We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Kiranshree Portico
Ranked #11 of 61 Hotels in Guwahati
Indian
Level Contributor
189 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

This time around I thought of staying at Kiranshree Portico, looking at all the good reviews on Tripadvisor. However, I was thoroughly disappointed with the place. For the amount of money they charge the guests expectations are high and they fail to meet the expectations.
A lot of functions take place in the banquet halls on the 9th floor and if you happen to be on the 8th floor then things might be difficult for you.
Buffet breakfast was OK, but if you do not like noise then this hotel is not for you.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the 8th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderingIndian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    114
    47
    9
    4
See reviews for
31
15
20
170
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
94 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

This is the best hotel in Guwahati. Rooms are of good quality and modern too.
Each room is different than the other in design. The hotel already enjoys a Trip Advisor Rating Certificate. The coffee shop is cosy.
The lobby is spacious enough. The location is very good,though its a noisy place,but the double windows do not let any noise to get inside.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BinayakDasgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dibrugarh, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Good hotel to stay in Guwahati. It's rooms are spacious and well designed. Only that the chairs are little uncomfortable. Also the table is little low height. I usually stay at this hotel on my visits to guwahati. It's manager JP Roy is very friendly. The property has good f and b outlets. It's breakfast also has variety.

Room Tip: It has no swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank narendra1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2013

I was there from 29.04.2013 to 01.05.2013. Really horrible place to stay.Front office staffs are good but room service is terrible. Location wise also not good. Rooms are not as costly as they charged. Room decor and toilets are not up to the mark.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snadip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2013

The Trip Advisor has ranked Kiranshree Portico, Guwahati as no. 1 hotel. We had checked-in Kiranshree Portico for two nights on 24th & 25th April 2013. We were given room no. 806 (8th floor). Since we had reached Guwahati fully exhausted after doing jungle trek early morning (at 6a.m.) and later river rafting (from 09a.m. till 12noon) in Nameri NP, followed by 6 hrs of drive, we went to bed by 9p.m. so as to start early for another hectic schedule next day. However, our sleep was disturbed due to noise in the banquet hall above on 9th floor and staff was busy in establishing stage, tables and chairs for next day’s conference organized by Lion’s Club. Hotel staff and Manager were unwilling to stop the work or to shift us to another room on lower floor. After persistent requests the work was stopped by 10p.m. We could sleep thereafter but with unpleasant experience. Next day there was a cultural evening organized in the banquet hall for the delegates of Lion’s Club, which continued till 11p.m. Till then we were patient enough. However, after event was over the hotel staff undertook dismantling of the stage and re-arrangement of tables and chairs for next day’s schedule. There was stiff resistance from the staff for complying with our requests to stop movement of furniture and disbanding of stage for the next day and letting us sleep with peace. All this could be stopped by 11:45p.m. Consequently, our sleep got disturbed. All this can be attributed to faulty architectural design as the banquet hall should have been located at ground or basement floor and not on 9th floor. A room on 8th floor has been converted into a pantry for cooking to cater the need of the banquet hall above, resulting into the fumes of cooking oil. Besides the above, there has been stink in the corridor of 8th floor from one of the toilet shafts, which could not be repaired despite pointing out. It is not the interior or the room layout, which could bring acclaim to any hotel but the quick response and being sensitive to guests for their discomforts. Certainly, Kiranshree Portico has been deficient in providing us the minimum basic comfort that of the peaceful sleep during our stay. Dear travelers, please become aware that you don’t get in to a similar experience if still you choose to stay in Kiranshree Portico.

Room Tip: Do not choose rooms on 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hemant K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013 via mobile

Everything about the hotel is excellent. Rite from checking inn experience to room service ( they have dedicated staff for every floor and it takes less than a minutes to reach to you)
Hotel staff is courteous and smiling all the time.
The hotel location is right in the heart of the city ( due to time lag of 2 hrs, the only discomfort it brings is noisy mornigs with a lot traffic noise in the morning)
Only thing which the hotel needs is maybe to add few more items in the menu. Rest os all good.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viveck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

At the time of booking we heard its the best hotel in Guwahati.But for us it was not true.We spend one night there.Room walls seems very thin becos adjacent rooms tv was very much audible in our room.Location of the Hotel is very nice.Plus they serve buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsRitaSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guwahati hotels
0.6 mi away
Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel
#3 of 61 in Guwahati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cygnett Inn Repose
Cygnett Inn Repose
#4 of 61 in Guwahati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Guwahati Address by Centre Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Guwahati
5.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Guwahati
Vivanta by Taj Guwahati
#1 of 61 in Guwahati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dynasty Hotel
Dynasty Hotel
#13 of 61 in Guwahati
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kiranshree Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kiranshree Portico

Property: Hotel Kiranshree Portico
Address: G.S Road Paltan Bazar | Paltan Bazaar, Guwahati 781008, India
Region: India > Assam > Kamrup Metropolitan District > Guwahati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 61 Hotels in Guwahati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kiranshree Portico 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Kiranshree Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiranshree Portico Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing