very nice. The bed was large and comfortable. I especially appreciated the bathroom lighting. The four lights (two on either side of the mirror) were about eye-level and offered better lighting than lights near the ceiling as so frequently found. The shower was excellent with sliding glass doors, an easy-to-regulate water control handle and wide shower head. Being from Arizona, I rejoiced at the cold water, which was far colder than any tap water we ever get back home in the Valley of the Sun!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PadreArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Attentive staff made my stay excellent.
Dining facility was also wonderful, but reservations are a must to eat there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chuck1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raleigh nc
Level Contributor
114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Just a very pleasant place. We got a room that was huge and had just been renovated and was lovely. Staff was very pleasant, as is the abundance of small touches that made the stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lauren624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gambier
5.2 mi away
The Mount Vernon Inn
The Mount Vernon Inn
#2 of 5 in Mount Vernon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mount Vernon Grand Hotel
Mount Vernon Grand Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mount Vernon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
4.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Vernon
Comfort Inn Mount Vernon
#4 of 5 in Mount Vernon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
The Granville Inn
The Granville Inn
#1 of 2 in Granville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon
Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon
#3 of 5 in Mount Vernon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
9.8 mi away
White Oak Inn Bed and Breakfast
White Oak Inn Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Danville Knox County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenyon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenyon Inn

Property: Kenyon Inn
Address: 100 E Wiggin St, Gambier, OH 43022-5000
Region: United States > Ohio > Gambier
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Gambier
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Kenyon Hotel Gambier
Kenyon Inn Gambier, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing